NYX • Jumbo Eye Shadow Pencil - Slate • Eye Shadow

rated 4.3(39 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.82%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 nikhe on 5/1/2013 9:36:00 AM more reviews by nikhe

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

NYX do some really great products! i love this eye shadow pencil.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* missmanic on 2/24/2013 8:43:00 PM more reviews by missmanic

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have oily lids, and even with a primer (UDPP, TFSI, Paint Pots) underneath, this creases on me. And that's setting it with a powder shadow. I don't have this problem with Milk, I can wear that without a primer and my eyeshadow lasts all day. Slate is just too emollient to work on my lids. I'll stick to Sharkskin or Blacktrack for smokey eye bases.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jasmiin28 on 10/27/2012 10:28:00 PM more reviews by Jasmiin28

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

It is amazing, I had tried one about 3 years ago, but being only 15 I didin;t really like it... Just tried it out again about a week ago and I cant stop using it... Love it!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xxSprinkleMePinkxx on 1/31/2012 2:59:00 PM more reviews by xxSprinkleMePinkxx

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this pencil months ago and never had a need to use it. But now that I pulled it from the back of my makeup drawer I can't believe I hadn't utilized it sooner. With the product I created a gorgeuos smokey eye using the W&W palette in LUST. I just applied a little bit of the pencil directly on my lid on smoothed it out with a synthetic brush. (It smoothed out beautifully btw). Then I patted the greyish blue shade on top with a brush and blended the different purples in the palette throughout the crease. Of course, I used a primer underneath. My lids are too oily to get away w/o applying a primer. The ease of use from this pencil inspired to purchase a few more colors since Ulta is having b1g1 50% off.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* addied on 11/16/2011 10:39:00 AM more reviews by addied

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love NYX eyeliners but the shade was a little hard to work with. In the end, I just use it for special effect styled looks.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cratsky on 8/19/2011 11:53:00 PM more reviews by cratsky

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I've only recently started using these products and am already starting to build a collection. Its very creamy, does not pull against my eyelid upon application and having monolids, it's super convenient when I'm in a rush.

A sweep of iced mocha over the entire lid, with a dark grey or brown shadow to the crease and I am good to go for work. It has cut my application time by quite a bit. It takes me 2 minutes for me to do my eye make up now and I get compliments all the time. That cost/benefit alone is reason to buy this product! =)

At first, I was a little turned off by the 'jumbo' nature of the product as I did not understand how you could get much control from something like this but it's not meant to be used for precise application. I consider this more like a coloured eye primer for the lids. As the product isn't readily sold in Australia, I've managed to find a few good sellers on ebay where it is priced $3 each and $2 international postage from USA. I absolutely recommend this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SkullGlitter on 7/30/2011 9:26:00 PM more reviews by SkullGlitter

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I like the NYX jumbo eyeshadow pencils, but I'm not sure I'd buy this exact color again. It's a decent grey but I would rather use Black Bean or Milk for monochrome looks. It's mostly just greyish shimmer leftover with any smudging. It's alright for the waterline, but I prefer other jumbo pencils or Tigi or Urban Decay pencil liners.

I have issues with the packaging. The lid tends to slide down the stick and squish the product sticking out the top and cracking from the bottom up. I wish there was a lip on the inside of the lid to keep the top from squishing the product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pjw1209 on 4/26/2011 4:52:00 AM more reviews by pjw1209

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Slate is a great pencil for evening wear. It's much to dark for me during the day. I use Pots & Pans for daytime. I love how my eyeshadow has so much more depth when I wear the jumbo pencils. I would buy more if I could find a website that can accurately portray the colors. The nearest location with NYX is over 30 miles away and I don't feel like wasting gas for a $3.00 pencil.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jessmoberry on 3/19/2011 8:17:00 PM more reviews by Jessmoberry

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

There are no words for how happy I am to have come across this product. I'm not very big into makeup - I usually only wear liner, concealer and powder - but since finding these jumbo pencils, my curiosity has been piqued. The Slate color isn't too blue, nor is it a neutral gray... it suits cool-toned skin very nicely. It stays put and takes a few hours before it'll start fading. I do sometimes notice that it'll crease, but this only happens when I wear a lot of it - if I apply it like a liner and then smudge it outward over the lid, there's no creasing to speak of. The price is great, the color is great, it applies super easily (no tugging) and lasts a fair amount of time. I'm definitely a fan.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SuzanneDee on 3/9/2011 3:56:00 PM more reviews by SuzanneDee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Yes, they're cheap.
Yes, they're creamier than warm butter.
Yes, they're pigmented.
Yes, they crease like crazy.
But that's only if you wear a thick layer over your whole eyelid without a primer. I powder my lids to blot excess oil, fill in the lid with a light layer and blend it slightly with my fingertip and it stays on for 5 hours or longer. When I'm wearing a powder eyeshadow over it, it stays for 5 hours too.
TIP: I'm NC 40 with lots of dark circles and didn't know what to do with my MAC Greensmoke Shadow, which looked beautiful on the back of my hand but like sewage on my eyes. With Slate as a base on the lids (and the Jumbo in Milk just over the crease) Greensmoke looks shiny, multidimensional, sophisticated and wearable for the evening. The Slate base deepens the green, the Milk lightens it. I'm going to try this out with my other shadows.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NYX products

More Eye Shadow products