Neutrogena • Sunless Tanning Spray-Deep • Self Tanners

rated 3.6(16 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 Marisleysis33 on 3/26/2014 2:09:00 PM more reviews by Marisleysis33

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I used this all through last summer after getting a salon-spray tan. I used this to continue the spray tan in a more affordable way. The first time I used it I did have some blotches because I didn't follow directions. You have to use this correctly or you could have problems. Once I got the hang of it I'd spray my whole body/face about every other day or so and looked great all summer long. I am planning to start up on it again today. I used medium in late spring/early summer then switched to dark for the rest of the season. Just be sure to follow directions and realize it may take a little bit of practice to get it perfect but once you have an established tan mistakes won't be very noticeable. Keep in mind no spray tan is going to be 100% perfect each and every time. If you aren't very picky you'll love this, if you are very picky you may have mixed results.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TaylorHarpenau on 7/9/2013 6:41:00 PM more reviews by TaylorHarpenau

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I bought this because I tan in a tanning bed but my face doesn't tan as well as the rest of my body and I would like to stop tanning my face to avoid getting wrinkles and all that avoidable stuff. I bought this about two weeks ago and that night I put a tanning sticker on my stomach and sprayed pretty heavily and did two coats to test out the color to make sure I wasn't going to spray my face totally orange. The color barely changed on my stomach, there was a very very slight "tan" line where the sticker had been but there was no orange at all. So then I sprayed my face, ears, neck, and chest and when the color developed it matched my bodys tan perfectly. I can't say much for the lasting power or fading of this product because I spray my face every day or every other day since I wash and exfoliate my face every day. The smell isn't bad at all, when you spray it on it smells kind of like sunscreen or a bug spray but once it dries there isn't much of a smell unless I sweat then it smells kind of self tanner ish. The only thing I'm not crazy about is the price, for a Wal-Mart spray tan $10 seems kinda high but I'm only using it on my face so my bottle should last quit awhile.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 annieSFRBeauty on 11/29/2012 5:48:00 PM more reviews by annieSFRBeauty

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy   Eyes: Blue    

This is not the best tanner in the world, but it provides enough color and it's easy to find almost anywhere. The color is slightly orange, but I have figured out if I use a lighter shade first and then apply the deep...it gives me a richer more natural color. I use this about 2x per week. I do recommend this, as I haven't found any better options that aren't crazy expensive.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lealorraine on 7/21/2012 9:41:00 AM more reviews by lealorraine

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Eh, it was okay. I might buy again, but only if it was on sale. Color makes my skin a little bit yellowish though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hwnpunch on 7/9/2012 10:47:00 PM more reviews by hwnpunch

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this to use on my face and to blend in tan lines on my shoulders.After the first application which gave a so so subtle glow of color this went the typical god awful unnatural orange. Easy enough to tone down with my Mia and an enzyme cleanser but not something I'll continue using. If this works for you and you want to use it on your face try spraying it on a makeup sponge or kabuki brush to apply evenly. I had no problems with streaking that way.
**Update** I decided to to try and put this to good use instead of collecting dust on my bathroom shelf so I tried it as a once a day replacement for foundation/TM since they melt off in this god awful heat and humidity. I shot a few sprays of this into my palm with my Neutrogena retinol moisturizer with spf, rubbed my hands together to mix, applied to my face and neck and the results were fantastic! Been using it ever since. I get a great glow with enough color to forgo foundation for the day with no color transfer or melt down issues. It evens my skin tone nicely and develops super quick. For more coverage or polish I just add some Halo powder on top and some concealer under my eyes. I've read that retinol is supposed to prevent the active ingredient in self tanners from developing but I've had no such problems. In fact something about this combo seems to make this develop quicker and in a better shade then when I applied it directly to clean skin. You can see color almost immediately and the retinol helps keep my skin clear. Since my Mia scrubs off the majority of the tanner every day my normal face washing routine prevents me from getting that god awful orange tint or patchy spots from the tanner wearing off unevenly. I get to have my face match the rest of me without endlessly touching up my makeup. I do have to reapply every day but this stuff is cheap and the can should last quite a while. It's become a quick and easy part of my moisturizing routine. I often do the same with my regular body moisturizer after I get out of the shower to help blend in t-shirt, shorts, or bathing suit lines. Buffing any residue off later on eliminates any odor.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kellabella83 on 11/9/2011 12:12:00 PM more reviews by kellabella83

