Deborah Lippmann • Rehydrating Base Coat • Top/Base Coats

rated 4.1(16 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* wickedcoolmama on 8/24/2012 4:02:00 PM more reviews by wickedcoolmama

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

this base coat does seem to hydrate my nails. it does not perform well under nail polish. it has a glossy finish and i feel that the nail color does not adhere too well and so the manicure doesnt last long. it is great to use on its own, i even apply it every other day to hydrate my nails on a week where i give my nails a break. and if you dont need your nail color to last for more than 3 days, this is a healthier base coat option. so, it does what it claims to do...hydrate!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 geenie215 on 2/21/2012 2:43:00 PM more reviews by geenie215

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Oh my god, this base coat seriously damaged my nails. My nails were perfectly fine before I used this product. It's been more than a month since I used it underneath Across the Universe polish by DL, but my nails are still split and peeling everyday. I cannot touch fabrics like silk or handle tights and stockings beacause the split nail ends catch on and tear them. The nails also have a dried up appearance and a red tone since i used this base coat. This has to be one of the worst products I've ever bought. I feel so tainted.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 kbabyd on 10/25/2011 11:39:00 AM more reviews by kbabyd

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Do NOT buy this as a base coat. As a base coat, you would do much better with just about any other base coat out there. This did nothing to preserve my manicure, not even my pedicure (which seems to endure a lot even with sub-par products). When I applied a regular base coat over it, it caused my nail polish to peel off. As a re-hydrating treatment - who knows?! Cuticle cream or oil is better than this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 leslielgc on 10/20/2011 8:45:00 PM more reviews by leslielgc

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I bought this product based on the other reviews, but I have been very disappointed with my purchase. I gave it a two because it does feel as though my nails are strengthened, but as a base coat it was terrible. Whenever I put this under a nail polish, my nail polish would maybe last 2 days before chipping. The worst part is that it doesn't even really chip, but huge flakes seem to come off. The third time I tried using it, the second day I had no nail polish on my index finger. The entire polish on that nail apparently peeled off in the span of 10 minutes from when I last noticed it on. To make it even worse, I couldn't find it. Hopefully my male roommate doesn't stumble on it and think it's my actual nail.

Pros: Appears to strengthen nail. No nail colour appears to bleed into the nail. Dries quickly.
Cons: Flakes off within a day or two.

I'll continue using this until the bottle is done, but as a solo coat alone. I won't be repurchasing. Far too expensive for a "base coat" that I can only use alone.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hair4wear on 3/23/2011 11:30:00 PM more reviews by hair4wear

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

lippmann is the best nail color ever!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pocky on 2/6/2011 9:24:00 PM more reviews by pocky

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I did absolutely everything recommended to prevent my nails from peeling (wore gloves when doing dishes, filed in one direction with a glass file, slathered on creams and oils daily, etc.), and yet my nails still peeled weekly until I started using Deborah Lippmann Rehydrating Base Coat in addition to doing all those things. After much experimenting, I've found that a coat of Rehydrating Base Coat directly on my nails before using my regular sticky base coat keeps my nails healthy and peel-free. This base coat is quite pricey at $16 a bottle, but I haven't found anything that actually helps with peeling nails so I gladly pay $16.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lulucakes on 1/18/2011 11:02:00 PM more reviews by Lulucakes

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I have had issues with peeling nails and this product has made a difference for me. I have used thus the last few manicures and no peeling. It seems to extend my color as well because I am not peeling. It is pricey, but I have not been disappointed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 efrazier on 4/15/2010 10:25:00 AM more reviews by efrazier

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this for my dry nails. I have seen a difference in my nails. NO more peeling or splitting.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sara99 on 3/21/2010 1:35:00 PM more reviews by sara99

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

okay. generally i am fanatical about all things lippmann...but their aloe vera base coat is nothing special to me. it does it's job...it's not a ridge filler and it is moderately sticky so it holds the colour well...but it's not particularly hydrating or strengthening. i'd save my money for a different basecoat

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* juicy70 on 8/1/2009 11:23:00 PM more reviews by juicy70

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is an awesome base coat. Polish goes on smoothly over it, and my manicure lasts longer than with other base coats. Will repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Deborah Lippmann products

More Top/Base Coats products