LUSH Godiva Solid 2 in 1

3.9

212 reviews

71% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Sodium Coco-Sulfate, Fair Trade Cocoa Butter (Theobroma cacao), Cetearyl Alcohol and Sodium Lauryl Sulfate, Glycerl Stearate & Peg - 100 Stearate, Propylene Glycol, Perfume, Hibiscus Extract (Hibiscus rosa-sinensis), Stearic Acid, Shea Butter (Butyrospermum parkii), Cetearyl Alcohol, Cetrimide, Camella Oil (Camella japonita), Jojoba Oil (Simmondsia chinensis), Macadamia Nut Oil (Macadamia ternifolia), Coconut Butter (Cocos nucifera), Jasmine Absolute (Jasminum officinale), Ylang Ylang Oil (Cananga odorata), Cypress Oil (Cupressus sempervirens), Palmarossa Oil (Cymbopogan martini), Jasmine Flowers (Jasminum officinale), Lanolin, Cocamide DEA, Gardenia Extract (Gardenia jasminoides), Benzyl Alcohol, Geraniol, *Limonene, *Linalool.


on 7/2/2015 5:42:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

My first shampoo bar from Lush! After trialling my cousin's Seanik shampoo bar and being satisfied with the results, I decided to buy a shampoo bar of my own.

I don't really know what to feel about shampoo/conditioner products, but I selected this shampoo bar as it claims to be one of Lush's moisturising shampoo bars. I dyed my hair blonde prior to buying this and the long bleaching process fried my hair into dryness, so I selected this shampoo bar. Plus, I LOVE the smell of jasmine in this shampoo bar! It's very reminiscent of my childhood because jasmines are very common in my home country. Admit it, some of the Lush shampoo bars don't smell the best and personally, I thought Godiva is one of the best smelling shampoo bars.

I've been using this shampoo bar since January alongside 2 other SLS-free shampoos because the shampoo bars aren't SLS free and I was aware that sulfates were not good to use on coloured hair. But it's July now and using this shampoo once a week on average, the bar hasn't completely shrunk into nothing yet! It's definitely gotten smaller, but when Lush said their shampoo bars is equivalent to 3 medium sized liquid shampoo bottles... I can testify that they're right.

In the six months that I've used this shampoo bar, I didn't think the results I got were super fantastic. I liked how the smell lingered in my hair even after I'd washed the shampoo bar off, but I didn't think it was that moisturising. I still found myself wanting to use conditioner after washing my hair with this shampoo bar.

But when my mum recently cleaned our shower area, she hid all of my shampoos. I wasn't bothered to find them so I just used whatever shampoos she left behind in the shower area and that's where I realised how good Godiva really was! I used the Herbal Essences shampoo my mum uses twice and that actually made my hair really dry and coarse despite using conditioner anyway and it made me realise how moisturising Godiva is, at least in comparison to mainstream shampoos. Plus, the smell sticks better than normal shampoos and this sounds weird, but I wanna be that person who walks past people and people think "omg her hair smells nice". Hahaha!

Would I repurchase? I think the results it promises is a little underwhelming, but it does deliver somehow. Mind you that my hair went through a 2hr bleaching process so if your hair is quite dry and damaged like this, results may not be as impressive compared to if your hair is a little healthier. I'm still keen to try Lush's other shampoo bars just to compare but if they don't really suit my hair needs, I would repurchase Godiva.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 1/30/2015 9:15:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I love LUSH's solid shampoo line. Godiva is my 3rd solid I've tried (I've previously loved Seanik, and felt "ehh" about squeaky green). I use it head to toe because the scent is so lovely, and I notice I don't use according to the website's instructions- I just lather it up in my hands a bit, put the bar down, and work with the lather in my hair (the website says to hold it in your hands and run it through your hair 3 times or something- I have short hair so it feels silly to do that). I don't really to "no shampoo" because I enjoy washing my hair (but I'm trying not to over-do it, no matter what product I am using), I shampoo about twice a week, and only using this product at that frequency works well for me, I can see how it might be a bit much if you used it every day. If you can get away with only a shampoo or two a week, this might be a great shampoo solid for you.

Regarding it melting: I don't keep it where the moisture can get directly to it, it lives in it's tin, on the ledge of the tub on the outside of the shower curtain. I don't put the lid on unless it's going in my gym bag for use in the shower in the changing room or something.


on 10/10/2014 6:24:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

I've repurchased this time and time again so since I'm on a LUSH review kick, I figured I might as well review this one too (even though it's not something I've bought recently). I use this more as a clarifying agent than a regular cleanser in my hair, as I'm trying to do the no-poo thing more often these days. You definitely get that squeaky-clean feeling with this one, but it's not as harsh as Seanik, which just totally killed my hair. When I use it as a shampoo, I make sure my hair is pretty darn dirty beforehand and then heavily condition afterwards or else I will be a frizzball.

However, I give this product five stars because of a) its wonderful smell, b) its longevity and c) its multi-functionality. I buy a lot based on scent and this is no exception -- it's heavenly. Better than any other shampoo I've used by far. I wish they made a corresponding conditioner so I could smell it all day.

Since I have to cover up this heavenly scent in my hair with my conditioner, I use this shampoo as a bar soap, too. It doesn't dry me out at all. It's a little hard to get a lather going, but it works.

