Alpha Hydrox • AHA Souffle 12 percent Glycolic AHA • Treatments (Face)

rated 4.1(522 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 bellavee on 11/21/2014 10:05:00 AM more reviews by bellavee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

This has made a big difference in my skin! I have ridiculously clogged and enlarged pores, I hate it. But using this makes my skin clear and smooth. It makes my pores smaller and more refined, my skin overall less blotchy, and seems to be working well on some fine lines I have. I don't like to exfoliate every night so I like to use this all over on the nights I skip my clarisonic, and around the eye area every night. I have oily skin so I use this with argan oil every night to balance me out and my face has been glowing ever since.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 natefan on 11/14/2014 3:08:00 PM more reviews by natefan

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Kind of a cult favorite, right? This is the product that started me down the road of clear, bright skin bliss.

I no longer use this product as my exfoliant, as I've been enjoying PC's BHA's for a while now, but that doesn't detract from how amazing this is as an AHA exfoliant. Alpha Hydrox AHA Souffle stands out as a gem not only due to its effectiveness and stellar formula, but because of the companies' transparency regarding the products' pH (which is an essential component to a good exfoliant). Bravo, Alpha Hydrox. :)

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mariella99 on 10/14/2014 7:11:00 AM more reviews by mariella99

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I still have a jar of this in the "old" glass jar packaging and a new one in waiting in the tube (had a hard time finding it, as I was looking for the old packaging). You can buy pricier AHA products and you can buy those with a lower concentration if you're worried about 12% being too strong. But in my experience, you won't find a better product at any price point. This cream does a fabulous job of improving the look of my skin - shrinking the look/size of my pores, evening out skin tone - without any irritation at all. In summer, I use this on its own, with only a sunscreen on top (necessary if you're going to use this in the daytime) and in colder months, I'll top this with a moisturizer and some form of sun protection, either already in my moisturizer or in the primer or foundation I'm applying. I just wish it were easier to get hold of Alpha Hydrox here in Canada.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 VersaillesVixen on 8/1/2014 9:41:00 PM more reviews by VersaillesVixen

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

(For the record, every time I've purchased this, it's been in a tube, not in the jar pictured here) This stuff was one of the first aha face lotions I ever tried, and I always come back to it when my face needs a little perfecting. What originally sold me was the price (about $10 for a generous tube), but I also LOVE that this is not overly perfumed and it just plain WORKS. Since it is a 12% glycolic acid lotion, it does sting a bit when I first apply it if I have any blemishes, but that goes away within ~20 seconds. Each time I've come back to using it after a long break, I do go through an initial purge period where my face breaks out, but then it's as if I have a brand new face and I spend another year wondering why I ever stopped using it! :) Like any AHA treatment, it will dry your skin if you're not using it alongside another moisturizer, but I prefer this, since it means I can use this with whichever moisturizer I like. No product from Alpha Hydrox has ever let me down, the whole line is just excellent. You have to admit, with such simple packaging and no huge ad campaigns or gimmicks, there must be something to the products in order to stay in business so long. It's because they work! Give them a try; if they don't work for you, you'll only be out 10 bucks :)

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SophiaSopapilla on 6/25/2014 1:10:00 AM more reviews by SophiaSopapilla

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Improves acne, evens out skin tone. Found it on a clearance rack at TJ Maxx and initially was out off by the tingling when you first put it on but it goes away in a minute or so. I have 12% and 15% and they work the same.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jenglund on 6/18/2014 12:03:00 AM more reviews by jenglund

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Used this and the lotion, cream, and gel off and on for the past few years. I always end up returning it, and I never remember why. So this review is a reminder to myself...

This definitely evens skin tone and gives it a glowing appearance after just a couple of uses. I really wish it didn't cause adverse reactions for me, because if it didn't I'd buy stock in this company.

This and all the other AH AHA products cause stinging and itching for 15-30 minutes after applied (for me). This usually happens on the second or third use, after the first use makes me think I'm in the clear. My eyes water and I feel like itching my face off.

After 1-2 uses, these dreaded tiny bumps rise up along my cheeks, chin, and jawline. I sometimes get random whiteheads, too, which would be "purging," if that's even a real thing, but I also get worsening if current acne bumps. So if I have a blocked pore, it becomes a red, inflamed zit, and so on.

Because of the accompanying itching and stinging, and because products actually take several weeks to "break you out" with acne lesions, and because this makes current blemishes more red and inflamed, I have to conclude this is an irritant or allergic reaction, rather than just "purging." I'm getting married in 30 days and I'm not willing to wait it out at the risk of further pissing off my skin. I should realize by now that when I've tried and returned a product several times over multiple years, it's for a reason.

