Deborah Lippmann Rehydrating Base Coat

4.1

16 reviews

68% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

this base coat does seem to hydrate my nails. it does not perform well under nail polish. it has a glossy finish and i feel that the nail color does not adhere too well and so the manicure doesnt last long. it is great to use on its own, i even apply it every other day to hydrate my nails on a week where i give my nails a break. and if you dont need your nail color to last for more than 3 days, this is a healthier base coat option. so, it does what it claims to do...hydrate!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 2/21/2012 2:43:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Oh my god, this base coat seriously damaged my nails. My nails were perfectly fine before I used this product. It's been more than a month since I used it underneath Across the Universe polish by DL, but my nails are still split and peeling everyday. I cannot touch fabrics like silk or handle tights and stockings beacause the split nail ends catch on and tear them. The nails also have a dried up appearance and a red tone since i used this base coat. This has to be one of the worst products I've ever bought. I feel so tainted.


on 10/25/2011 11:39:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Do NOT buy this as a base coat. As a base coat, you would do much better with just about any other base coat out there. This did nothing to preserve my manicure, not even my pedicure (which seems to endure a lot even with sub-par products). When I applied a regular base coat over it, it caused my nail polish to peel off. As a re-hydrating treatment - who knows?! Cuticle cream or oil is better than this.


on 10/20/2011 8:45:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I bought this product based on the other reviews, but I have been very disappointed with my purchase. I gave it a two because it does feel as though my nails are strengthened, but as a base coat it was terrible. Whenever I put this under a nail polish, my nail polish would maybe last 2 days before chipping. The worst part is that it doesn't even really chip, but huge flakes seem to come off. The third time I tried using it, the second day I had no nail polish on my index finger. The entire polish on that nail apparently peeled off in the span of 10 minutes from when I last noticed it on. To make it even worse, I couldn't find it. Hopefully my male roommate doesn't stumble on it and think it's my actual nail.

Pros: Appears to strengthen nail. No nail colour appears to bleed into the nail. Dries quickly.
Cons: Flakes off within a day or two.

I'll continue using this until the bottle is done, but as a solo coat alone. I won't be repurchasing. Far too expensive for a "base coat" that I can only use alone.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/23/2011 11:30:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

lippmann is the best nail color ever!!


on 2/6/2011 9:24:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

I did absolutely everything recommended to prevent my nails from peeling (wore gloves when doing dishes, filed in one direction with a glass file, slathered on creams and oils daily, etc.), and yet my nails still peeled weekly until I started using Deborah Lippmann Rehydrating Base Coat in addition to doing all those things. After much experimenting, I've found that a coat of Rehydrating Base Coat directly on my nails before using my regular sticky base coat keeps my nails healthy and peel-free. This base coat is quite pricey at $16 a bottle, but I haven't found anything that actually helps with peeling nails so I gladly pay $16.


on 1/18/2011 11:02:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I have had issues with peeling nails and this product has made a difference for me. I have used thus the last few manicures and no peeling. It seems to extend my color as well because I am not peeling. It is pricey, but I have not been disappointed.


on 4/15/2010 10:25:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Cool

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love this for my dry nails. I have seen a difference in my nails. NO more peeling or splitting.


on 3/21/2010 1:35:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

okay. generally i am fanatical about all things lippmann...but their aloe vera base coat is nothing special to me. it does it's job...it's not a ridge filler and it is moderately sticky so it holds the colour well...but it's not particularly hydrating or strengthening. i'd save my money for a different basecoat


on 8/1/2009 11:23:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is an awesome base coat. Polish goes on smoothly over it, and my manicure lasts longer than with other base coats. Will repurchase.




Back to Top