Tom's of Maine • Natural Deodorant • Deodorants

rated 2.6(249 reviews)

Average Rating.2.6
Would buy this product again.38%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* msdi2u on 10/14/2014 11:29:00 PM more reviews by msdi2u

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I use this because I have intense allergies with most deodorants. The rashes started years ago, and I have had to switch brands numerous times. First Mitchum, then Arm & Hammer, then Dove for a long time. Dove either changed an ingredient or did something funky with the fragrance, because I suddenly noticed a large lump on my left arm. I also had a big red irritation on the skin of the same armpit. Eventually, the same thing happened under my right arm, and I suspected it was the Dove. I quit using deodorant and switched to baby powder for protection, but that didn't work out too well in the "odor department." (However, it DID clear up the rash and the lump.) Good thing it was winter time. ;-) When spring came, I knew I had to find something more potent, so I bought Tom's. I bought the unscented version, and even though it doesn't stop the smell of sweat from breaking thru on a warm day, it doesn't cause me any problems with my sensitive skin. So for me, it's a keeper.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tessture on 10/6/2014 12:28:00 PM more reviews by tessture

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've used Tom's of Maine for years and it does work for me, but I don't have a lot of trouble with bad body odor, so I think chemistry is important with things like this. It is NOT an antiperspirant. Anyway, it works fine for me. I prefer the Honeysuckle Rose scent best: it doesn't actually smell like Honeysuckle or Rose on me, but instead it's a faint, light herbal scent that keeps me from stinking as the day wears on. In muggy, wet hot weather, it is less effective, true, but I wear antiperspirant on days like that. I've given it four stars because I like how it works on me, but I admit that other reviewers are not wrong in that it is not entirely effective if you need a strong deodorant.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 gabriela225 on 8/30/2014 10:53:00 AM more reviews by gabriela225

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I can't believe they call themselves a "deodorant' when the product does absolutely NOTHING to combat odour. I switched because my old deodorant contained a lot of alcohol, chemicals, etc. and turned my underarms into a dark color, but after switching to Tom's, I'm CONSTANTLY smelly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mauneecamren on 8/6/2014 3:32:00 PM more reviews by mauneecamren

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

First off, I bought this product because I've heard about the adverse affects of aluminum, so I decided to try Toms aluminum free deodorant in apricot. I was visiting family in Mississippi for a few days while using it, and I noticed that I needed to reapply often. Kind of embarrassing! I figured I was having to reapply so often due to the unbearable humidity. I have recently returned home, New Mexico, where it is much drier and STILL I need to reapply 2 and 3 times a day! I smell after just a few hours of just hanging out and on top of that the smell is pretty bad to the point where I have to wash my underarms before reapplying. The last straw was when I noticed my underarms peeling, burning, and reddened! I'm pretty disappointed in this product and considering the other reviews that have had similar experiences i wouldn't recommend it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 skyblue94 on 6/30/2014 11:24:00 AM more reviews by skyblue94

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I have the toms unscented deodorant and i actually it works better than any anti-perspirant ive used with aluminum like i dont sweat at all and i just got this product during summer so I think ive found a product that ill be using for years

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 isshevital on 5/26/2014 3:56:00 AM more reviews by isshevital

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have the unscented version of this, and it works really well for me. I'm pretty surprised by the bad reviews! I don't sweat very much at all, but sometimes I definitely do get smelly and need a little help in that department. I apply this immediately after I dry off after a shower, which I think is important. It keeps the smell at bay even when it's hot and humid. Doesn't irritate my pits. I don't use it every day so I won't run out for quite a while, but I would repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Lauraasti on 4/24/2014 1:52:00 AM more reviews by Lauraasti

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I'm surprised by the negative reviews here, I really like this product! Granted, the hottest day we've had since I started using it was around 80 degrees. I don't have bad body odor, but I wanted something to mask what little I do have, without all of the questionable ingredients you find in an antiperspirant. I got this in the lavender scent at Target for a very good price. It smells a little strong when you smell it in the container, but it's hardly noticeable when you put it on. In fact, once I put it on, I really don't smell anything at all for the rest of the day, especially no b.o. The only way I can describe the consistency is a "solid gel." It feels wet when you first put it on, but it dries quickly and it doesn't stain my shirts or bother me any other way. I'd rather have wet pits for a few minutes than chance breast cancer with dry ones. I can see more active people maybe needing to reapply once or twice, but it takes what, 10 seconds? I still do sweat in warmer temps, but that's what the body is supposed to do and it's really not noticeable from what I can tell with this stuff. And since I started using it, I've had zero deodorant stains on my dark shirts and no yellow stains on my white shirts. I also noticed my pits in general are in better shape. They used to break out a lot and were often sore and unpleasant to look at. Now, they're just fine and I'm not shy about wearing sleeveless shirts anymore. I'll probably have some issues once the hot summer hits, but I'm not out in the heat much during those months. If anything, I'll just use this on days I'm not active outdoors. Odor protection, healthier skin, no white stains, better ingredients, and a great price. I will definitely be repurchasing!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 samiakbari on 3/4/2014 7:31:00 PM more reviews by samiakbari

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love Tom's products. I use their toothpaste and other items, but this natural deodorant is not good. It does say "deodorant" and not "antiperspirant" but I wasn't expecting to all of a sudden realize how much I actually sweat! And on top of that, my armpits became irritated and rash-y from the new wetness going on. I had to go back to my cheap, conventional deodorant just to stop the irritation and also needed to use aquaphor for a few days to heal myself. No bueno!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* spaflam on 2/14/2014 9:51:00 AM more reviews by spaflam

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Sorry - but it doesn't work - I need an antiperspirant - not just a deodorant. I need to stop the wetness. This is natural and smells good but will not cut it in corporate America.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lb1986 on 11/11/2013 11:48:00 PM more reviews by lb1986

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Tan   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

Does not work. I rarely sweat but this product made me smell terrible. I have had friends say the same. I would not recommend this to anyone close to me.. :-)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Tom's of Maine products

More Deodorants products