It does do what it says it does, so for those without reactive skin, I say go for it. For me, it's not worth the risk of irritation :( Not sure why I can't just accept that my skin looks it's best with a simple routine of a gentle cleanser, CeraVe AM and PM. Future self: stop buying this and hoping it will be ok this time!

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Saspants on 4/12/2014 8:19:00 PM more reviews by Saspants

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I was pleasantly surprised at how much I like this product. I purchased at Ulta during one of the their BOGO 50% sales and it was a no brainer since there are so many glowing reviews here on MUA. I purchased this and the moisturizer, brought it home and did the patch test behind my ear for a few days and then used on my face. After the first night alone, I noticed a difference in the small clogged pores on my cheeks, within a couple of days they were totally gone!

I will continue to use this product as I think the results are amazing, I am hoping that in a few more weeks I will have totally smooth skin. I will continue to purchase and use and highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* skandelouslala on 3/22/2014 12:47:00 AM more reviews by skandelouslala

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Other    

It had been a while since I had used an AHA cream/lotion,probably 2-3 years. I've used them on and off in the past... Alpha Hydrox AHA lotion and Walgreens knock off of Alpha Hydrox's cream. I don't really remember why I stopped using them... well Walgreen's version I do, it smelled terrible and stung.

Fast forward to current times. I'm almost 30. I still get the occassional break out but have more issues with clogged pores/blackheads than red pus filled pimples. I've also begun to worry a bit about signs of aging. Fun times /sarcasm. I've been using a variety of products on my skin but I was starting to have a major issue with my skin just looking very dull and rough. Especially looking at my skin in any crosslighting I was just like "ugh what is going on"... I had a very uneven skin texture and it was bugging the heck out of me because that wasn't an issue I have really had to deal with a whole lot.

So I though oh, might be time to try AHA again but I didn't want to do the lotion from this brand again and I wasn't interested in using Walgreen's AHA cream again so I made the trip to Ulta with the intent of buying the Oil Free Gel from this brand. Wouldn't you know it that I spend 25 minutes driving to Ulta for that one specific product and they are sold out. So I decided to try the Souffle.

It is housed in a tube, which is nice. I don't like jars. Souffle I was thinking a very light, airy, whipped sort of texture. No. This has more of a cream type texture but I am pleased that absorbs very quickly at least in the spirit of what I think a skin souffle should do. I wear it under makeup and sometimes to bed after washing my face without any issues. It doesn't have a smell and it doesn't sting at all.

The first week I used it I didn't notice a whole lot happening but I stuck with it. The second week I noticed that my skin was starting to look and feel a heck of a lot smoother and that the clogged pores and blackheads were loosening up and easier to extract.

I am now in my 3rd week with this product and I am crazy happy with it. My skin feels so velvety smooth and soft and the uneven texture and roughness I was experiencing as virtually been erased. My pores look a lot better.

So yeah, I'm really happy with this. I'm still debating if I should try the oil free gel but I don't know...if it ain't broke, why fix it?

Update: I ended up trying the gel and I hate it. I posted my review for that and will definitely be sticking to the souffle from here on out. Also I am extremely pleased to report that I have begun seeing some improvement to a forehead wrinkle that has taunted me for the past couple of years. It looks very much softened. I have bought a lot of products trying to improve the appearence of that thing and nothing has worked until now.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* linhle777 on 1/19/2014 2:02:00 AM more reviews by linhle777

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I am on my third and another for backup. I always go back to this product. It makes your skin phenomenal. Smooths, evens, great for acne. I don't have wrinkles but to know it helps with that makes me feel confident. I strictly use this for the few pimples I have monthly. You have to use it everyday to keep up the perfect skin look. I don't recommend this during the day time because it's bad to wear this in the sun. I apply this at night. When I kept up with this every night my skin was so perfect I didn't even need makeup.There are high end products that didn't give results this good.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 thisisnotindy on 11/24/2013 10:22:00 PM more reviews by thisisnotindy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Amazing glycolic product! I am 20 so wrinkles aren't a concern for me yet, but my skin reacts really well to daily chemical exfoliation. This leaves my skin glowing and smooth. I use it every night. I live in the midwest and the central air has been drying out my skin. My evening skin routine:

1. shower
2. in the shower I massage sweet almond oil to remove all my makeup and then follow up with Boots cleansing balm for dry/very dry skin (new product for me, works pretty well so far)
3. dry my face
4. cerave moisturizing lotion
5. Alpha Hydrox souffle
6. vaseline/aquaphor to seal in the moisture

It seems like a lot of steps but it takes me about 3 minutes. I'm not sure if I should be waiting for the souffle to dry, but my skin has been liking this routine so I'm not going to change it. Highly recommend!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Alpha Hydrox products

More Treatments (Face) products