I store it in a tin in my bathroom cabinet, lid left open for it to dry. I haven't had it melt from leaving it in the shower, because there is no place in my shower or tub to store things -- the tub has a round edge, and I hate the look of cluttery showers so I have a tiny shelf that only holds the stuff I need while I'm actively showering (and then it all gets put away). I did have Godiva melt in the car once, which was a bummer, but it was still usable afterward (just a weird, not-very-pretty shape).

Overall, I'm going to keep buying it until they come out with a liquid version, at which point I'll probably switch between the two. If they make a super-moisturizing conditioner with this scent I will buy a whole vat (OK, maybe just the largest container they sell).


on 9/13/2014 7:06:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Godiva is my first solid shampoo from Lush. Love the scent, but it's really inconvenient, once it is soaked wet, it just dissolves away, they said one piece can last for 80 washes? No way! At least not with this one. I tried to keep it dry, but it turned into a melting ice-cream, this can be quite annoying. Next time, it might be wise to chop it into small pieces and put them away, take one when you need it.

I wish they could make a liquid shampoo version of Godiva, this is the best smelling shampoo I've ever had, and don't want to quit using. Despite of all the inconvenience and complaints, I enjoy being intoxicated by this lovely jasmine scent, and I will buy it again. LOL

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/3/2014 10:01:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i've been using this product for 2 years now and im not going to stop using it anytime soon!
Pro's:
1)Smells divine
2) Works on dry hair
3) Lathers well (lather in your hand instead of directly rubbing the bar on your hair...you save more product)
4) cleans your hair well
5) NATURAL!

Con's:
1) shea butter chunks can be large....causing the bar to break as it thins
2) Hard to store...keep away from water and in a well drained spot

overall im very pleased with this product and will repurchase again and again and again <3


on 8/7/2014 5:30:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I like the solid shampoo idea, and I love lush, but for my dyed blond hair this was a NIGHTMARE!!!! don't use if your hair is dry at all! It will be breaking off.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I did a video on LUSH's dry shampoos because I was super impressed with two factors: they are PRESERVATIVE FREE (check the list of ingredients on a liquid shampoo - if the primary ingredient is water it can't make safely claim) and ECO-FRIENDLY - One solid shampoo bar equals three 8.8 oz liquid shampoo bottles and doesn't come with packaging for landfill.

Here is the vid I made:







Personally I am not anti-preservative (I deal with it on a case x case basis), but if buying preservative free is a priority for you - then I think these solid shampoos are more than lip service.

Here are some thoughts if you're on the fence about the product:

-You can't leave the dry shampoo in a soap dish with water. Remember, it doesn't have preservatives - and if your bar doesn't dissolve, you won't want it to have bacteria. If you think you're going to forget to do this, then this might not be the product for you.

-Don't hang onto a product like this beyond the expiration date. Again, there are no preservatives to help prevent it from getting bacteria as the product gets older and starts to collect moisture.

Personally, I have used both Godiva and Seanik. They tend to be my go to shampoo products when I travel.

Hopefully this helped!

B

Price as of : 6/14 $12.05
Packing: $3.95 if you want tin or nada if you want the product naked :D
Overall Rating: Gets mega points for being legit when it comes to preservative free and eco-conscious.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/17/2014 12:41:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Godiva's been a product that I tried in my journey through solid shampoos. My main issues with my hair, I need something that will clean all the product in it properly without drying it out. I have split ends and dryness in my locks. Godiva is definitely one of LUSH's more moisturizing options, though still not enough for me. It smells wonderful, an invigorating citrusy orange smell that is elevated by the jasmine. I wish they could bottle the scent! Godiva will clean your hair well, just like the other LUSH solid shampoos. But it seems like a common issue with dry hair and these shampoos, is they may not be moisturizing enough. I did find the fallout of the chunks inside the soap a bit annoying-it makes this shampoo less long lasting than the other solid shampoos from LUSH.


on 6/13/2014 11:50:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

My hair is slightly wavy, fine, but there's A LOT of it. If I don't condition then I will inevitably get awful tangles. With that being said, this shampoo is amazing! I love that it is a solid, so much easier to travel with. And it lasts forever! The last bar I had lasted me about 9 months and I wash my hair about every other day, sometimes longer if my head cooperates. With this bar, I have noticed about half way through day two my hair feels like I NEED to wash it. However, it is very moisturizing. I am still attempting to grow out my hair so I only get it cut every two months or longer, which means my ends can get awfully dry. I still use a conditioner after this, American Cream I can massage all over my hair or Retread on just my ends. And it even helps my hair curl! I look like I stepped out of a hair salon when my hair dries naturally after using this. Definitely a must try, just ask for a sample if you're nervous. Also, I would definitely get a tin! Or it also fits into the black jars :) I have mine in an old herbalism pot.


on 5/24/2014 11:21:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

It was a novelty product (solid shampoo!) for me and I loved that it was a 2-in-1. The smell was just so amazing and it left my room smelling great because I leave it out to dry.

However, I find that the shea butter doesn't really soak into my hair and made my hair look greasy even after I had just washed it. Maybe I will try some of the other shampoos by LUSH that doesn't contain the "moisturizing" element, but I will not be re-purchasing this.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

LUSH Cosmetics: Preservative Free Product Tour by msbeautyphile



Back to Top