Essie • Sole Mate • Polishes

rated 4.2(36 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Bevlar on 11/15/2013 3:33:00 AM more reviews by Bevlar

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a gorgeous deep plum colour which is perfect for Autumn. The polish applied like a dream and was opaque in just 2 coats. It dried quickly to a super glossy finish but I added a top coat to preserve the shine.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kbugg on 10/6/2013 2:03:00 PM more reviews by kbugg

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is my favorite Essie fall/winter shade for toes that I return to each year. I always do a little experimenting at the nail salon with the trendy colors (blues, purples etc) but then return to this one every time. I finally purchased it last year and while I still experiment if a new color catches my eye, I don't purchase the trendy stuff. This is a deep classy burgundy shade that goes on smooth and leaves your toes super glossy. It works well with any shoe style or occasion unlike the trendy colors! If you're looking for a modern take on a classy dark red/plum, look no further.

I have found my sole mate fall nail color LOL!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fpih on 3/13/2013 2:46:00 AM more reviews by fpih

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Deep Reds and Burgundies are my favorite nail colors for fall/winter every year so I own a fair collection. I love the plum undertones that Sole Mate has and make it distinct to the other deep reds I own. I also like the fact that it lasts for 3-4 days at least (with topcoat) with no chipping on the ends like China Glaze does.

What I don't like at all is how streaky it is and how small the brush is, making it difficult to apply evenly. The first coat is transparent and blotchy. The second coat almost gets the job done, but not completely. It probably needs 3 coats to make it perfect, but with 3 coats the color is so dark, it's seems close to black when indoors. Since it's so streaky, it takes a lot of time and attention to detail in the first place if you want to do a good, clean job (like another reviewer mentions below, it tends to bleed a lot too, meaning you have to do a VERY good job of cleaning/removing cutticles before applying. In fact, it's such a bother, that despite the gorgeous color, it's one of my least used polishes.


All in all, a very nice color but made cumbersome to use by its streaky nature. If only the brush was like OPI's, it'd gain 2 more stars from me. As it is, I won't repurchase when it's finished. Oh, and 1 year after I got it, it still needs no thinning; I guess that's a plus.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 candied on 2/13/2013 11:41:00 AM more reviews by candied

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Gorgeous deep, dark, blackened plum-burgundy color. Sole Mate applies beautifully -- it's horribly streaky with the first coat, but as a review says below, it magically evens out with the second coat to a gorgeous, even, opaque coat of color. I've had issues with streaky Essies in the past (even with 3 coats!), and Sole Mate is not one of them. Applies beautifully, and with Orly Bonder BC and SH Hard as Nails TC, it lasts me a work week before I start to get significant chipping.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AllAboutMe83 on 12/2/2012 12:01:00 AM more reviews by AllAboutMe83

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Green    

Sole Mate is a deep plummy/eggplant like color, I purchased it basically knowing I will never wear it, it was purchased just to add to my nail polish collection and if a friend comes over and likes it she sure can borrow it.........lol
Sole Mate is a nice color but it's not my cup of tea.
I prefer Swing Velvet which is really flattering on my fair/cool skintone, and the color is a beautiful shiny berry/plum that applies like a charm.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Jollywa on 11/12/2012 1:28:00 AM more reviews by Jollywa

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love the color. But it is a bear to apply. Like most Essie polish, 1st coat goes on streaky. I waited 5 minutes, then applies the 2nd coat and it went blotchy, so blotchy that I was not sure that even a 3rd coat would salvage it. Also, I nicked a cuticle and trying to correct it only led to 'bleeding' of the color further into the cuticle. It was horrible.

I have not seen any comments about the bleeding aspect. And I sure don't understand the comments that say it was opaque in 1 coat. It was not opaque for me, even after 2 coats.

I removed the entire paint job and settled for "Don't Sweater It" instead.
If anyone has any tips on how to get a nice paint job with this polish, I sure would appreciate it. Also, how to handle the bleeding.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jesgot57 on 11/8/2012 12:51:00 AM more reviews by jesgot57

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Overall, I like the nail polish. Not a color I would rush out and re-purchase if I lost it or ran out, but I do find myself using it every once in awhile.

The application is annoying for me. I love the color the polish gives off on the frst coat, but I find it is too streaky to leave with just one coat. And after the second coat, the color becomes the dark color you see in the bottle.

To me and on my skin tone, the color looks to be a deep maroon/brown color. I will only be using this color in the fall.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cheeky on 9/16/2012 5:29:00 PM more reviews by cheeky

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

another great essie polish, you only need one coat of this and it's opaque. it's not exactly my taste (too dark) but it's a gorgeous color. I'll probably give it to my sister, because it's not for me, but this looks beautiful on, it's maroon with a hint of purple.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ace2o4 on 8/11/2012 3:57:00 PM more reviews by ace2o4

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love Essie, don't get me wrong, and I REALLY wanted to love this color, but it's very deceiving. I have a decent Essie collection and I'm always looking to add new colors to it. I always check makeupalley to see what others think before I buy. Soul mate had great reviews and the color looks great in the bottle, but I was deeply disappointed with the application and the wear.

I don't like jelly polishes as they take too many coats to apply and you can almost always still see the natural white line at the tip of my nails. Soul mate looked mostly opaque in the bottle so I was hoping it would be a 2-coater at the very most. It took me 3 coats to reach opacity (I don't understand all these reviews that say one coat was opaque!!). Yes, it's a dark color, but dark does NOT equal opaque. Even with 3 coats I could still see some faint streaks, but I was not about to apply a 4th (I knew it would chip and peel like crazy).

Overall, a great color in the bottle, but even 3 coats left me wanting more. I still love Essie and will continue to use their products, but this reminds me that bottles are deceiving. I'll just have to try a similar color that gives me the coverage I desire.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MelissaMH on 7/9/2012 6:44:00 AM more reviews by MelissaMH

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Remarkable. Sole Mate is exactly as essie describes it: a creamy, rich, deep dark plum. One coat is deep and opaque, but two coats give that vampish, deep plum color I was looking for. In the type of work I do I really can't wear it on my hands, but I wear it on my toes a lot. Berry Hard is my favorite essie color, but Sole Mate is a very close runner-up. If you're an essie fan and you don't own this color, well, you should!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products