Shiseido • Majolica Majorca eyeshadow in SV821 • Eye Shadow

rated 4.7(21 reviews)

Average Rating.4.7
Would buy this product again.90%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* effloresce on 12/28/2008 4:39:00 AM more reviews by effloresce

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

***THIS REVIEW CONTAINS PICTURES, CLICK 'CONTINUED TO VIEW***

Majolica Majorca SV821 is one of my first purchases from Majolica Majorca, a drugstore sub-brand by Shiseido. I've really gotten interested in taupes recently and this is one of my favourites. It's a light plummy silvered taupe with grey notes at certain angles and makes an excellent lid wash for waking up the eyes. It's one of the lighter taupes I own, with the others being less silvery and browner, such as MAC Subtle pigment, MAC Satin Taupe, UD Stray Dog and Chanel Safari, so this is a welcome addition to my collection.

The shadow texture is really quite lovely - it's fairly soft and smooth and applies easily and evenly with a fluff shadow brush. I have had no problems with eye irritation or creasing when used over a good base like UDPP. I have also not had any issues with fallout or fading. I find that to really bring out the purple/plum notes, it's best to use a flat brush or finger to pack it on the lid, otherwise the colour is predominantly silvery light taupe.

The packaging is fairly simple and is made of clear acrylic. To open and use the shadow, you hold the rounded gold part with the MM logo on it and slide it upwards while holding the acrylic case. It's quite sturdy and compact and the shadow portion clicks shut tightly.

This retails in Singapore for $9.90SGD, which is around $6.50USD. There is a decent amount of product and the shadow is of good quality, so I'd definitely say it's worth all the rave reviews it gets on here and is a must-have for any taupe collector.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* evie1121 on 12/10/2008 2:57:00 PM more reviews by evie1121

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I received this great product as an RAOK.

I've bought other MM e/s but they were too light for my NC35 skintone and barely showed up me. I thought there was nothing in this line that would show up on me.

When i received this product, i love the color and yes it did show up on me.

I've noticed this and other colors on my recent trip to Hong Kong and glad to know it won't be d/c.

press continued to see the pic :)

it's the first one on the left



1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bubblysteph on 10/24/2008 8:34:00 AM more reviews by bubblysteph

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

This is actually the first MM e/s I purchased. SV821 is a silvery eyeshadow with plummy undertone and a really teeny bit of brown inside too. This shade actually has a name in Japanese and when translated to English, it means "night of Tokyo". Pigmentation is good and easy to blend. This is also a very versatile colour - I wear this alone and sometimes blend this with blues or violets or plummy browns. The only downside is that the eye shadow is a bit crumpy. I have shadow dropped onto my cheeks. Not so nice. I will definitely repurchase unless they discontinue this and not to mention this is cheap too!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dollface_vixen on 10/12/2008 11:31:00 PM more reviews by dollface_vixen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is the PERFECT taupe shadow. It's my everyday shadow when I don't feel like being colourful or creative. It's pigmented, silky, and shimmery. I didn't even use primer and it never creased. I wouldn't really say it's "metallic," just very shimmery, so if shimmer's not your thing, you might not like this. The shimmer makes the shadow look a tad wet/glossy. I used it with a shadow brush and it blended like a dream. At $6.50 USD, I will definitely rebuy!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Aligirl on 8/30/2008 10:37:00 AM more reviews by Aligirl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Very impressive for something that is supposed to be a drugstore shadow more so then ArtDeco which I was completely wow'ed by. SV821 is a greyed taupey plum with a silver sheen. Compared with MAC Satin Taupe, I can't even see the plum in ST that I usually see..It's very taupey mauve next to SV821. And the texture of this shadow is Amazing..so smooth and buttery soft. It applies easily and blends like a dream. The finish on this shadow is very metallic almost foil like.And this color paired w/ a darker purple or brown would be hot for green eyes:) The down side about these shadows, is that they're not available in the US but you can find them at http://www.adambeauty.com for $43HK or $5.50 US

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 swoodley on 5/17/2008 4:00:00 PM more reviews by swoodley

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

My first majolica. Beautiful shadow... great texture, color payoff and lasts forever. Makes me want to purchase more of this brand and if Shu is anything like it I will be trying it as well. A little on the shimmery side but it seems to work because of its finely milled texture. Looks much better on my lids compared to the Lorac palettes that I have.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 joeykeen on 2/25/2008 9:32:00 PM more reviews by joeykeen

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

LOVE LOVE LOVE this shadow. For me, it's the perfect neutral. I like to wear this as a all over wash just by itself or as a crease shade. As below, great staying powder, loads of pigment, cute packaging (though I thought it looked odd at first, it's actually very practical and sturdy), and good price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* zhenya on 9/18/2007 8:17:00 PM more reviews by zhenya

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love *everything* about this eyeshadow. Cheap, cute packaging, and it's as nice as any eyeshadow, high end or low end, that I've ever tried. MCorreia described the color perfectly - a shimmery taupe with gray and plum undertones. It's insanely pigmented and has good lasting power. I layer this on top of black eyeliner for my everyday look, but it would work well as a wash or even as a crease color. One of my favorite eyeshadows ever!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ln_marie_d on 9/14/2007 11:22:00 PM more reviews by ln_marie_d

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

absolutely stunning! I love this colour - it is just perfect to enhance my blue grey eyes. Majolica Majorca eyeshadows blend really well but I find they work best when applied with my finger instead of a brush (much better colour payoff).......click continued to see pictures



1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 spaceagemouse on 6/18/2007 4:07:00 AM more reviews by spaceagemouse

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Majolica Majorca has so many little eye shadow palettes that I had a hard time choosing just one. Luckily they are cheap enough that if you don't like the color you picked, at least you know didn't blow the bank on it. I saw such rave reviews about this color that I went ahead and bought it. It goes on smoothly and I like the imaginative little container, however, the color is a bit "eh" for me. It does show up more gunmetal than mauve, but if you put too much on (which is easy to do, as it's very pigmented) you end up looking like you have a black eye. Might work better blended with a deeper shade for a dramatic smokey eye look, but I haven't tried that yet.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Shiseido products

More Eye Shadow products