Tom's of Maine Natural Deodorant

2.5

259 reviews

38% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

Not tested on animals
Tom's of Maine is a Cruelty-Free Subsidiary.

INGREDIENTS



on 8/28/2015 4:53:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I find that this deodorant does not offer as much protection as some other deodorants. I know there is no antiperspirant in this product, but I find myself feeling very sweaty throughout the day in comparison to the days when I use Schmidt's Deodorant or Routine De-Odor cream. I think the baking soda in those products make a big difference. The Tom's of Maine deodorant that I have also has hops on the ingredients list, which kind of makes me think that I am fermenting the sweat in my armpits. No bueno. On the plus side, this deodorant is gentle and does not stain clothes. If you will be in a sweat-free environment, this is not a bad option, but I would look elsewhere if you are going to be doing intense activity.



on 8/27/2015 8:09:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Don't do sh*t. Applied on before working out...as I stretch my arms to my legs, I can smell the stank from my underarms. Does control sweat a bit but I wasted my money.


on 8/23/2015 6:06:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I don't understand why there's such a low rating for this product! I was looking for a "natural deodorant" that didn't have any of the bad/harmful ingredients most brands have. I did some research and found that Tom's deodorant has pretty good ingredients and did not contain any Aluminum. This is a deodorant, NOT their antiperspirant. It won't keep you dry so if you're looking for sweat control, this isn't it. I do sweat quite a bit, but I didn't want an antiperspirant since they block the pores and prevent you from sweating out all the impurities. Also, the Aluminum in antiperspirants causes my sensitive skin to break out in a rash.

This deodorant keeps me smelling fresh and nice all day. I don't have really bad/strong odour but when it's really hot out and I'm running errands or spending the day out in the sun, i'd like to have the peace of mind that I don't smell. I have this in the women's version (purple packaging). The scent is "beautiful earth". I love how it smells. Its a nice fragrance without being too overbearing. I'm not sure how to describe the scent but it smells kinda like a fruity potpourri mix. I do find the scent fades as the day goes on but, it still works at keeping odour away. It's a bit more expensive than other brands. Almost $6cdn at Walmart but i would repurchase since I love what Tom stands for; sustainable practices, natural ingredients....and BEST of all, it's cruelty free!!!


Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This was given to me and I'm so glad I never bought this because it would have been a waste of money. My armpits sweat, was slick from the formula, and yes I was just reak-ing on top of the perfume. Sorry natural fans, big thumbs down.


on 6/20/2015 6:35:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I've had this before and did absolutely nothing for me and recently I've received a travel sample in natural powder which broke after the first use and again ...did nothing for me, no "24h wetness protection" not even half hour and I think makes me smell even faster

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/8/2015 3:21:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I found another deodorant that was recommended to me from a friend at whole foods (crystal essence in white tea and chamomile) which I loved but moved to another state 2 years ago and have not been able to find it in stores! I bought this when I saw it at trader joe's. It's unscented but definitely started to smell like BO after using it a few times. It does not last through the day and when I put it on, it smells like weird BO - not like my BO but like fake lemons mixed with something rotten. It keeps my BO at bay, but it is replaced with another, and in my opinion, WORSE smell. It is convenient that it comes in a traditional stick form. You don't have to scoop it and apply it with your hands or put liquid on your armpits and wait for them to dry. The smell is pretty unbearable. Needless to say, I've turned to Amazon to supply me with my trusty old deodorant.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/17/2015 12:26:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Bottom line: This product has severely irritated both underarms and triggered an allergic reaction. I wanted to like it, but not only have I taken an antihistamine, but I may go to the doctor.

I have sensitive skin with multiple allergies and lupus.

For years I have only used Avon's "Cool Confidence" anti-perspirant. However, it contains aluminum chlorohydrate. But it was the lesser of many evils because I cannot tolerate stronger alum ingredients. After reading positive reviews, I decided to get "Tom's" because I wanted to completely avoid alum products. I bought the " long lasting 24 hour protection" roll-on in "wild lavender" scent. Got it at Whole Foods for $4.99 for 3 oz.

Within a couple of hours, both armpits were stinging. I wiped it off. ( I guess during that time it controlled odor, but it was for just a few hours. ) But the irritation actuallly spread with redness, raised rashes and burning. While I only applied it one time and only to the armpit areas that grow hair, the irritation encompasses the whole of my armpit and area underneath where my bra band is.

I suspect that I'm reacting to the top ingredient, propylene glycol. It is a known irritant according to the Environmental Working Group.

All I know is right now I am miserable.


on 2/18/2015 4:21:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Notice that this product is a deodorant, not an antiperspirant!!! After a decade of using antiperspirants, I finally realized that I am likely allergic to aluminum. The moment I put those on, my armpits started sweating. So much, that I thought I must have a medical problem. Until I realized that I only sweated in the armpit area. I would wear three layers of shirts, and have the outer one completely soaked under my arms, within an hour. It was extremely embarrassing, as you can all imagine. So, I figured that since I'm gonna sweat, might as well slow down on the antiperspirant business, and try a simple deodorant. And I was recommended this one. And I haven't looked back since. I've been repurchasing these for the last 3 years. I couldn't believe my armpits: I was BARELY sweating anymore!! And not only that, but it didn't smell bad. I used the unscented one, and spray some of my perfume on top, as I can't stand deo/antipersp scents. On hot summer days, I attempt to wear proper antiperspirants, and find myself sweating fifty-fold the amount that I would sweat when using Tom's. Basically, if you can't find a single functional antiperspirant, consider giving this one a try. I almost forgot what it was like to wear paper towel padding under my armpits, and I hadn't worn colors in years, cause it made moisture too visible.


on 1/31/2015 2:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

Okay but how is this a 'deodorant' when it just makes your armpits wet

I really wanted to like this product because it's aluminum-free and natural, but it was way too slippery and the one I tried didn't seem to accomplish anything. Price was reasonable I guess, but was it really reasonable when the product does nothing? These are questions we need to ask ourselves.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Kinky, Other

Eyes: Brown

I like that there's no aluminum




Top Rated Tom's of Maine Products

Back to Top