Alpha Hydrox • AHA Souffle 12 percent Glycolic AHA • Treatments

rated 4.1(517 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Saspants on 4/12/2014 8:19:00 PM more reviews by Saspants

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I was pleasantly surprised at how much I like this product. I purchased at Ulta during one of the their BOGO 50% sales and it was a no brainer since there are so many glowing reviews here on MUA. I purchased this and the moisturizer, brought it home and did the patch test behind my ear for a few days and then used on my face. After the first night alone, I noticed a difference in the small clogged pores on my cheeks, within a couple of days they were totally gone!

I will continue to use this product as I think the results are amazing, I am hoping that in a few more weeks I will have totally smooth skin. I will continue to purchase and use and highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* skandelouslala on 3/22/2014 12:47:00 AM more reviews by skandelouslala

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Other    

It had been a while since I had used an AHA cream/lotion,probably 2-3 years. I've used them on and off in the past... Alpha Hydrox AHA lotion and Walgreens knock off of Alpha Hydrox's cream. I don't really remember why I stopped using them... well Walgreen's version I do, it smelled terrible and stung.

Fast forward to current times. I'm almost 30. I still get the occassional break out but have more issues with clogged pores/blackheads than red pus filled pimples. I've also begun to worry a bit about signs of aging. Fun times /sarcasm. I've been using a variety of products on my skin but I was starting to have a major issue with my skin just looking very dull and rough. Especially looking at my skin in any crosslighting I was just like "ugh what is going on"... I had a very uneven skin texture and it was bugging the heck out of me because that wasn't an issue I have really had to deal with a whole lot.

So I though oh, might be time to try AHA again but I didn't want to do the lotion from this brand again and I wasn't interested in using Walgreen's AHA cream again so I made the trip to Ulta with the intent of buying the Oil Free Gel from this brand. Wouldn't you know it that I spend 25 minutes driving to Ulta for that one specific product and they are sold out. So I decided to try the Souffle.

It is housed in a tube, which is nice. I don't like jars. Souffle I was thinking a very light, airy, whipped sort of texture. No. This has more of a cream type texture but I am pleased that absorbs very quickly at least in the spirit of what I think a skin souffle should do. I wear it under makeup and sometimes to bed after washing my face without any issues. It doesn't have a smell and it doesn't sting at all.

The first week I used it I didn't notice a whole lot happening but I stuck with it. The second week I noticed that my skin was starting to look and feel a heck of a lot smoother and that the clogged pores and blackheads were loosening up and easier to extract.

I am now in my 3rd week with this product and I am crazy happy with it. My skin feels so velvety smooth and soft and the uneven texture and roughness I was experiencing as virtually been erased. My pores look a lot better.

So yeah, I'm really happy with this. I'm still debating if I should try the oil free gel but I don't know...if it ain't broke, why fix it?

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* linhle777 on 1/19/2014 2:02:00 AM more reviews by linhle777

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I am on my third and another for backup. I always go back to this product. It makes your skin phenomenal. Smooths, evens, great for acne. I don't have wrinkles but to know it helps with that makes me feel confident. I strictly use this for the few pimples I have monthly. You have to use it everyday to keep up the perfect skin look. I don't recommend this during the day time because it's bad to wear this in the sun. I apply this at night. When I kept up with this every night my skin was so perfect I didn't even need makeup.There are high end products that didn't give results this good.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 thisisnotindy on 11/24/2013 10:22:00 PM more reviews by thisisnotindy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Amazing glycolic product! I am 20 so wrinkles aren't a concern for me yet, but my skin reacts really well to daily chemical exfoliation. This leaves my skin glowing and smooth. I use it every night. I live in the midwest and the central air has been drying out my skin. My evening skin routine:

1. shower
2. in the shower I massage sweet almond oil to remove all my makeup and then follow up with Boots cleansing balm for dry/very dry skin (new product for me, works pretty well so far)
3. dry my face
4. cerave moisturizing lotion
5. Alpha Hydrox souffle
6. vaseline/aquaphor to seal in the moisture

It seems like a lot of steps but it takes me about 3 minutes. I'm not sure if I should be waiting for the souffle to dry, but my skin has been liking this routine so I'm not going to change it. Highly recommend!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 stepdaughter on 11/3/2013 11:58:00 PM more reviews by stepdaughter

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Whenever my skin starts to act up I would slather a lot of this product then follow up with a moisturizer, it really helps to calm the skin and the spots are reduced a lot by the next day. Amazing product but be careful if you have sensitive skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 susanjane on 10/13/2013 11:11:00 AM more reviews by susanjane

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I've tried higher priced glycolic acid products but I keep coming back to AHA souffle. There is nothing better for performance or price. It comes in a tube now which makes it slightly easier to apply and more convenient for travel.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ispania on 10/1/2013 2:22:00 PM more reviews by Ispania

