Essie • Thigh High • Polishes

rated 4.2(25 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MsHepburn on 10/7/2012 3:06:00 PM more reviews by MsHepburn

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Like the paint on an extremely expensive car :) Very subtle shimmer, only visible in the right light. Two coats is perfect... It's very similar to Bordeaux in colour, just different because this has the metallic sheen to it and it's more opaque than Bordeaux. A very classy dark, wine red.

Not sure how I feel about the sheen yet, I normally prefer jelly finishes. But it's definitely very pretty and festive, could easily see myself wearing this to parties both in the holiday season and outside of it. The sheen is subtle enough not to make me uncomfortable wearing it. Not the dreaded eighties/nineties frost ;)

Edit: it's only the second day but it's already looking less lustrous... Maybe a glossy extra layer op topcoat would help. I don't know what it is, but there is something about it that makes me not like it. It's a bit too harsh, I think, and it's not really dark red but more purply, a proper burgundy. For some reason I find it looks quite gorgeous when I'm wearing black, but any other colour doesn't suit with this. It's very metallic-y and it doesn't have that juicy quality that a lot of Essie polishes seem to have and I've come to love. It's pretty but not the one for me... I prefer Bordeaux and A-list.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AllAboutMe83 on 5/26/2011 10:47:00 PM more reviews by AllAboutMe83

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Green    

Thigh High is a stunning bold ruby-red color that is timeless,classic and always looks sophisticated. Thigh High looks amazing on my fair/cool skin, this is one of those colors that will look great on everyone. This bold color is one of my favorite dark colors along with Bordeaux and Fishnet Stockings.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* starrysim on 12/15/2010 9:02:00 PM more reviews by starrysim

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Thigh High is a stunning deep wine red with subtle red shimmer. Coverage is pretty good - one coat is almost enough, but not quite.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Caty_23 on 10/14/2008 10:49:00 AM more reviews by Caty_23

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I absolutely love vampy burgandy/red colours, so it was no wonder I was drawn to Thigh High, which fits that description perfectly. This rich, burgandy/red shade is described by Essie’s website as a “Festive Glistening Garnet” and I think they have it pretty spot on as it is a beautiful jewelled tone. It is also vampy without being too dark, as in it doesn’t lean towards black like some very deep shades do, it is a definite red. This makes it a sophisticated colour for all occassions, and means it still looks professional in work situations. As other reviewers have described, Thigh High does have shimmer running through it (albeit subtle shimmer) but this does give it a gorgeous glowy quality. I have no problem seeing this fine shimmer on my nails from quite a distance away, but it is definitely a lot more subtle than the shimmers that OPI and China Glaze spoil us with. I have not experienced any problems with this polish being streaky to apply, in fact I find it glides on very evenly. It is opaque in one coat, but this gives you more of a raspberry red shade, unlike the vampier deeper shade you get with two coats. I seem to have great luck with Essie polishes lasting on me, and Thigh High is no exception, lasting for 4 – 5 days. I know i will be using this colour over and over again (particularly in fall and winter), and I will definitely re-purchase should I ever run out.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ceeRennycee on 1/1/2008 5:38:00 PM more reviews by ceeRennycee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Thigh High is a really pretty red along the same lines as OPI's I'm Not Really a Waitress and Sinful's Airy. INRAW is a little darker, IMO, and not as shimmery or complex. I change my polish every day so I don't normally get to comment on wear and tear, but after doing my nails this morning and then going about my day I've noticed I already have chips and tip wear. And that's after a generous coat of SV and lots of drying time. I don't have much experience with other Essie polishes but based on other reviews it seems this is par. I have several other colors in my collection that are pretty similar, so I'm not sure I'd but it again, but it is a pretty shade.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fetishdolly on 12/5/2007 11:18:00 AM more reviews by fetishdolly

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is the perfect blue-based, medium-red, with a red/silver pearl. Not really what I would call vampy exactly, it's not bright either. It is a wonderful subtle red that would wear perfectly through out the Christmas holiday.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 6452 on 11/17/2007 3:14:00 AM more reviews by 6452

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Elegant shade of dark red (ruby) with cool/blue-tones. Truly classic and not too vampy. Wonderful for my pale PPP hands. Perfect Essie quality and applies lovely. With After Sex one of my favorites for going out or big events.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mel_C on 8/21/2007 10:36:00 AM more reviews by Mel_C

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a gorgeous deep, vampy, shimmery red, a classic if you ask me. The shimmer is very subtle so in regular indoor lighting, the polish just looks pearly and shiny. The application was a little gloopy, but I got my bottle in a swap, so maybe I just need a couple drops of thinner to make it all better. If you like classic reds, this is a must-have.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 StarEyez on 6/3/2007 8:58:00 PM more reviews by StarEyez

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Dark   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Great classic deep, vampy red. Mostly wear it on my toes. It looks really sexy with a pair of black or white peep toe pumps, at least my boyfriend thinks so.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ebetty on 1/22/2007 1:24:00 PM more reviews by ebetty

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This might be my favorite red ever! Thigh High is a deep red, darker than mid-tone, but not at all blackened or vampy. It's a true, blue-toned red with very subtle monochromatic shimmer. The shimmer has the same effect as in Chanel Black Satin - it doesn't come across as a shimmery or glittery polish; it just makes the overall red color look more soft, glowy and satiny. It's a delicious effect, and it keeps the polish from being flat or boring (this is actually the first polish in a week I've kept on my nails for longer than a day!). I'm cool-toned and very pale, and I found this to be a really flattering shade for my skintone. It looks sexy, yet classy... I can't stop admiring it, which is embarrassing when I get caught doing so at work, and on public transportation... I used three coats with this to get full coverage, but it doesn't feel too thick on my nails, and it all dried pretty quickly with the help of Poshe top coat. The wear on this has been excellent, as it usually is for me with Essie polishes. I'm on day four now, and have only very minimal tip wear - and that's after taking many showers, doing the dishes, picking at my cuticles, and doing god-knows-what-else to punish my nails. I just cannot get over my love for this product. Although I have dozens of other red nail polishes at home, I'm already contemplating buying a back-up bottle of this color, just in case.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products