Serge Lutens • Datura Noir • Fragrances

rated 3.7(121 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.52%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* zeynepd on 7/6/2013 4:19:00 PM more reviews by zeynepd

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

A huge dollop of cream sprinkled with coconut and decorated with tropical flowers.

Such are the top notes of Datura Noir, blending delicious gourmand notes with glamorous exotic flowers. This isn’t the first time my nose witnesses this kind of a melange from Serge Lutens. On my skin, a relatively newer fragrance from the house, Un Lys, takes a similar approach, albeit muter. Datura Noir, on the other hand, is big – even though it’s not dark or noir.

The first couple of times I sampled it, I mostly got coconutty tuberose as big as the giant flowers of Guerlain’s exotic island queen, Mayotte. Soon, I started to notice the delicious and comforting milky, almondy, vanillic, creamy notes that I find irresistable when they come from Serge Lutens. I think this combination makes Datura Noir a good choice not only for summer evenings but also for cold winters.

Unfortunately, once the heart settles, the scent becomes considerably thinner, perhaps too floral sweet with a slightly tired osmanthus. Gourmand notes show their amicable faces from time to time but the scent isn't as coherent as it used to be. The drydown is a fade out.

I had no idea what Datura smellt like until I sampled Maitre Parfumeur et Gantier's Secrete Datura and then that familiar, slightly lemony, ethereal smell hit me. I don't get that from Datura Noir.

It's pleasant, it definitely attracts attention and I even got compliments when I wore it. I recommend sampling it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mysterious_scent on 1/30/2013 5:28:00 PM more reviews by mysterious_scent

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have smelt the real flower. This is the Datura in a bottle, not tuberose, although I believe tuberose is used to construct the scent. The top notes are heady, slightly green with a metallic edge, followed by a huge coconut note. I also smell almond and some rasins. The overall affect is very buttery.

Lasting power is poor, gone in less than 2 hours.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 YoHarajuku on 12/7/2012 11:27:00 AM more reviews by YoHarajuku

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm confused by the reviews who say this is a realy strong fragrance. Is it possible for someones skin to soak up a scent?! :) Thats exactly what happens with me, even with a heavy spray on the wrists I have to sniff hard to pick up anything. From what I can smell its a balanced perfume: perfect for night or day, office or play, not to young not to old, pretty but not girly. I'll try it again future to see if I get the same effect as before.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Necrobella on 6/12/2012 4:02:00 PM more reviews by Necrobella

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Im not fond of floral or white flower based perfumes. I generally much prefer the scent of ancient rituals, smoke curls from burning resin, and other fragrances evocative of odalisques languishing on brocade cushions or shadowy cathedrals, tempered with a little vanilla or something warm and gourmand. Burning incense and baking cakes. That said, I think Serge Lutens Datura noir is lovely, and Im beginning to wonder if any Serge Lutens perfume can truly be bad. I would classify Datura noir as a gothic floral and if I were going to wear one for any reason, this would be it. I think perhaps the hint of myrrh makes it more pleasing to me, and in that regard it reminds me a little of a floral version of Annick Goutals Myrrhe Ardente. It seems beautifully blended, and my inexperienced nose doesnt detect any one particular scent from the dry down aside from an overall hint of myrrh and white flowers. To me, the fragrance is very reminiscent of the classic old floral oriental perfumes in their vintage bottles that I have of my grandmothers, which I treasure and sneak a whiff from every now and then. Haunting and ever so slightly poisonous, Datura noir may put you under it's spell. Personally, I will not be buying a full bottle, but I intend to keep a decant on hand. I think it would be lovely for a romantic dinner or a fancy brunch. It is a scent for a sophisticated woman in stockings and heels and perfectly applied lipstick, who may have spent a night or two once in a faraway seraglio, unbeknownst to her handsome dinner companion.


