Jean Paul Gaultier • Classique EDT • Fragrances

rated 4.1(180 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 cassiie0103 on 2/19/2014 9:30:00 AM more reviews by cassiie0103

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

First thing that caught my eye was the packaging, it was absolutely gorgeous in the mannequin shaped bottle. The scent is quite strong, I had only sprayed it once on and wrist and it pretty much last the entire day.

Like perfumes, it is quite strong in the beginning but after awhile when it has died down a little, it is a rather floral smell, almost smelling like dried flowers. Very refreshing and a lovely smell but not something so strong that would give you headaches! It is not overpowering and contrary to what has been said, I think it would work just as well for day as for night although I would not overuse it too much.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 BrigitteBardot on 1/4/2014 10:20:00 PM more reviews by BrigitteBardot

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I was expecting something sexy because of the bottle. Unfortunately it smells like the perfumes from many decades ago (real "old lady" perfume). It's not the worst scent I've tried, but it's no winner with my body chemistry. I will give the EDP a shot next.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Rory90 on 9/6/2013 12:04:00 PM more reviews by Rory90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I smelled this fragrance once and i just loved it.
I used to think this fragrance is something for women older than me, but now it is my favourite one. It's a fragrance that just stays on all day and makes you feel cozy and comfortable. It becomes a part of you.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sillage on 5/10/2013 4:23:00 PM more reviews by sillage

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love JPG Classique EDT and wore a lot of it last Fall/Winter, day after day. I was hooked on it for awhile -- unusual for me, since I generally rotate daily. It's pretty strong; you have to just use a tiny spritz, but then it's so soft, warm, and comforting -- especially in cool or cold weather.

JPG Classique EDT is soft, musky, warm, and the EDT version is somewhat powdery. The EDP version is more gourmandy, adding vanilla & rum notes, and it's luscious in its own right. The EDP version lacks the powdery quality of the EDT. I own both versions, and originally I much preferred the EDP, but now I prefer the EDT.

I once sniffed the trail of a lady at the mall on my lunch hour. She was very well-dressed and coifed, wearing a business suit & heels -- 40-something, I think -- and she was walking like a TRAIN! Her trail of perfume was one of the best I've ever smelled in my life -- and I was speed-walking like crazy way behind her, in her wake, trying desperately to catch up and ask her what it was, my brain meanwhile flipping through the possibilities of what it could be.

But I never could catch her. Sadly, I'll always always wonder. I live in a small town without niche scents, so I'm pretty sure I knew the perfume very well and likely actually owned it myself -- it was probably easily found at Belk, Dillard, Macy's, or Ulta (that's all we have around here). I have a lot of trouble recognizing perfumes on others in public, even those I actually own & wear myself.

Hers was one of the whiffs in public that has absolutely blown me away, and I'll never forget it. At first, it just floated off of her like a delicious warm musk -- that's all. I couldn't identify any particular notes -- her trail just smelled warm and musky. It was almost like an upscale Jovan Musk for Women -- the drydown gave an overall "impression* to me of warm musk. Yet it wasn't any straight-up musks from drug stores or etailers -- not Coty Wild or Kiehl's or any of those. This was a dept store perfume that just dried down to a warm musky scent. And it was strong -- I could smell it across the wide corridor.

My best guesses at the time were something along the lines of --- Opium, Gucci Guilty, EL Sensuous, Dune, Burberry Classic, Samsara, Coco Mademoiselle, Allure, Chance, Prada, JPG Classique, Obsession, D&G The One, Vict Secret Rapture. (Coco Noir had not launched yet.)

Her trail at first was simply warm & musky -- but later, as I came closer, a "delicious" quality was revealed too, so I started thinking maybe it had a bit of fruit & vanilla -- maybe gourmand-ish. So I started wondering -- Opium, Gucci Guilty, Sensuous, JPG, Allure, Chance, or Coco Mlle? I'll never know for sure, but I think it was probably one of the ones I've mentioned.

If I'd been able to catch up & ask her, I'm sure I would have nodded and said, "Oh, yes, of course!" -- as such revelations generally make me do.

JPG Classique EDT was one of my several guesses. If JPG wasn't *the one*, it was close enough to it, I thought. The experience of smelling this lady's warm, musky perfume made me pull out my JPG bottle, start wearing it, and fall in love with it all over again.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JasmineJolene on 1/14/2013 8:36:00 AM more reviews by JasmineJolene

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I don't especially like the smell direct from the bottle, but on my skin it is divine! Even my mum commented, which is very unlike her.
I like the bottle and would buy again. This was a Christmas gift from my husband; I have never bought it for myself as it is on the pricey side.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* viennah on 11/21/2012 6:31:00 PM more reviews by viennah

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

My bf had bought me this as a gift because he loved it. I absolutely hated it at first, I was 19 then and it seemed way to grown up on me, but now years later, I'm falling in love with it! It's become my everyday frangrance for the office, it's a little heavy but it makes me feel all fancy and sophisticated. Great for going out as well when I want to get a bit classy. It's a classic scent that differs so much from all the fruity sugary floral scents dominating the market these days. It has great lasting power too, stays on all day. And the bottle is just beautiful.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 moomooknickers on 10/15/2012 6:40:00 AM more reviews by moomooknickers

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

Sultry and intriguing. Smells like a night out on the town.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 juliamour on 9/22/2012 8:23:00 PM more reviews by juliamour

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have been wearing this perfume for 8 years now. My French boyfriend originally gave it to me as a birthday present, and I have been wearing it ever since. Men LOVE it. It's too heavy for me for every-day wear, but I spritz one one or two sprays before going out on weekends and I always get compliments on how I smell. I'll wear this forever!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chayaNY on 5/20/2012 4:26:00 PM more reviews by chayaNY

Age: Unknown   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Disliked everything about it, cloying, cheap smelling for the price. Had a sample, would not buy a full sized. Dislike the headless horseman bottle too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lana1992 on 5/20/2012 4:04:00 PM more reviews by Lana1992

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I simply LOVE this fragrance. It's strong, vibrant, and very sexy. It's so powdery and so sweet. I think it's very over the top in every way and that's exactly what I love about it. It makes me think of very luxurious things. But old luxury, if that makes sense. Not a brand new sportscar, but an oldtimer. Not a villa in Hollywood, but a mansion on the English countryside.
It actually reminds me of very old, very good whiskey. It has that same boozy velvety texture.
To me it smells like make-up, whiskey, vanilla, and a lot of spicy florals. I absolutely love the ginger and the anise (I'm a HUGE fan of anise notes) blending beautifully with the ylang ylang and the orange blossom. My friend said it reminded her of old fashioned sweets, and I totally get that.

Though I really love this fragrance, I can not wear it every day (well, it wasn't made to be worn all day either). It's just too much over the top. I can only wear it when I'm dressed up for a chique occasion. When everything else is perfect, Classique is the icing on the cake.

I must say I prefer this to the EDP. The EDP is softer, gentler, more mature. Like the more grown up sister of the sparkly EDT. There character is in essence alike, but they are very different.

I do not really get the fuss around the bottle. I quite like it. It's a mannequin, that's all. It adds to the luxurious feel of this fragrance. And the corset is very... I would not say funny, but I can not really find another word to describe it in English. The corset makes me smile. In a good way.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Jean Paul Gaultier products

More Fragrances products