Givenchy • Organza Indecence • Fragrances

rated 4.2(180 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 delish288 on 10/21/2013 2:42:00 PM more reviews by delish288

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

My sister gave me her beautiful bottle of Indecence with an inch left in it and also a small mini of about 5mls. I have read a lot of reviews about this perfume that has such a cult following and tried it for the first time over the weekend. I had showered and had no body lotion on my arm and was so excited to try this scent. The first spray on my arm was such a delicious aroma to my nose I reached in and smelled this exciting medley of sweet spicy woody and caramel notes and I said to myself then that I had found a signature scent for the evenings and luxurious times. I got busy doing things around the house and a few hours later the smell changed so drastically all I could smell was patchouli that assaulted my nose and brain. I was so horrified by the dark deep harsh smell that lingered very dramatically and strong on my arm, I wondered what had happened to the drydown of this perfume that everybody raves about. I was very disappointed that the smell had changed so drastically and wasnt something that I wanted to smell like to anybody. I tried to wash it off a few times with a lavender scented gel soap and some of still lingered except for the patchouli. I guess this perfume is not something that I can use. I have smelled it before on other people and no way did the harsh patchouli invade me like it did when I wore it. I still have to give it 4 lippies bec the first few hours were so lovely however it will not be one that I will wear again. Great for the ladies that can wear this one without the patchouli invasion, more for you, wear it well and enjoy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sillage on 10/15/2013 11:07:00 AM more reviews by sillage

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Givenchy Organza Indecence is one of the best perfumes ever created -- EVER -- and they discontinued it??? Insanity! For me, it was absolutely, totally, completely love at first sniff in 1999 (I think it was). Gorgeous, entrancing, rich, deep, delicious, mysterious. I fell into the scent -- all others paled in comparison -- this was sublime! I bought it immediately.

The main notes are Wood, Cinnamon, and Vanilla! No florals or fruits at all (thankfully). It smells like Fall, like Christmas, like a rich woody spice cake, like a holiday candle or potpourri -- like a ski lodge. Divine! Not too sweet, like everything is today -- it was just right -- the perfect blend of woodiness & spice & deliciousness.

I only bought the 1.7oz bottle, unfortunately (I just checked the size), and now I'm hanging onto my remaining half like liquid gold. I don't want to use it up, so I rarely use it at all. I have the original swooping bottle shape, which came in a black box, as photographed above. It tips over easily, and my cap's scroll broke off as a result, but I'll forgive the poor design -- I'm just so happy to still have some left at all.

They took it off the market?? How could they?? It's only available on ebay and amazon now, at a high price. After it disappeared for awhile, apparently a reformulated version came out, in a new rectangular bottle -- but even that's hard to find. I've never seen it in stores or smelled it, but those who have smelled it say it's not as good as the original.

So I continue to hoard the last half of my original bottle. It's absolutely one of the best perfumes ever made, in my humble opinion. So suited to my tastes. Oriental wood-cinnamon-vanilla deliciousness (no fruits, no flowers).

I think the problem was that Indecence launched as a flanker, and the bottles & names became too confusing, so people just wrote it off or overlooked it. To me, Indecence was far better than the original Organza ever was, yet Organza lives on, while Indecence got dropped?? Tragedy!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Shanplum on 7/8/2013 12:56:00 AM more reviews by Shanplum

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Indecence is a sexy goddess wearing nothing but an apron cooking spicy brioche drinking mulled plum wine who accidentally spills organic madagascar vanilla extract all over herself. It smells sweet yet spicy, dry dark and oriental at the same time. An oriental gourmand - not particulary fond of foodie scents but this one is a winner. One of my all time faves. Men will turn heads.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Stark77 on 5/24/2013 7:21:00 PM more reviews by Stark77

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

Oh god. This HAS to be my new signature. I'm honestly sort of mad at myself for falling in love with a discontinued fragrance because of the insane price.. But man! This starts off with a warm, spicy burst (cinnamon?) with a lovely vanilla heart. It fades to a vanilla base on me, but it's not too sweet.. Mm. I'm about to go purchase a real bottle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 monique3445 on 5/10/2013 2:04:00 PM more reviews by monique3445

