MAC • Inventive Eyes Quad • Eye Shadow

rated 4.7(27 reviews)

Average Rating.4.7
Would buy this product again.88%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 1017 on 8/27/2010 3:44:00 PM more reviews by 1017

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Damn this was a good quad. I love the two color options (the golden taupe and the purples). I love everything about every shade in this quad too.

This quad will always hold a special place in my heart. The first time I put White Wheat on my lids and saw what a beautiful golden butter cream color did for my brown eyes, it was the day the way I do my makeup forever changed. Rarely do I live in the pinks I use to always do. Seeing what a golden shade did to my brown eyes was like seeing the makeup HG! My eyes were huge, the brown was sparkling and my whole face looks brighter. Even the purple shades, which can normally leave me looking like I got punched, worked awesome. This was a great LE Quad! Love, love this quad!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nightinggale07 on 1/28/2010 12:37:00 AM more reviews by nightinggale07

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

As the reviewer before me said, this has got to be my favorite MAC quad of all time- and I don't usually gravitate toward purple eyeshadows! The four shadows are as follows;

Twillery (my favorite of all of them!)- It's a very nice almost dirty looking gold that has a sheen finish. I put this color all over my lid as a base and highlight the inner corner of my eye with this and it completely lights up my face. It blends like a buttery dream :)
White Wheat- A shimmery white golden highlight with little gold shimmers.
Velour- is a matte light purple color, great for blending or as a base.
Inventive- A dark purple with a bit of sparkle to it. It is a bit difficult to blend but, if you get a good, smooth base under it, it will blend much easier. I love this color in the crease or as a liner. It's simply beautiful and I've heard that a good dupe for this color is MAC's Sketch eyeshadow.

I think that the contrast between the golds and purples in this quad lend a certain unique quality to it that has yet to be seen in a MAC quad (by me :P). If you can get your hands on this quad, you definitely should! I'd purchase this again if I could.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* verybecca on 3/11/2009 12:07:00 PM more reviews by verybecca

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This may be my fave mac quad of all time - the shades are so perfect and neutral. The white gold shade warms up the rest of the cooler shades. The taupey shimmer is amazing, and the texture is like butter. The matte plum is a great crease shade to tie them all together and the burgundy adds a little oomph at the end, or is great as liner. LURVE this. Now why can't MAC make quads this versatile anymore? MMM/NC35

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* glossedup on 11/10/2007 5:13:00 AM more reviews by glossedup

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

The Inventive Quad, Limited Edition with the Naturally Eccentric collection in '05 is one of my favourite MAC quads, simply because it is so very versatile. It is my 'no brainer' quad, and I grab it for a quick eye look on my way out if I'm seriously rushed for time. Shades - three LE (Twillery, White Wheat, Inventive) and one permanent (Velour.)


The highlight, White Wheat is a beautiful cream with gold shimmer, like if a slightly warmer Nylon had babies with Gold Dusk pigment. I use it for browbone, a wash, inner corner - it's a good colour to have but I hear Up At Dawn (?), the white shade from the Pandamonium quad (Balloonacy collection, 07) is a total dupe.



Inventive is a gold-flecked deep plum - very similar to Sketch in terms of colour in the pan, but Sketch has red sparkle, and Inventive is far more blendable. It's definitely better than Trax, both in payoff and smoothness but the sparkles don't translate that well unless you seriously pile it on. Not a fault IMO, though.



Twillery is absolutely beautiful. I'm going to say it's even better than Woodwinked - it's softer, lighter in colour and with a bit more of a silvery tinge, but it's every bit as smooth and every bit as pigmented. Love love love this colour - SO easy to use as a wash. I'm using this a lot with darker taupes - and yes, I'd call this colour a taupe.



Velour I was totally unimpressed with. Ugly ugly ugly. However, to be fair, I'm seriously warm-toned and this colour DID turn out super-pigmented and smooth, despite the cool ugly muted bluey-grey-purple tone. It came out more grey on lids for me, which just doesn't work.




All in all, nice quad. I depotted Velour and replaced with Kid and now I like it much better. I consider Kid a warm colour in the same vein as Velour, so now I can use all the colours in a few different combinations - I'm loving Kid on the inner lid, Twillery on the lid with a little bit of smudging out to Inventive with White Wheat as a highlight. The strength of this quad lies not in it's 'uniqueness' because it's not, really, but because the colours themselves are really quite lovely and work very well with each other.



This quad should work for a wide range of tones, and I would repurchase if only for Twillery, but it's getting a bit harder to find. Snatch it up if you can!



