Marc Anthony Strictly Curls Curl Defining Lotion


34 reviews

61% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$


Water, Glycerin, Polysorbate-20, PVP/VA Copolymer, Hydroxyethyl cellulose, Polyquaterium-7, Styrene VP/Copolymer, Hydrolyzed silk, Pathenol, Fragrance, Propylene glycol, Cyclotetrasiloxane, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Carbomer, Vitamin E, Sodium hydroxide, Yellow 5

on 5/26/2015 10:47:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have natural soft wavy hair and just by itself it becomes frizzy and not-so-nice. I like using this because it helps take the frizz and define my waves a little more. It also makes my hair nice and soft and fun to play with XP

on 5/11/2015 8:07:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Fine

Eyes: Green

I have mid length super fine hair that gets frizzy in summer. I have natural curl but at this length I can wear it straight or curly. This stuff is great! It keeps away the frizzies and really builds nice curls for me. The Marc Anthony line is my holy grail for when I want to wear my hair curly.

on 4/19/2015 10:57:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have extremely curly thin hair that is shoulder length. It tends to have a mind of its own and stands straight up. I often get comments of having a bad perm. I have always had trouble finding a product that contains my curls and because of that have hated my super curly hair. When I could not find the one product I had been using for years that always worked I gave this a try. I felt that I had to use a lot, about two handfuls, to get any results. When I used it it looked great but didn't last long and wore off in about four hours. My husband loved that it kept my curls that he loves without me feeling uncomfortable about my normal fro. I continue to use it and love it but found that in order for a lasting hold I have to use even more which makes it kind of stiff and crunchy for a while but after an hour or so it felt soft and held my curls without my hair turning into my normal fro. Overall I love the product and so does my husband but I wish that I did not have to use so much as I feel like I can easily go through a tube in a week if I use it daily.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Curly, Other

Eyes: Brown

This product was not for me. I didn't like that lemony smell, to me it was too fake and the texture in my hands was fine, but it did nothing for me but flake up my hair. Can't be cute when you look like you have dandruff in your hair! I mainly used it on my ends and about mid shaft kinda area, scrunching as I went along. For something that's supposed to define It did no better than if I used a conditioner. It's the flakes after it dries that I hated and for that reason I'd never buy it again. I like my hair to have a lot of volume; so I tend to finger my hair to give it that umph. You definitely can't do that with this product in your hair.

on 1/11/2014 3:05:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This only works for me if I use it when my hair is damp. Once it drys it looks like a stiff stringy mess. It also makes my hair full of white flakes that look like dandruff. Plus it has a strong chemical lemon scent which I hate. I tried using it over and over again thinking it would work differently each time, but now it just sits on my shelf collecting dust.

on 4/8/2013 2:39:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is a review for the curl defining styling lotion which has a gel like consistancy, NOT the curl defining creme.
I also got a big bottle for $7 which is why I think it's a good deal, if it were more expensive I don't know if I would choose it. But I really like this because it's a nice little change from gel. It gives me slightly less hold than a gel which makes my curls a little looser but just as much definition if that makes sense. It also feels very lightweight in my hair, feels like there is no product at all. I think the scent of it kind of smells like a lemony cleaning product which is not great but it doesn't linger so I don't really care about that.
Also for those that care this is probably not technically CG, there is a cone near the bottom, it ends in xane I believe but I have been using this stuff for over a year now and have not had an issue with build up.

on 1/31/2013 7:27:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I never would have thought about purchasing this, as my hair can be temperamental and I tend to stick with what works. However, I got this as a present, and decided to try it one day. Works really well for me! Controls frizz and gives me just the right amount of definition. My hair is pretty wavy now, so I could see this not working that well for someone with extremely curly hair, it doesn't seem to have that much of a hold, as a gel. It smells really good but the smell doesn't last long on me :/

on 11/18/2012 3:19:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Bought this cuz it was on sale. I have wavy hair and its usually frizzy and i hate it .so i took a shower and put this on my hair then i dried my hair with a dryer and my hair became shiny smooth and defrizzed and i could see curls .
I would buy this again ,i got it for 3$ cuz it was on sale,the bottle has alot of product so its good

on 7/20/2012 10:01:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

MARC ANTHONY'S STRICTLY CURLS (Curl defining lotion)

I bought it for $7 at a drugmart. I believe it was the only hair lotion that they were selling that time. It was recommended by the sales lady. So why not, I gave it a try.

When I came home, I took a shower and applied the hair lotion to my hair afterward. At first I thought it would turn out great, but I got very disappointed.

Sadly, my hair became dry. The next day, I applied it again (had no choice), and my friend noticed that there's this white stuff in my hair that looks like dandruff. It wasn't dandruff though.

Anyways, that was the second and last time I used it. I threw it out, before it damages my hair. Damn! I wasted $7 :(

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

on 5/26/2012 3:55:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I usually use the Marc Anthony Curl Envy cream on my wavy hair but just found this in my cupboard. I must have purchased it ages ago without realizing it was not the curl envy. Anyway, I gave it a try this morning and am on the fence about it. My curls feel much drier and less bouncy than when I use the curl envy, though I do feel like my hair air dried much faster. I also didn't like the consistency of the product as I was applying it to my hair; it was almost runny compared to the curl envy cream. I'll leave this in my cupboard for days when I really don't care how my hair looks, lol, but for days when I want bouncy, soft, defined curls, I'll stick with the curl envy cream.

Back to Top