Notes from www.luckyscent.com: myrrh, bitter almond, tonka bean, musk, osmanthus, heliotrope, mandarin, lemon blossom, tuberose, vanilla, coconut, apricot

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kerriki on 3/30/2012 3:41:00 AM more reviews by kerriki

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This started out as my favorite SL in the export bottles. I still love dousing myself in its almost satirical tropic/coconut/beach oil scent.
The thing is, I wonder how many 'fumes used this aroma in the past? It would not surprise me if SL was in the vanguard.
I sprayed it this morning, on a late, humid, dying summer day with a lot of cu-nim (thunderstorm) uplift from early morning. The whole day I just got a waft of coconutty tuberose, just perfect. Many frags pair tuberose and coconut, but this one hits the spot.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tessture on 3/4/2012 12:14:00 PM more reviews by tessture

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

White flowers and evergreen medication, maybe lily in there? Hmmm. Very eh. Dries to Liddle Kiddle pink flowers in the end and just cloys. Nothing here I like overmuch, certainly none of the lovely listed notes really comes up for me. Sad.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 hippiepippie on 10/24/2011 7:46:00 PM more reviews by hippiepippie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I don't understand this Serge Lutens perfume either. The others I don't understand are Arabie and Santal Blanc (see reviews), but where those too are just disgusting smelling, sickening and too much, Datura Noir is the other way around .. It's too little. It smells a-ok to begin with, and then it fades .. and fades .. and then the last bit fades and I can't smell it at all anymore. The smell I get is a nice, soft blend of sweet flowers, and that's ALL the smell! This whole process takes about three hours every time I've tried. Thank God all those three perfumes were vials, I would never have wanted a full bottle! The last Lutens perfume I'm gonna try is Chergui, and if that doesn't work I'm done with Lutens. I only have so much patience!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cerulfox on 10/16/2011 3:09:00 PM more reviews by cerulfox

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I would call Datura Noir a tropical oriental. Juicy coconut and heady tuberose combine in a thick, luscious harmony that never veers into the suntan lotion smell that coconut tends to create. Almond and tonka prop up the fragrance, adding just enough sweetness to add a bit of lightness without it Datura Noir going gourmand. Despite all these heavy notes Datura Noir never goes headache-inducing, which I suspect is coming from the lemon flower in just the right proportions giving a bit of freshness to an otherwise heady perfume. This would be the perfect spring/summer oriental for those who normally love heavy hitters but don't want to bowl people over with their perfume when the weather is hot and humid.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* condesadepitimini on 7/17/2011 6:44:00 AM more reviews by condesadepitimini

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Datura Noir is not a tropical perfume, at least not the common tropical one.
It's an interesting concoction of a toxic, poisonous plant (the datura) with a bitter almond note, a lot of creamy tuberose, coconut, and sweet osmanthus, that gives this typical sweet apricot note.
To me, this is a mix of a bitter/sweet that makes it interesting.
It's a heady, lush floral fragrance that must be worn cautiously as it can be cloying in hot weather.
The drydown is the most notable part where the oriwental factes of the fragrance come out: myhrr and tonka bean.
I like it better on a gentleman (provided he can wear such a different-from-the-rest fragrance) but not so much on me.
A very interesting frag and a nice to try, but not a must have, at least not for me
_________________
notes:
coconut, tuberose, tonka bean, almond, lemon blossom, mandarin orange, musk, chinese osmanthus, heliotrope and myrrh.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 vintagebarrio on 5/15/2011 6:08:00 PM more reviews by vintagebarrio

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I really, really wanted to love this. Living in the desert, datura blooms are a narcotic delight in the evenings--large delicately scented white flowers that glow in the moonlight to attract night pollinators. Their fragrance is unique--light and translucent. Not creamy or murky at all. More like a tiny clear flute song. Datura Noir is a bit too sweet and heavy on my skin. Not exactly cloying but like hugging an expensively dressed older woman with large earrings. Lasts half a day at least. Wafts everywhere.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Serge Lutens products

More Fragrances products