Stila Perfecting Stick Foundation

Stila Perfecting Stick Foundation

3.4

46 reviews

54% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

isononyl isononanoate, caprylyl methicone, caprylic/capric triglyceride, polyethylene, hydrogenated polyisobutene, stearalkonium bentonite, microcrystalline wax \cera microcristallina\cire microcristalline, dimethicone/vinyl dimethicone crosspolymer, euphorbia cerifera (candelilla) wax\candelilla cera\cire de candelilla, narcissus poeticus flower wax, oryza sativa (rice) bran wax, squalane, diisostearyl malate, bis-diglyceryl polyacyladipate-2, triisostearin, butyrospermum parkii (shea butter) extract, caprylyl glycol, hexylene glycol, neopentyl glycol dicaprylate/dicaprate, talc, silica, propylene carbonate, hydrogenated vegetable oil, hydrogenated palm kernel glycerides, hydrogenated palm glycerides, hydrogenated castor oil, phytosteryl isostearate, fragrance (parfum), bht, phenoxyethanol, [ /- mica, titanium dioxide (ci 77891), iron oxides (ci 77491, ci 77492, ci 77499), ultramarines (ci 77007)]


on 5/25/2011 9:17:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Grease ball.. How my face looks after I apply it! I haven,t had cystic acne for 15 years and now I develop it? This foundation is truly awful. The only thing I like is the stick packaging.



on 7/29/2010 4:23:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I had this foundation in shade H which was a fairly good match but it had neutral undertones with not much yellow so it looked a bit 'blah' on me. I bought this at such a cheap price, I was shocked!, I didn't know that a higher-end brand like Stila would sell a discontinued and discounted makeup product for as little as 1.99, what was there to lose, I was so happy as I have never bought foundation as cheap as that! I have long days, I do my makeup around 6:15 and arrive home at around 4:00, since this was a high-end brand I always thought "you get what you pay for" (well not in this case since I got it cheaper at a CCO lol), I expected long-lasting results, "better than drugstore makeup" finish. Can I say this stuff is so incredibly greasy! I don't have oily skin but in pictures I was shining everywhere, Luckily I had my MAC Blot Powder handy to blot the excessively shiny forehead, nose, t-zone etc, for coverage and the fact that it was really cheap at a CCO, it gets three lippies but I really don't recommend this for a long-day wear, I am extremely glad that I didn't pay full-price for this, it really isn't worth it's value! So for the sheer fact it left me looking greasier and oiler than a fried chicken dish it gets a thumbs down from me...


on 5/2/2010 2:14:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I seem to have too high an expectation every time I try something Stila. I have this in both shade D and E - depends on what I feel like and how my skin looks - either seem to work ok for NC35. Though the colour is not as yellow as either Bobbi Brown or MAC. It oxidizes like crazy, I have to use primer with it. Coverage is quite good as expected with stick fdtn's, but it leaves an oily feel for me which increases as the day goes, I guess I just need to reapply powder. I think I'll in future use this as concealer - I have some acne marks that have faded considerably and this covers it ok - but I'll go back to my trusty liquid fdtns. It is so so for me, maybe it's just my skin.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Green

I love this base! I must admit that I use it every day now, and am keeping my rather expensive Jane Iredale liquid minerals and mineral m/up powder for 'best'. It's a great coverage and marvellous for my slightly dry skin. I've found the best way to apply it is with a foundation brush or a 'stipple' brush. When I tried my 1st one, I did the 'stripes' thing and then blended, but that resulted in a rather uneven coverage, so yes, it was a bit trial and error, but it's now an amazing base at a really great price. Like most others on here, I would think, I've probably tried every premium base there is over the years. I worked for Arden for a lot of years, so got used to Flawless Finish sponge-on, even though the colours were awful, so I wanted something that had the same type of coverage, but in a better colour. There are a lot of places selling Stila Perfecting Foundation at rock-bottom prices, so I took advantage of that. The 1st one I got was shade B - slightly too dark. Shade A is amazing, and AA even better for daytime wear. I use a loose powder over the top, then it doesn't seem to change colour or shift at all.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/11/2009 11:07:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I purchased this product because my usual HG stick foundation "Loreal QuickStick" in Creme Cafe got discontinued! =( I'm normally an NC40 (C40 in the summer!) but the shade seemed to change in different lighting. Sometimes it would look yellow, other times it would look washed out and gray. It's very moist and creamy which can leave your skin oily within a few hours. It also has a weird funky smell. I was a bit disappointed with it soon after. I only used this product once and never used it again... well, for it's main purpose.


Instead, I actually found another purpose for it. I know this may sound weird, but I have been using this as an eyeshadow primer. It almost substitutes for MAC's Soft Ochre Paint Pot. I just take any flat tip brush or concealer brush and apply it all over the eye. When I apply my eyeshadow, it holds it in place for HOURS and pretty much lasts all day. I rarely get any fallout from the eyeshadow because it basically sticks to the foundation and doesn't crease either.


Just thought I'd share my helpful tip for any of you who originally bought this and didn't like it. Hopefully, you have a new use for it now. =)

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 10/26/2009 4:40:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This product is discontinued, but i love it. Letter j is my shade and its a perfect match. I bought 5 when ross had them on sale for 2.99. Didn't know what they were then, and wish I had gotten more. It doesn't last as long as my favorite foundation colorstay but it is nice because it is in a stick form so it can be put into your bag easily


on 10/20/2009 12:29:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I got this at Sephora for $8 when they started moving out Stila stock. I tested it for color match and coverage, then bought shade A. I used this foundation for 5 days and returned it, which I have not done with a foundation in many years. The color and coverage changed throughout the day- the foundation yellowed, and seemed to splotch on my combination skin. After 3 days, I started noticing slight acne, which I am not prone to, but I continued to try the foundation for 2 more days. It was obviously a poor match for my skin type, and it took more than a week for my spots to disappear. I had high hopes for this one, but it failed in many ways.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/29/2009 6:54:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

The product wasn't anything grand. The yellow undertone was a tad to much for my skin. It's a light to medium coverage foundation in my opinion.


on 7/19/2009 11:06:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I'm a NC40 and I use shades a & b as concealers. I absolutely LOVE the creamy, moist formula. It makes it wildly easy to blend (which I do with my fingers) and the color payoff is fantastic! I've always opted to use concealers a few shade lighter than mine. It totally blends with my skin color and doesn't make me ghostly at all! For under eye concealer, I use it on top of a primer so it doesn't crease into my lines.


on 7/12/2009 4:48:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got this stick foundation in a Stila kit that included two shades of the foundation, mascara, lipglaze, and illuminating tinted moisturizer.

I got the 'dark' kit...the stick foundation came in shades g and h. The shade h is perfect for me! I use it basically for an undereye concealer and the coverage is great. It goes on creamy and the stick formulation is easy to use without tools. The shade g I will use this winter when my skin lightens up a bit.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top