NYX • jumbo eye shadow pencil-black bean • Eyes

rated 3.5(97 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.59%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 sallyb123456 on 12/19/2013 6:49:00 PM more reviews by sallyb123456

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

good base for eyeshadows but will crease to an extent even with udpp.use as eyeliner too. lovely rich creamy black.love it in milk too

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jenhaas504 on 6/10/2013 5:40:00 PM more reviews by Jenhaas504

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this to use as a think eyeliner, I ended up not really liking it that way, however I found a really great use for it....I use the gel eyeliner on my water line and then put this crayon/pencil over the top of it an it stays so much better. It's a cheap product I def will keep around

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AzurLove on 5/26/2013 3:26:00 AM more reviews by AzurLove

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Dark   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I think this is a must-have for smokey eye looks. It's a great base for black shadows especially - helps them POP. I always apply UDPP before putting this on to help prevent creasing. The downside to this is that it can smudge everywhere and get messy because of the creaminess. I always have my concealer handy when I use this. I first dab the pencil onto my eyelid. Then I use a dome brush to spread and even it out. After this, I use a blending brush to smooth out the edges and a concealer to define them. Now I can continue apply the rest of my shadows. It takes a little bit of work, but the end result is always fabulous. I think this is a great product overall.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 next1 on 11/1/2012 11:23:00 PM more reviews by next1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I have about a million and one uses for this pencil, so im suprised a lot of people hate it or cant find uses for it. First of yes u need a primer but... I put a primer under everything that goes on my eyes! Anyway the main way I use this is as a base under any eyeshadow that I want to give an extra layer of depth or smokiness to. Seriously play with this color on your hand put a sparkly pink, or a matte lime green or an ocean blue over it and you will see what im talking about. I also use this as an eyeline, not straight from the pencil because it is jumbo, so I use an angled eyeliner brush. And last but not least I use this as a very rock and roll dont give a sh*t smokey eye. Yes I still use a primer but this pencil has a nice sheen to it that looks lovely for that look and while I dont find too many issues with creasing whatever creasing I do get just fits into that look perfectly and all I do is layer and smudge, layer smudge and layer and smudge again, take the pencil and go underneath the eye and smudge that add falsies and voila glam rock in 5 min. Explore your options with the tools you have ladies, you may just find you love a product you once hated or that everyone else hates. Good luck!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Aliciaschulz26 on 10/13/2012 9:06:00 PM more reviews by Aliciaschulz26

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

OBSESSED! I got this product for a base for a black classic smokey and it's perfect. It's soo easy to blend. It has a great color and build able color. It also keeps shadows going over it on all day so great base. And really shows off the colors used with it. I in love.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SimpleNSexy on 5/19/2012 12:19:00 AM more reviews by SimpleNSexy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Quick smokey eye must have
Price: $7 CAD
Colour: soft black
Finish: crème
Pigmentation: full
Texture: buttery

So for a super quick and easy smokey eye, I apply this along my top and bottom lashline, smudge them out with fingers, top it with silver e/s and put dark grey in the crease.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kpsocal on 5/4/2012 5:00:00 PM more reviews by kpsocal

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE this pencil for my water line!! I was previously using the regular NYX eyeliner pencil but sometimes my eyelids wouldn't grasp the color. I don't know how to explain it but I would have patches on some areas where the liner wouldn't stay and no matter how many times I would go over it I couldn't fix it.. Well I don't have that problem anymore now that I switched to this pencil. I love it for that and it lasts a long time on my waterline, it doesn't run down as quick as other I've tried. I just wish it was in a regular pencil form but other than that it's great!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 minkalover on 2/20/2012 5:23:00 AM more reviews by minkalover

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

My makeup routine would not be complete without NYX Black Bean. I use this product every single day. This is what I use for eyeliner. I apply a L'oreal pencil first, then I use this on my water line. It literally lasts all day long. I could not make it without this product! Better than any eyeliner out there.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ascatterheart on 12/26/2011 4:22:00 AM more reviews by ascatterheart

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Great base for smokey eyes - it never creased on me.
I sometimes use it as eyeliner on top of which I apply an eyeshadow.
Not a big fan of the packaging, as it tends to get messy, but that's not a big problem.

Would buy again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pinkfrost52 on 10/23/2011 5:33:00 PM more reviews by pinkfrost52

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Good base for smokey eyes, but it creases on me unless I wear the Urban Decay Primer Potion underneath and apply a thin layer of the jumbo eye pencil on top. By thin, I really do mean thin! Too thick and even set with shadow on top, it will crease sometimes. Very pigmented and has a matte finish. Good universal shade for many smokey eye looks.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NYX products

More Eyes products