Skinceuticals C E Ferulic

3.7

277 reviews

65% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Ethoxydiglycol, 15% L-Ascorbic Acid, Propylene Glycol, Glycerin, Laureth-23, 1% Alpha Tocopherol, Phenoxyethanol, Triethanolamine, 0.5% Ferulic Acid, Panthenol, Sodium Hyaluronate


on 6/11/2015 7:40:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I had beautiful skin before using this product but I wanted something to help prevent future sun damage and protect my skin as it ages. After two weeks of sees my skin looks worse then I have ever seen it; red/brown spots and patches all over my chin. I went to the dermatologist and am now using an RX cream to try and clear it up. If you want to ruin your skin this is the product too do it. The product was very sticky and I found it impossible to use under makeup and ended up wearing it at night.



on 6/8/2015 11:13:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I tried to make my own vitamin C serum but that was on the sticky side (due to the glycerin) and it did not produce results. Also, I did not check the PH value of it so I will have to pay attention to that if I do try to DIY again. I also tried a few, cheaper vitamin C products over the paste couple of years and I did not see much improvement. This one is working to provide a clarity to my skin the others did not. I can't say that it has lightened my sun spots (I think retin-a does a better job on them than anything else for me) but it really has helped with an overall clarity. I won't say "glow" and my getting older skin just does not glow anymore but it is almost like it is illuminating it somehow...Another reviewer nailed the smell (and taste if you get it on your lips) on the head and they were right - it totally smells like bologna! Not pleasant but it does bring back some childhood, sandwich memories for me. The consistency is runny like many vit c products but easy enough to apply.
I really wish this was less expensive and I can only guess with time and research a less expensive product that provides the same results can be found but until I find it, and as long as I can afford it, I will buy this. Now I see what all the vitamin c fuss is all about.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This product is overpriced, over hyped and IMO garbage. I've been using this for almost 3 months and just now figured out its what has made a mess of my skin. I had small acne bumps on my forehead, neck and chest (I put my skincare products on my chest/neck). I blamed my forehead on makeup and the bumps on my chest on my body wash. What an idiot!! Literally after ONE night of not using this serum I woke up with a clear forehead and my neck and chest have minimal bumps!! Bingo. I'm going to try Paula's Choice next, heard good things about her stuff. Anyway... IMO stay clear of this crap unless you are ok with playing the chance with possibly breaking out!


on 6/2/2015 8:19:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown


I got a few samples of this! Used as the 1st layer after cleansing this made my skin very tacky which made using my moisturizer over it difficult. It has an unpleasant sugary smell which annoys me a lot. The color of the serum changes within a few days after 1st opening it that despite company's claim DOES affect the effectiveness of product from a scientifically chemical standpoint!!! It is the most obvious thing that vit c oxidizes when exposed to air so if used in skin care it MUST be offered in appropriate packaging (pump applicator in this case) or it loses its effectiveness! It did absolutely nothing of improvement to my skin after almost 2 months of regular use! For a whopping price of 155.00EUR, this product is a big fail if not scam! The company's genius PR has done a brilliant job in getting it to the top list of skin care products and of course the famous bloggers, youtubers, journalists etc by getting money to hype it!


on 5/24/2015 8:03:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Green

This is by far the best antioxidant serum I've tried. For a more glowing effect I add Clarins Beauty Flash Balm once this one has sinked in and at least SPF 30. Even helped with dark circles, even though it's not maybe a good idea to use on that area on a regular basis


on 2/21/2015 4:11:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I have used this product for at least 8-10 years (perhaps more). I believe it keeps my face clear and free of age spots, brown spots and freckles. I was practically born with freckles but I don't have any freckles since I have been using C E Ferulic. This is one product that works like it is supposed to. I love it and feel like I couldn't live without it! I use it once daily in the AM under my sunscreen. I keep the main vial in the refrigerator for freshness. Freshness is very important with this product. I won't use it if it turns dark yellow. I try not to expose the serum to light and transfer it into little sample vials to use one at a time. I only order from authorized retailers to ensure that the product is genuine. The scent is distinctive--smells like hotdogs, but I don't mind. I have never broken out from using it and it has never irritated my skin. I use this in addition to a very good mineral sunscreen and also take supplements (Heliocare) to protect my skin from the sun's damaging rays. I also eat a lot of lycopene and dark berries which are suppose to have skin protecting properties. Even a small amount of dark chocolate is supposed to help protect skin from the sun. I try to incorporate external and internal ways to protect my skin from UVB/UVA light. I am a product junkie and constantly trying new things but this is one serum I never want to be without.

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.


on 2/11/2015 5:30:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

My skin regime have mostly consisted of sunscreen at day,retinol and a serum a night.
With fair skin prone to sun damage, an addition of ce feurolic under my moisturizer with spf, seemed like a good way to add more protection from the suns damaging rays.
I have som dark spots on my cheek bones, and after almost 8 months on retinol i hardly noticed any difference. Hence my surpise when the ce feurolic first startet to brighten my skin, and then my sunspots were starting to diminish. My under eye circles also seems less dark

Will buy again. Would prefer a pump bottle

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 2/5/2015 4:20:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

expensive but worth it. one of the few products that actually works. found it at my esthetician. I like the products from my esthetician better than anything from the store.


on 1/3/2015 12:09:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I was gifted a bottle of this to me from a dermatologist I had befriended.

Here is what I like about Skinceuticals C E Ferulic:

-Grade A ingredients. This isn't full of useless fillers. All of the ingredients are scientifically proven to work.
-Annnnd since the ingredients are proven to work, this is an effective product. It *should* fade sunspots/acne scars, smooth wrinkles over a bit, and prevent your skin from accumulating more sun damage.

I would reccomend this to anyone with dry skin and NOT acne prone. That was my biggest issue with C E Ferulic serum... it contains vitamin E as a main ingredient. I get that vitamin E is effective at healing skin, but why must so many cosmetic companies put it in their products? Vitamin E leaves a tacky moist film on the skin that will clog *most* acne prone customers.

I broke out using this. I knew as I applied this that my face would errupt like a volcano. It left such a gross film on my skin I felt as if my pores couldn't breath from the get go. But I never learn my lesson, do I?

Anyways, I applied the rest of the bottle to my neck area where I do not get clogged pores or an abundance of oil production. While my neck does feel smoother and I haven't had any sun spots show up, I don't think I would repurchase this for that purpose alone.

Edited to add: My bottle turned quicker than any other vitamin c serum I have ever had. Literally within weeks it went from being a light yellowish clear hue to medium orange. I googled around and found this is still good....... until it turns to a dark red. Just wanted to add this in since it's a common occurrence. Storing it in the fridge in a dark, cool spot should help prolong the longevity of your bottle.

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 12/8/2014 7:23:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This product for sure brightens up the face as soon as you use it. But as far for me, I had terrible cystic acne after using this.

But once you stop using this, your skin goes too dull. I think that was the reason people have to hold on to it forever and they say they cant live with out it.

My feeling is it is making you depend on it, but it does not improve your skin. This is just my skin. May be this worked great for others.


Popular Treatments (Face)


Sudocrem
139 Reviews
Lemon Juice
399 Reviews
Back to Top