I am NC25 (Studio Fix), C3 (MAC Face & Body), 30 (Chanel), 2 (MUFE Face & Body, winter) & OC02 (Lunasol Intellectual Powder foundation, winter)

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ucfmariana on 10/19/2006 9:20:00 PM more reviews by ucfmariana

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

You can label me "stuck in a (makeup) rut" all you want, but I've been using this palette almost every day since I bought it in 2005. I place Velour on my lid, Inventive in my outer lid and crease, a tiny bit of Twillery just above my inner lid, and use White Wheat for browbone highlight. Everything about this quad is perfect -- it's not glittery and the shadow textures are wonderful. It's my classic school/work look, and until I find something more perfect, I won't change. ;) Good thing I bought backups of this great neutral LE item.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Cland on 8/14/2006 12:35:00 PM more reviews by Cland

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This is my favorite of all of the MAC quads I have ever bought. Very versatile - I use the colors together and separately with other MAC singles. I do think it would be relatively easy to put together a similar look using non-LE MAC colors (for instance, Inventive is VERY close to Sketch and White Wheat is not dissimilar from Vanilla Pigment). I even like the Velour color that a lot of people don't enjoy as I don't really have any other color like it in the rest of my collection, which lacks a lot of neutral shades.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AManDaX on 5/19/2006 9:10:00 AM more reviews by AManDaX

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

A lovely quad that goes from day to night. especially love White Wheat! i use it as a wash, brow bone to highlight...def buy again but its LE...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* GimpyPoop on 5/16/2006 9:47:00 AM more reviews by GimpyPoop

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This quad was released with the Free To Be Quad with the Naturally Eccentric collection and can I just say that I like it sooo much more than Free To Be! Itís no secret that I am a huge fan of neutral eye looks and yeah, this quad isnít anything exciting or eye-catching, but itís wonderful for creating a beautiful neutral eye with the slightest bit of ďcolor.Ē Velour is boring as sin so I use it as a base color. As for Twillery Ė I love it! Itís a light silvery tan/taupe and itís a Veluxe Pearl so it applies very beautifully with a nice, consistent frost finish. Granted itís not an extraordinary shade, but I love it lots. Inventive is a gold-flecked plum that reminds me of Trax but more reddish, I believe. It doesnít apply as nicely as Twillery being that itís a Veluxe, but it looks great on the outer corners. White Wheat is a gorgeous golden white Frost that reminds me slightly of White Gold Pigment, but without the green sheen. MAC also NEEDS to make this shade permanent. Itís a wonderful brow highlighting shade that isnít overbearing and reflects a lovely golden tone. So yeah, like I mentioned this isnít a unique quad in the least, but itís very versatile! You can apply lightly for a polished office look, or layer it on for a night on the town. I do not regret purchasing this quad and I would purchase it again if I ever ran out and could get my hands on it (as itís sadly limited edition!).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* amby069 on 4/7/2006 5:46:00 PM more reviews by amby069

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

Love love love this quad! My favorite along with Thunder eyes! You can wear it naturally during the day and amped up for night! Not to crazy about Velour (is actually an old discontinued shade they brought back for this collection), but the other 3 make it well worth it!!! I'm not sure if you can get it anymore (it was LE) however you might be able to get it off ebay.

If you can't here are their twins or VERY close sister shades:

White wheat - Vanilla pigment in pressed form. I did a swap of the 2 next to each other and there is NOOOO difference.

Twillery - EXTREMELY close to Woodwinked but a little less golden than woodwinked, however wipe some Shroom over woodwinked and WALAH Twillery!

Velour - dove grey matte purple color. I think the Pro stores still have this color? Other than that don't know. I would get Shale instead, similar color family, MUCH prettier color!

Inventive - SAME color as Trax but with less gold flecks in it. However if you put them on with a brush the color is almost IDENTICAL except Inventive is a smidgen darker (think a cross between Trax and Sketch)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Posh_Patricia on 3/14/2006 12:56:00 PM more reviews by Posh_Patricia

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

OMG why does this have to be LE? I thought neutrals were boring but when this came out I though it looked kinda cute so decided to buy it, plus I had never bought a quad and thought it was very convenient with the clear top and that. So I totally fell in love with it. Velour is kinda boring for me but the other colours are gorgeous, specially Twillery (neutral sandy beige, veluxe pearl, what else can I say!) and White Wheat (amazing yellow golden beige, perfect highlighter that goes with almost anything!) CAN'T STOP USING IT!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products