MAC • Frost - Satin Taupe • Eye Shadow

rated 4.6(1080 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.87%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shanhal on 10/23/2014 11:41:00 PM more reviews by shanhal

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

On me, it pulls more grey, but it's so soft and silky and it blends out so well. It's perfect on the lid blended or in the crease, It lasts all day on me with minor fading on the edges. It's a great shade to have in your stash if you like neutral colours.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* valmont32677 on 10/16/2014 9:15:00 PM more reviews by valmont32677

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I have this & MAC Woodwinked on heavy rotation! ST was 1 of my very 1st MAC purchases from the MAC Pro Store in downtown KC, MO when I was at a horse show coz my mom (& dad) had explored downtown coz of our hotel & my mom came back all excited to tell me about this gr8 makeup store! I had the MUAs there completely make me over & ST was 1 of my purchases. That was so long ago! I recently repurchased this from "my" city's MAC counter & was bombarded by old memories (good & bad), well long story short it's still a gr8 color! Looks gr8 w any outfits or lip colors or occasions. The color is a lovely brown-beige-hint of purple & many times I will only wear 1 e/s color at a time & ST is wonderful to wear solo w some black eyeliner & lipstick. Highly rec'd, I can also see why this would be such a cult favorite & have such a popularity coz I could see it being very flattering to many eye colors & complexions. It's a decent sized pan for its price but it is expensive; but it's such a complex color (typical of MAC! They are the epitome of complex colors of eyes or lips!), I would def repurchase this & rec it to anybody who likes colors that may not be exactly ordinary on 1st glance. I like to think of it as an investment, in that u could buy 3 or 4 DS e/s or a couple quads or one MAC e/s & I would rather have the MAC one good 1 than 8 mediocre ones n then end up buying the MAC anyways later. I wish I had more MAC makeup, but I dearly cherish my small few prized precious collection & I have fun adding to it when i can indulge.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xokatana on 9/28/2014 2:02:00 AM more reviews by xokatana

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I completely forgot about this eyeshadow until I just saw it on the featured page. this was my HG eyeshadow for years I would always repurchase until I started wearing a matte on my crease and shimmer on my lid. such a pretty shimmery purple toned ash brown love it in my crease with sin on my lid i'm NC20 for reference.

GREAT DUPE: NARS: ashes to ashes

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tinkerrbelle on 9/28/2014 1:23:00 AM more reviews by tinkerrbelle

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

MAC is no longer cruelty free

DUPES:
- Jordana "Over The Taupe"
- CoverGirl "Tapestry Taupe" - more shimmer
- L'Oreal HiP "Sassy" - warmer
- L'Oreal Infallible "Bronzed Taupe" - more shimmer
- NYX "Root Beer"
- NYX "Iced Mocha"
- ELF Custom Eyes "Moondust"
- Inglot "Pearl 402"
- Silk Naturals "Mink"
- Wet n Wild Color Icon "Nutty" - lighter, warmer

Don't fall for the hype, Satin Taupe does NOT suit everyone! It makes my blue grey eyes look dull, and the purple-grey undertone matches my undereye circles, so when I wear this I look REALLY tired and ill with dull, bruised looking eyes.

Lots of people have good memories of wearing this they were young and free but I don't think it the frosty finish flatters many people over 25. One of my friends spent a lot on MAC and thinks Satin Taupe looks hot on her but I think the frosty finish highlights her wrinkles and makes her look tired and old. I actually think soft plums and browns in satins and mattes flatter her more.

To see the proof, go to the photo #16 above, the one with the swatches on the back of someones hand. Look at how wrinkly her hand looks with the Satin Taupe swatch on it?? Then compare with how smooth and fine the Haux satin swatch looks below it! Haux looks so much more youthful!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mwebba1 on 8/16/2014 10:10:00 AM more reviews by mwebba1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I cannot believe I haven't reviewed this yet! This is a wonderful color for everyone to have. I have had this for about 5 years. The same eyeshadow single. I pull it out from time to time and am wowed by how great it looks on me. I am NW45 for reference and I can wear it alone on my lid or in a smokey eye. Love this for work as it is the perfect subdued frost. Always line my eyes with a kohl when wearing this. Again, everyone should have this color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 PlanetAmour on 8/14/2014 2:45:00 AM more reviews by PlanetAmour

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I'm light/fair and find this to be a little dark on me unless I apply it lightly with a blending brush. It's an ok color, but not one of my favorites by MAC. It is good quality, like all MAC shadows, but it's just not a top one for me. It would look great on a darker skinned person.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 whiteparfait on 8/13/2014 2:37:00 PM more reviews by whiteparfait

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Hmm, I don't know what to think about this one actually. I just got it and I must say I find it a bit uinteresting so far. The color is a little boring. I'll maybe find a perfect way to apply it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Theiuare on 8/1/2014 7:44:00 AM more reviews by Theiuare

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Great starter kit colour. It works with all skin colours in my opinion.
When applied you can't say exactly what colour it is that you are wearing, just a beautiful frosty (but in a good way) purpley greyish colour that looks amazing.
Just beautiful !

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 3110hello on 6/5/2014 6:32:00 PM more reviews by 3110hello

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

One of the iconic MAC eyeshadows, Satin Taupe is a beautiful darker neutral color that really looks good with almost all eye colors. Although a frost finish it is not too shimmery and like most MAC shadows it blends well. You can use this alone or with any combination of other colors. I do wear this but must say it is not my favorite as both Club and Woodwinked do more for my brownish hazel eyes than this color does.

Great for someone starting their MAC shadow collection - this would always be among shadows to own.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 paulinerox on 5/31/2014 11:14:00 PM more reviews by paulinerox

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This color is STUNNING!! It looks purple but has grey undertones, thus why it's called satin taupe. If you're looking for a dark purpley-grey color this is it. I have brown eyes, yet it still looks beautiful. I would recommend it to blue or green eyes though, but works for all eye colors.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products