OPI • Got the Blues For Red • Polishes

rated 4.6(79 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.86%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sprite26 on 6/16/2014 9:26:00 AM more reviews by sprite26

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Got the Blues for Red was a disappointment for me. I wanted this color for a really long time before I finally got a hold of it. This is the type of polish I usually adore. I love dark, classic-looking reds. But once applied, this color just looked plain and brownish and boring. A flat shade of maroon. And I wasn't crazy about the formula either, after two coats it still wasn't quite opaque. Overall I thought it had an inexpensive look and the color seemed dated.
Wouldn't buy it again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* curlycuesue on 1/27/2014 6:46:00 PM more reviews by curlycuesue

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Happened to try this color at a nail salon, and FELL. IN. LOVE. It was exactly the red I was looking for (especially b/c I can't get my hands on Dashing Diva's Stock Exchange anymore). It's not too candy-apple-red, not too dark/vampy, but the perfect oxblood. Yes, it does look different indoors (darker, deeper burgundy) vs in sunlight (brighter red), but I love both shades. It has a shiny, jelly-like finish, and it just looks classic, simple, and chic. :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rosebud222 on 1/27/2014 6:24:00 PM more reviews by rosebud222

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this dark, blue-red polish! It applies so easily and smoothly, and lasts a long time, and it's just a really pretty classic red. It tends to change colors with different lighting though. One of my favs for darker red shades, and I have many to make the comparison.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 VioletDesire on 1/18/2014 8:00:00 AM more reviews by VioletDesire

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I've just had a manicure today and wanted something I'd not tried before. I love timeless, classic reds and this seemed to fit the bill. I'd heard both good and bad things about it, but I wasn't buying a bottle, just trying it. I wish I'd bought a bottle or three. It is gorgeous! It's a dark crimson red and although I haven't compared, it seems a dead ringer for Essie Fishnet Stockings. The formula is almost full coverage at one coat and full at two. I think another coat would give a darker oxblood colour which would be just as good.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lonelyghosts on 11/22/2013 10:49:00 AM more reviews by lonelyghosts

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

Love this color! I prefer this over OPI Malaga Wine.
Looks elegant and I believe this color would look great on all skin tones.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 flowersgrimm on 10/27/2013 12:16:00 PM more reviews by flowersgrimm

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I loved the color in the bottle. Unfortunately to achieve that darkened oxblood color you need 3 coats of relatively thick polish. It was streaky it chipped like crazy and it had to go back. I bought a dupe for it and hopefully I'll like it much better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 elixmia on 9/6/2013 10:42:00 AM more reviews by elixmia

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

If Mrs. O'Leary's BBQ was too dark for you and Malaga Wine was a tad too pink, this just might be the red polish for you! It's not too dark or bright, it doesn't have sparkles, and it shines with a nice top coat. It was only a couple of dollars when I bought it at Target, so it's not going to break the bank. It does take more than one coat to get the color even so keep that in mind. I was fine with two coats and the product dries quickly without mess.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aprilpinkbeauty on 9/16/2012 11:36:00 AM more reviews by aprilpinkbeauty

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I've been obsessed with vampy reds lately and my nail polish collection only contained bright reds so I had to get this. Its an amazing blue red colour that is a perfect blood red! I needed to do 3 coats to get the exact same colour as the bottle but it applied very nicely, smoothly and didn't bubble.


As with all OPI nail polishes the brush is amazing! Like most dark colours though, I noticed wear at my tips after just a few days but it didn't start chipping until just under a week. Looks great as a manicure - very classy and wearable for work or going out. I also love it as a pedicure for those same reasons! I can't wait to use this for some Halloween nail art coming up in the next month or so!


I got it for $10 which is totally worth the money when purchasing OPI because you get what you pay for! I will always have this in my collection and will definitely repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Blondiee21 on 9/7/2012 6:12:00 PM more reviews by Blondiee21

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This is the dark red creme I've been looking for! I love the way a nice deep red looks on my lighter skintone, and I had purchased OPI Mrs. O'Leary's BBQ (which is a beautiful color) but just too dark for me - with two coats, Mrs. O'Leary's BBQ looks almost black in some lights. But then I found this! Perfect, deep red creme that doesn't look black. Almost looks like a jelly when you have it on.. a very squishy look to it! With 2 coats it's the perfect red for me, but you could make it even more vampy by layering on 3 coats or more. This is now my HG red for the fall/winter, and I'm already sporting it on my nails and toes! Love it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* user24678 on 6/3/2012 4:33:00 PM more reviews by user24678

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I picked this up at a local salon based on reviews and swatches I had seen, but it has disappointed me. It doesn't appear as the same beautiful blue-based blood red for me as it looks in the swatches. Mine looks like more of a deep roan red colour (far more brown than red), which is not flattering at all on my fair skin. It just doesn't register as a red shade at all, in any light. Also, it took 3 coats to become opaque, and 4 on some fingers to look even, which is a LOT for a dark polish!
Unfortunately, the salon I got it from doesn't accept returns so I'm stuck with it now, even though I know I'm never going to wear it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More OPI products

More Polishes products