Derma E • Pycnogenol Moisturizing Gel • Moisturizers

rated 2.8(19 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.36%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shazzar on 12/18/2012 10:43:00 PM more reviews by shazzar

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Purchased this as part of my seemingly never-ending quest to find a moisturizer that will provides adequate moisture while not clogging. This certainly fit the non-clogging bill but provided zero moisture, in fact it made my skin dehydrated and oilier than ever.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kissmeimacat on 8/8/2012 1:25:00 PM more reviews by kissmeimacat

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great moisturizer when my face feels a little oily, especially in the summer. it instantly absorbs and sometimes I apply another layer. It is light enough to use under make up and makes my skin feel super soft.

My trick is to shake it a little so there is some gel on the cap, and I scoop some off the top.

Even better... my boyfriend uses this! I'm glad to have something that he doesn't mind putting on his face as well. It's a battle to get him to use any creams or lotions.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ThatTallGirl on 2/12/2012 7:10:00 AM more reviews by ThatTallGirl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

I'm starting to wonder if the product might have changed? Reviews have gone from really bad to good over the years.. Suggestions?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* staci01 on 7/25/2011 10:40:00 PM more reviews by staci01

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Other    

Lovelovelovelove! I have oily skin and large pores that clog like crazy and have found that gel cleansers and moisturizers work best for me. This moisturizer is HG in a jar as it doesn't take much, 1/8 of a tsp, to moisturize my skin and keep it even looking. When I first used this I applied too much, 1/2 tsp., and it was too sticky and my skin got red around my nose a bit which is a sign my skin can't breathe. I then spritized my face with my HG toner, Aubrey Organics Vegecol Toner, and then applied the 1/8 tsp amount and it thinned it out and I woke without any issues. I've not tried this yet under makeup or SS so that's my next trial and error. So far though this is great for bedtime or if I'm working at home. I don't like that it comes in a jar and I really hope that derma e fixes this problem. Still though gel moisturizers that work for me are far and few between, the only other HG is zia herbal moisture gel, so I have to deal with this as it currently is. This is a great alternative to Garnier Moisture Rescue Gel cream. I used that recently and it broke my skin out horribly due to the silicones in it. This derma e cream contains no silicones and is the majority water and glycerine and aloe based. Very light and lets the skin breathe. Love this so much and will keep using as long as my skin gets along with it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 TracyD210 on 8/31/2010 12:40:00 AM more reviews by TracyD210

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

I see there have been many poor reviews for this product. I would recommend this product for people with oily skin only. I find this an amazing moisturizer and do not experience the "stickiness" others have described. I use the Pycnogenol toner first, let my skin rest, apply my topical treatment products, let my skin rest, and then apply this gel. I find standard lotions heavy and become shiny within minutes of the application. This is a great product to use under makeup, that also wards off shine to a moderate extent. I do have a concern about the glass jar packaging, as we have been taught that light can breakdown certain ingredients. Also, I do not like having to dip my fingers into the jar to get to the product. If you can find a store that carries this product though, I would highly recommend giving it a shot.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 goodnightluck on 6/11/2010 4:28:00 AM more reviews by goodnightluck

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this along with the pycnogenol toner. I have mild acne and combination, sensitive skin. I hate regular cream moisturizers, they always feel way too greasy so I was looking for something with a gel consistancy (which isn't an easy task). Unfortunately there aren't many on the market, but I came across this product and on a whim, decided to give it a try despite the high price tag. I paid around $50 for both the toner and the gel.

Toner: Soothing, love that it has no fragrance or drying alcohol. Doesn't burn or sting upon application. Does it work? Not that I can tell. Pores are the same and doesn't really even skin tone from what I can tell. Maybe takes away some redness, but very little.

Moisturizing Gel: Great consistancy, non-greasy, non-irritating. This is perfectly moisturizing for me, but a lot of people probably would still feel like they had dry skin after applying this. I feel like it has been getting rid of some fine lines, especially around my eyes. It feels very soothing around the eyes by the way and seems to de-puff them a bit (with slight massaging). Has improved my mild acne, but not by very much. Does not really get rid of redness as it claims to do. Has however, made my skin smoother and less ruff. I had a dry patch right above my eyebrow and it got rid of it with consistant use.

Anyways, hope this review helps someone.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 blueiris on 4/2/2010 5:36:00 PM more reviews by blueiris

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I have extremely oily skin, enlarged pores, blackheads and breakouts (ugh!). I've been using this gel for about two weeks and it is fantastic! After applying, it takes much longer than usual for my skin to look like an oil slick. The breakouts are gone, and the blackheads and pores look smaller. The only thing that could be improved is the packaging-it comes in a jar so you have to stick your fingers into the gel. A pump bottle would be better. I am stocking up on several jars so I never run out!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tavi on 3/31/2008 9:26:00 PM more reviews by tavi

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This gel was not bad, but not extraordinary either.I didn't like dipping my fingers in the jar and I am wondering if the packaging will keep the ingredients at their full strenght...Other than that, it didn't irritate my sensitive, acne prone skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 NICKAPOO on 3/13/2008 10:11:00 PM more reviews by NICKAPOO

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I'm surprised by the poor reviews on this product. It is one of the few anti-aging products on the market that is suitable for oily skin and blemishes. For those post 50 ladies like myself who battle wrinkles but who never fully recovered from the teenage acne stage, this is one of the few options out there. It's gentle and good for sensitive skin and a wonderful eye gel. I wear contact lenses and it's great for those who do.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 biscotte on 1/24/2008 10:59:00 AM more reviews by biscotte

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I totally LOVE the pycnogenol gel.
I use retin-a micro for adult acne ( i am 31 years old) . Although retin-a is great to control my acne it leaves my skin very sensitive, red and flaky. I was looking for a great moisturizer that wouldn't break me out and would help with the redness. Pycnogenol gel is perfect for that. It is light, it absorbs into my skin very quickly and doesnt leave any greasy or sticky film behind.

I dont think it would cure acne on it's own, but it works wonder to counteract the redness your acne medication leaves behind.

So i think it is GREAT for dry sensitive acne prone skin. It is also anti-aging, so for me it is the PERFECT product for my skin type.
I also love the fragrance-free pycnogenol cleanser.
(The toner was too irritating!)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Derma E products

More Moisturizers products