Olay Total Effects Anti Aging Anti Blemish Cleanser

3.9

158 reviews

73% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Salicylic Acid (2%) (acne treatment) Inactive Ingredients: Water, PPG 15 Stearyl Ether, Glycerin, Stearyl Alcohol, Cetyl Betaine, Distearyldimonium Chloride, Sodium Lauryl Sulfate, Oxidized Polyethylene, Cetyl Alcohol, Steareth 21, Behenyl Alcohol, PPG 30, Steareth 2, Fragrance, Disodium EDTA


on 1/5/2014 1:49:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I ran out of cleaner so bought this from a drugstore close to my house. Price is ok. It's really drying if you have sensitive skin like me. In terms of dryness, think of dish washing liquid with a better smell and this is it.

After using it for 3-4 days (i wash my face twice a day -morning and nite) i started developing dry patches around my left cheek and around my lips.

I usually use Eucerin cleansing gel. it's much better i will be going back to that.

Pros:
Ok if u have nothing else to wash your face with.

Cons:
If you have sensitive skin like me... definitely too drying.



on 7/8/2013 7:30:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have oily skin and when I bought this cleanser, I was on the lookout for an anti-aging cleanser with blemish control because I was still breaking out occasionally but wanted to fight aging as well. So I went online and after reading some reviews, decided that I would try this cleanser for my skin. Well, the cleansing part of it is alright, really no complaints. But, as far as it being a blemish controlling cleanser, I didn't see much of that. I used it for weeks and it didn't really change my break outs at all. Since then I started using the proactiv cleansing bar on my face and I love it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/9/2013 4:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

A couple of years ago this was the closest quality BHA I could find In my area.
The pH and percentage of the BHA are not in the right amount to work. The BHA would not be able to stay on long enough to make a difference before being washed down the drain and the detergents should not stay on your skin too long anyway. It is also creamy wich might not be good for someone with acne prone skin.


on 2/1/2013 1:46:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This product made me break out worse and is very harsh on my skin...you can even smell the chemicals in it.. not fun!! :(


on 12/24/2012 9:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Apparently some products works for others and some just...don't. This product is gonna have to fall into the "don't " category for me. It didn't really fight breakouts as much as I thought it would.


on 11/12/2012 11:20:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I was hoping this product would help with my acne but this product caused me to break out with HUGE cystic acne all over my chin and forehead and I never break out on my forehead. When using this cleanser you definitely have to use a makeup remover before using this cleanser. I had to wash my face multiple times just to remove my foundation.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/7/2012 12:03:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Other, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I have to add before my review: I also learned that I break out badly to propylene glycol and cyclops. I also do get bumps no matter what. So while I do remember this product helping me and making my skin look nice, I also was probably using other products that were breaking me out. I also don't know if this made the bumps worse on it's own or if it's just me. I'm tempted to try again but also tempted to not. I didn't notice dryness though, I thought my skin looked pretty radiant when using this, just battling a lot of bumps, as usual.

I picked this up because of this site and recommendations and I used it for years. I really liked it at first and saw results. It made my skin soft and I didn't have any barrier issues or over drying like I had later on. I went back and forth with it for a while and also had concens about salicylic acid but in the end I think it's just my skin. So I haven't been using it lately but it was one of the more gentle ones that I did like. However, in a way I liked it's gentle creaminess, but I worry about using this again with my sensitive/clog prone skin. Currently I use the Olay Foaming Sensitive wash.

For a while I thought this was discontinued, but I'm seeing it again. But it's the same as Olay Age Defying Classic Cleanser. I just realized. EXACT same ingredient list. The amounts may be a little different as the Age Defy cleanser is a bit thinner and has less beads. Both are creamy and not greasy. I thought they would be more similar but I actually liked this one more.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 10/15/2012 9:22:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is for the Olay blemish control cleanser with salacylic acid. I'm assuming this was the old version of the cleanser and Olay had improved it. LADIES: you need to try this. I do not have the worst skin, but it is to the point where I was trying new products and only irritating my skin, which created new acne and scarring. I bought this with very low expections OHMYGOSH it is amazing. Just 3 days after using, my under the skin pimples are GONE. my skin is softer and definitely improving. the cream in the formula is gentle and non drying. my skin loves this and if you are on the last straw with your pimples you should pick this up. i really recommend purchasing this with the Olay thermal mini peel. using those together will help your skin, not irritate. the mini peel is expensive but worth it. good luck!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/8/2012 1:57:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I love this stuff, since I've started using it I haven't only gotten 2 blemishes since, and for me? that's a huge improvement. whenever I am using this, and I can feel a cystic pimple under my skin I can almost guarentee within 2 days it'll be diminished and not even come to the surface, and it dries out whiteheads and brings them to a head so much quicker.
the only problem for me is that it doesn't really help with acne scars, or does so very slowly.
but overall I love this and I will continue to repurchase, even though I am 19


on 9/7/2012 1:27:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I was having a major breakout when I bought this product. I can say that it has done it's job so far, my breakout is fading day by day. It doesn't overdry my face, so of course the breakout didn't dry up overnight because that would have been an awful, flaky nightmare. I was skeptical at first because it doesn't foam up and it feels kind of slimy and gritty at the same time. BUT it takes off all my makeup, even waterproof mascara and leaves my skin feeling clean but not tight. I love it, end of story :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top