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely adore this inexpensive cream!
I have combo skin, more on the oily side in summer and fall and dryish in winter. I have enlarged pores. Pimple here and there. I don't consider myself old, but there are some changes in my skin and I blame my age. I'm in my early thirties and I see that I don't look as fresh as I used before 30. The skin tone is not as healthy as it was even a year ago.
My skin routine is very simple. I use retin cream, cera Ve am and pm moisterizers.
After some research on Benefits of AHA I decided to buy smth not very expensive.
Accidently I came across this brand, which I have never heard before.
I ordered it from dermstore.com 1.6 oz for around 16$, plus free shipping, plus samples.
Since I started to use the souffle I noticed my skin glowing. This is not an oily glow but a very natural and youthful which I didn't have before. It seems to control those pimples that I have sometimes. I think it also unklogged my pores. I also noticed that there are no dry patches on my skin which are not noticable normaly, but when I put make up they become more obvious. I use this souffle in conjunction with retin a creams and these results may be the work of two products. But i am sure this is AHA souffle which makes me glow. Whatever it is retin A and AHA are very beneficial for the skin just don't layer them on top of each other. Use AHa am and retin A pm. In this case they will work for sure.
The cream is not oily, absorbs very quickly, doesn't leave greasy film. At the same time it doesnt dry my skin now but it might in winter.
I use this cream everyday am or pm. If I go outside I use liberally SPF 30 or more.
For some people 12% AHA might be too irritating for everyday. It also can be drying especially if you have dry sensetive skin. In this case I would limit it to 2, 3 times a week and see how it works. As far as I checked Alpha Hydroxy company has
AHA with lower percentage. They also have AHA creams and serums and you can try a cream which will be more moisterizing than the souffle.
I put 5 lippis for package because my cream came in a tube, not a jar.
I wish I knew about this brand sooner. After I run out of this souffle I want to try there 15% AHA lotion which will be even better exfoliant for my skin.
Try it you will not regret at least you wil get that youthfull glow.


    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lizard31 on 9/28/2013 10:49:00 PM more reviews by Lizard31

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Over the years I have used a lot of products from Alpha Hydrox (10% lotion, 10% cream, swipes, 14% serum, 12% soufflé), etc.

When I first tried the 12% soufflé a few years ago, I felt it was a little harsh. I didn't like the jar packaging and the product eventually began to dry up due to nonuse.

Fast forward to now and I decided to give it another shot after seeing the packaging updated to a tube and also after building up a bit of a tolerance to AHAs by using the 10% cream and lotion.

I've been using this for about a month now and I'm very pleased with how smooth my skin is, how my spots have lightened (including some patchiness and spottiness from my last pregnancy) and how much clearer my pores seem. In the morning, all my pesky little forehead bumps are gone.

I use this at night after my Clarisonic and I plan to continue with it. It absorbs more readily than the cream and I have no redness or irritation. I don't use it every night -- I think it's a good idea to have a night off from AHAs every few days and I like to rotate in some of my other favorite products.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 tori497 on 9/22/2013 5:02:00 PM more reviews by tori497

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

UPDATE 11/2013 So now months later, I have to lower my initial rating. At first this worked fine. No issues whatsoever. I was excited it was shrinking my pores noticeably and making my skin softer and a little brighter. Fast forward two months and I have stopped using this all together. Beyond the minimal, initial improvements I have seen NO other positive benefits. When I tried to increase using to twice a day, my skin freaked out. It got super dry and blotchy. When I went back to once a day, nothing (good or bad) happened. For others with more tolerant skin, using twice a day may do wonders. But for me, using once a day is not enough and twice a day too much, no matter how little I used the second time. I wish I was loving this as much as everyone else but I think I am going to "gift" the rest of this to my mom and hope she fares better...

I am two weeks into using this product and so far I am pleased. I bought this hoping to even out my skin tone, fade old acne marks, refine my pores and blur my fine lines. So far this has shown promise in helping these issues. I am new to AHA's so I eased into it by using a small amount, once a day. I did notice a few spots pop up but nothing out of the ordinary; if anything they were far more fleeting than usual. So far I love the texture it gives my skin and the improvement in my skin tone (it's more "glowy" then on it's own).

Acne is not a huge issue for me but I have (had) a small handful of blackheads (gross!) on my nose that have been there for a while. With two weeks' use they are GONE. ALL of them! For that alone, this purchase was well worth it. I found this on Amazon for $11. Even though the picture shows a jar, I got a tube, which I appreciate for portability and hygiene. Today is my first day using morning and night so I am hoping the results will only get better, not worse (updates will come if the latter happens). I think I may have found the missing piece of my skincare routine to take it to the next level.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Muriel on 5/26/2013 9:19:00 AM more reviews by Muriel

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This would be perfect for me if it moisturized as well, but unfortunately leaves my face rather tight-feeling. I prefer not to use multiple products, so will leave this for others to enjoy as it is effective, and love Alpha Hydrox the company - great products, great people!
Also, the packaging claims they are cruelty-free, but until they are leapingbunny.org certified, I must be suspicious.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Alpha Hydrox products

More Treatments products