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I read all of the reviews on all the different websites I could find, and all of them were raving about this perfume. After seeing the prices a vintage bottle of this stuff was selling for, I told myself I would have to be an idiot to even get a sample and see if I liked the smell of this... so... naturally, I bought a sample anyway. LOL. Much to my chagrin, I can now report I too have been sucked into the love affair with this perfume. Sigh. It smells soooo good. I have put it on two days in a row to make sure I really like it before I pay these absurd prices for it. Yesterday, I put it on then walked into the living room where my husband was sitting. He sat there for a second smelling the air and then said "That smells good." I asked him what smelled good, and he said, "Whatever you are wearing.. it smells good." That is amazing. My husband always says, "It's fine." or "I don't hate it." or "NO" whenever I ask him about new perfume scents. It does not give me a headache, and I am SUPER sensitive to perfumes. It's such an indescribable scent to me. I don't pick up on a lot of cinnamon, and every time I smell myself I feel like the perfume has evolved again, and I am picking up on different notes. Whatever they are, they smell great. Now off to buy a $300 50ml bottle on ebay.... :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TubbyPuppy on 3/6/2013 10:58:00 PM more reviews by TubbyPuppy

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Dry, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Love, love, love this fragrance! As others have said, it's an adult scent....not a fruity cloying lollipop. I always have people ask what I'm wearing or just tell me how wonderful I smell (especially awesome if coming from a handsome man). I often use a warm vanilla lotion as a base, then spray Organza Indecence over it; that magnifies the suble vanilla notes in the fragrance, and makes it last a bit longer throughout the day/evening. I hope Givenchy never stops making this fabulous perfume....I'd have to become an Organza hoarder.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 indiawilkes on 12/18/2012 1:42:00 AM more reviews by indiawilkes

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This is one of the most UNIQUE and beautiful fragrances I have ever smelled as a fragrance junkie . There is nothing else to compare it to I know of , but I will say it has the complexity of Dior Addict and the warmth and projection of Hypnotic Poison . Next to Euphoria, this gets the most compliments for me .
It is essentially a woodsy vanilla with a lot of spice , and is rather intense and long lasting . I can not imagine it being offensive as it is so pleasing to the senses , and as I said UNIQUE . Love this !!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lisbet on 7/22/2012 2:44:00 PM more reviews by lisbet

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Hazel    

I absolutely adore this fragrance. It is everything I want in a scent. It's softly spicy and woodsy. No juvenile fruit and flowers in this juice! A real womans scent. My husband loves it because it's softer than the loud fragrances I normally prefer. I am a daily fan of Angel, please don't hold that against me, but Angel is my signature. Organza Indecence is what I wear when I want to feel warm and snuggly and pretty. Angel is what I wear when I am slightly manic. Seriously, this is such lovely juice. Cinamon spicy with amber and patchouli makes it strongly sensual and almost erotic. Some reviewers find the opening sharp-but I don't. On me it immediately envelopes me with a wonderful spicy vanilla. It has nice staying power, which is unusual on my older skin which cannibalizes most fragrances. The original Organza smells like Irish Spring to me, so this was a huge surprise discovery! Only available online now since it has long been discontinued, but IMOP worth the hunting on E-Bay. I just ordered a second bottle. My current bottle is in the more recent bottle, which looks like a Hanae Mori bottle. The one I'm waiting on is in the beautiful goddess-like bottle. I'm super excited to receive it and compare the two! Mmmn good! Like Addict with bourbon(I stole this comment from another reviewer!).

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LaceyPorter on 10/28/2011 4:23:00 PM more reviews by LaceyPorter

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

Very beautiful and less spicy than the original organza. Indecence and original smell very different. Indecence has a lighter woodsy smell. I prefer the spicy oriental smell of the original organza, but this one is more universally appealing I am sure. It lasts quite a while but not as long as organza. I wish it was a little less sweet.

THINK COLA AND SUGAR CUBES IN A PINE FORREST.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Fyankevich on 3/6/2011 10:37:00 PM more reviews by Fyankevich

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have a 5ml bottle of Orgaza Indecence. The bottle is definitely a unique shape, which adds to the overall feel of the fragrance. It's rich, deep, and incense-laden. When I sniff my wrist, I want to hug myself. It's so comforting and beautiful! Sometimes I use a vanilla solid perfume as a base to sweeten it up a bit when I'm in the mood for that sort of thing. This scent makes my body completely relax. It's earthy, slightly spicy and sweet, and richly resinous. It makes me feel like a woman, plain and simple.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Givenchy products

More Fragrances products