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I've tried many many different tanning spray, gels, lotions over the past few years, but never found one that I was too impressed with. Then this past summer I tried Neutrogena's Micro Mist Sunless Tanning Spray in deep. It comes in 2 shades and the other one is medium. I first started using it on my legs in the summer & was really impressed at how much of a natural tan I had. Once fall came, I bought this again bc I didn't like how my face was getting pale. I was a little nervous to use this on my face bc the other sunless tanning products I've used on my face never came out good. So I watched a few YouTube videos and tried it before I went to bed. I woke up the next day and my face had a pretty subtle glow. No streaking, blotches or unevenness. If you follow the directions on the package you shouldn't have a problem. Make sure you exfoliate really well first, hold the can 4 to 6 inches away, spray in a continuous motion without stopping until you've reached the end of your, leg (for example). It only takes about 5 minutes to dry and you start to see results within 4-6 hours sometimes less. It's also oil free so thats why I dont mind putting it on my face. It doesn't make me break out. This is my 3rd bottle and I've never spent more than $12.99 for it and I think its worth it. Just remember 4 to 6 inches away from your skin, exfoliate first, spray the can in one continuous motion (dont ever stop) until your done with that part of your body bc that's where you'll get streaks or blotches. I would recommend this to anyone that's looking for a natural tan that doesn't look orange and is easy to use!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rubii00 on 5/23/2009 1:21:00 PM more reviews by rubii00

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Wow, didn't expect to see so may bad reviews. For me, this product seems to be okay. I actually bought it once before and gave it away--I used it the first time on New Year's and I had a streaky back (not cool!) I don't know why but I bought it again recently and used it without any bad results. It doesnt give me a deep tan, though. I actually really like Loreal's tanning wipes but that's for another review! Most likely will buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Ayiti on 5/23/2009 11:26:00 AM more reviews by Ayiti

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Don't do it. Not unless you're a professional airbrush artist or you're into the zebra-chic look.

Pros: -Only took me one application to achieve a beautiful deepness; I have light-medium skin with lots of yellow undertones. -The color would be perfect if it applied evenly: like you've just returned from the islands. -Dries very quickly, does not rub off on clothing. -develops in a reasonable amount of time; full development in about 8 hours in my experience. -smells lovely for about the first hour then dries to a more traditional ST, um, aroma.

Cons: -Streaks and stripes galore.Even with rubbing (which the bottle suggests isn't necessary). -Fades quickly! Within two days. Say after the first night you use it, you wake up and notice that you've missed many spots (which is highly likely since this goes on clear and it's difficult to see what's been covered) so you cover the missed spots. 8 hours later, everything is looking good. You wake up the second morning of use to find the first application has faded and now you have a brand new set of stripes and faded spots you have to cover (this has been my experience.)

Overall: love the formula, hate the application and lack of staying power.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* staciarose22 on 4/16/2009 12:34:00 PM more reviews by staciarose22

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is called "micro-mist airbrush sunless tan" now. Deep goes 3 shades darker than your skintone. So if you have very pale white skin, it's not going to give you a dark glow with one use. For that reason, it also prevents streaking and a fake looking orange. I have light-medium skin and don't see alot of darkening. Is this stuff subtle? Two to four hours to wait and see is a long time. That's why I prefer the colored foam bronzers.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nattyngeorge on 7/30/2007 2:11:00 PM more reviews by nattyngeorge

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I really liked this product. I used it on my face and body and it looked pretty good. It wasn't really orange or streaky. Although it runs out very quickly! Especially if you're using it on your whole body. The bottle is $10.. and if you did your body a couple times a week, you'd be buying a bottle a week.. which adds up. I will most likely be repurchasing. Took one lippie off for the terrible chemical smell.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Self Tanners products