Clinique • Superbalm Tinted Lip Treatment in Mango • Lip Treatments

rated 4.1(91 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.74%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 misscynthia06 on 10/7/2012 11:41:00 PM more reviews by misscynthia06

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Love it, so soft, like a higher class Aquaphor. Very clear, not much color so if that is what you want, keep looking. But SO soft and smooth, if you need a treatment without bringing out the cheap sticks at work all day, this is a great option, all the benefits of a lip treatment but with the classy look of makeup.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 merbie on 1/1/2012 5:49:00 AM more reviews by merbie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely love this balm. I discovered it in college and have been using it for almost 10 years.

I think others have covered it's positives pretty well, so I'll discuss some things I disagree with.

I think the color is perfect. I look really good in orangey glosses and the tint in this gives me just the amount of color I'm looking for (granted, I am very pale, my lips are almost paler than my skin, so this may have something to do with it). It's not extremely bright orange, but the color is obvious without being overly so. I've also tried the Raspberry, though I prefer the Mango with my coloring.

I'm also surprised people are complaining about the lack of taste/scent. Part of the reason that I buy higher-end makeup is to avoid the nasty flavors you find with cheaper products. Flavored glosses nauseate me and give me a headache, not to mention men tend to hate them. I would be extremely disappointed if they changed their formula. I wouldn't buy a scented version.

Oh, and a tip for when the tube is almost empty-- put it in your pants pocket applicator side down (lid on of course). Any gloss sticking to the sides melts down and pools in the applicator reservoir. I always get quite a few extra uses out of what appear to be empty tubes this way.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tinytapa on 5/6/2011 2:09:00 AM more reviews by tinytapa

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Very minimal pigmentation (on me, this is a very,very sheer pink), but it's touted as a "tinted" lip treatment, so this wasn't too shocking or disappointing.
Impressive longevity...my lips feel moisturized for hours, even after drinking and eating.
Not sticky, and feels very glossy and smooth.
No taste or smell to speak of, which is perhaps somewhere this could be improved? Then again, it does what it claims to do, which is enough for me!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rawcus on 9/22/2010 4:57:00 AM more reviews by rawcus

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Like other reviewers, I was disappointed that this had barely no pigment - I was hoping for an orangey peachy hue for the summer months.

Having said that, the quality of the gloss is superb. I'm a die-hard Illamasqua gloss fan for the pigment and longevity, and Clinique Superbalms last almost as long. They have the added bonus of softening my lips, which get dry and cracked very easily (yes, even in summer! Also when I'm stressed I chew on my lips which ruins them). This gloss softens and repairs my lips.

I wear this over a lipstick if I want a more dramatic, wet-look effect, or on its own if I'm playing up my eyes. It lasts a good few hours - even after eating, I only have to touch up once in the day and once again if I'm gonig out, which makes the initial 12.50 great value for money.

Basically it's a substitute for a plain clear gloss - of excellent quality. I just wish it had the colour that the packaging promises!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mellowdali on 6/19/2010 1:36:00 AM more reviews by mellowdali

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I was sucked in by the pretty color.
I did swap it on my hand before I purchased, but I suppose I was too excited to realize my lips aren't as white as my hand...

Mango is a nice peachy-pink hue, which I've been looking to find for a while. Its the perfect peachy-pink in my opinion, but only in the tube.
I was a bit disappointed that there isn't that much pigment, but though it doesn't show up the same as it looks, it does brighten my lips up a bit.
So no dramatic tint is to be found here, but a little perk might, depending on your own lip pigmentation.

Update:
This is so moisturizing. I've practically replaced my favorite lip balm with this stuff.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Xxkonixx on 5/5/2010 11:35:00 PM more reviews by Xxkonixx

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

i just love this whole line of lip gloss from clinique......it's very glossy and moisturizing.....fragrance free and glitter free which is very important for me......relieve dryness in seconds even in the coldest winter days......even after it wears out my lips are still good for a good period of time........this is better than any lipbalm i've tried.........

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* themadhattress on 8/27/2009 6:18:00 AM more reviews by themadhattress

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I cannot live without this product! I've got chronically dry lips that flake all the time. I've tried dozens of lipbalms but none of them was more than a temporary layer that I had to keep reapplying. I finally purchased this after a few weeks of hesitation because I'm not a gloss fan, but I am now a convert after seeing the difference overnight! My lips are moisturized well and all the flakiness is gone. I have not used any lipbalms since I started using Superbalm because I do not need them much anymore. I apply a thick layer every night, and during the day I use a thin layer underneath whatever lip product I have on. It has no smell, and it goes on clear on your lips, which may be a con to some, but I like that because I'm using it purely as a treatment and not as a gloss. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ImGaskarthsLilMamaxD on 6/30/2009 12:28:00 PM more reviews by ImGaskarthsLilMamaxD

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

the color online was pretty misleading...and based on these reviews i thought the color would be more light orangy. but when i got it i was really pleasantly surprised when i saw how bright and pinky the color is! i put it on right away. although its sticky it feels really smooth and like its nuirishing your lips or something. it takes FOREVER to soak in and i really dont like that, but it works really well once it does. it makes ur lips all supple and smooth and nice :). i wish it had some kind of scent though...i mean with no scent or flavor its boring :(. but i really like it and am excited it got here finally. yay :).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mtycer on 6/25/2009 7:12:00 PM more reviews by mtycer

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

My lips are INCREDIBLY dry from Accutane, but I like wearing something besides Aquaphor, so I need a gloss that is very moisturizing. The Mango color you see in the tube (warm orangey pink) actually doesn't show up at all on your lips.

PROS: Doesn't sit on top of your lips. Causes the dry skin to slough off (mostly a pro--it isn't flaky and isn't terribly noticeable; the exfoliating property keeps my lips more moisturized). Not too sticky, IMO. Long lasting. Moisturizes well.

CONS: Very thick in tube. No scent (I prefer a little scent, personally). The applicator could stand to be a little smaller. This has like ZERO tint on my lips, which is a bummer because I was hoping for just a little color!

Love it, but like some of the other Superbalm colors better :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ml176 on 6/9/2009 12:03:00 AM more reviews by ml176

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I loved the regular Superbalm so much, I got this to wear for during the day for school or going out. It was really nice and shiny, and it felt very good on my lips, but there was hardly any tint. It was pretty much clear. Basically, it was the exact same as the regular Superbalm. While it was disappointing that there was not more pigment, I was glad it felt as good as the regular one. I used this a LOT when I was in high school.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Lip Treatments products