NARS Surabaya Duo

4.2

39 reviews

76% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

When I'm working and I'm on my lunch break, I like to frequent the NARS boutique on Madison Ave. This usually means I'm out for more than just a 99-cent hot dog, because I typically end up making purchases there that I don't plan on. Maybe it's the white walls, the fabulous sales attendants, the rows upon rows of pretty colors, the lack of mustard, I don't know.

Surabaya is described as a "brown sugar and chestnut" duo on the NARS website, which I think is just a rather poetic way of saying "golden brown and reddish brown." But I digress.

When swatched, the left side is very smooth and buttery in consistency, and quite pigmented. The right side, however, is a little dry and chalky with the slightest bit less pigmentation, which is a shame as that was the color I was more excited for, and that's my only complaint here--which is strange because I don't think I've heard anyone else have this problem. Maybe mine was a dud, but this little baby cost me a pretty penny at $35, so I sincerely hope it wasn't and that I'm only nitpicking. But this is still my go-to eyeshadow when I don't know what else to do for my makeup on any given day.

I like to use both sides at the same time, and I only tap my brush into each side once or twice. I use Surabaya as an outer corner shade and smoked out on the lower lashline with a pale gold or champagne all over the lid and lots of black liner and mascara. I try to keep the rest of my face understated with a bit of bronzer and brownish nude lips.

This duo will by no means make you look like Kim Kardashian, but it is quite gorgeous and really great for a first foray into NARS eyeshadows. If ever I hit pan on one of these shades, I'm going to repurchase this immediately (so please don't discontinue this, NARS). HG status!



on 2/22/2014 11:47:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This duo is AMAZING! The colour payoff is fantastic - one swipe and you get rich pigmented shadow. Texture is smooth and silky. It isn't soft like the lorac shadows but firmer, silkier without being chalky. One of nars' best duos in my opinion.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/21/2013 4:53:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

If you're in the mood for a neutral brown eyeshadow color that has some gold glint and an option for red brown, then this is a good combo to get.

I wasn't expecting to purchase this, but the NARS makeup lady helped me apply it in a day look version: the lighter neutral brown with fine gold glint goes a bit all over and the reddish with a bit of copper colored brown is emphasized in the centre and blended out right at the lash line. Those makeup assistants can really get you to buy because had she not showed me how to wear it, then I probably would not have wanted to buy another brown eyeshadow duo. You can go darker and heavier on this and yes, this product is very NARS and highly pigmented which is great because you're getting your money's worth!

I think this would show up a lot better on fairer skin tones because it can be a striking color combo. Because of the red brown, if your eyes are lighter then it's even more striking. Kim Kardashian says she loves this duo so it would look good with someone with her coloring, too:
http://www.alwaysnewyou.com/beautiful_you/celebrity_tips/kim-kardashian-makeup-tips.html


When I'm on the go, I'll just use the lighter brown shade on the left as an all over shade and even when wears throughout the day, the fine gold glitter is still really pretty on.


on 1/23/2013 11:53:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I had lusted for this duo for ages Ė two gorgeous, warm dark neutrals with shimmer? Iíll definitely love it, I thought so I bought it online and awaited it to arrive with excitement.I really wish I had seen it in person and swatched the shades on my skin, because the colours look truly awful on my eyes! In the pan the shades look so beautiful, one side is a warm chocolate brown with shimmer, and other is a darker brown with reddish/burgundy undertones also with shimmer. I honestly donít know why these shades are included together, because once Iíve applied one colour to my eyelids and proceed to add the other, there is not the slightest bit of contrast. I have tried so many different ways to make both colours work to no avail Ė my eyes look incredibly dark and muddy with these shades on, even if I wear each shade on itís own. Incredibly unflattering, hard to blend each shade and I have a feeling that darker skinned females will have a hard time making the colours show up on their skin. The one positive thing I have to say about Surabaya is that each shade has incredible pigmentation, definitely living up to NARSí high standard.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love it! It can be used together but I like using them as singles.


on 2/20/2012 10:36:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This eye shadow duo is my favorite eye shadow of all time. These colors are beautiful. If you love coppers and bronzes, these are a must have. They are highly pigmented, blend effortlessly and they last forEVER. I bought this and the Kalahari duo at the same time and have had them for 4 years and I haven't hit pan yet. Expensive, but worth it.


on 12/27/2011 2:38:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I've been looking at these online for weeks because I couldn't get to a counter to test them, and Sephora does not carry it at all. These are both highly pigmented, and a lot of the duo shadows can be sheer/chalky/chunky on one side. With this one you get two of the most pigmented, and there are 62 duo's, I think. Brown sugar isn't the name of the left side, it's just a description, and NARS describes the right side as "chestnut" or a red brown. I think these are universal shades and they look beautiful with most skin tones and eye colors. Only they might blend into some darker skin tones that are warm, or contrast too much with ultra fair blondes. If you have green or blue eyes these are just stunning and so vivid. You get a lot of impact with little use. I like to use a base under them like a Benefit Stiletto cream shadow or MAC Paint Pot in a brown or purple shade. The shimmer in these two shades is subtle, but gorgeous. No fallout, serious pigment, and they are high quality. I struggled with the price and whether or not to buy them, but so far they are worth the $33, and each would be $16.50 as singles. One MAC shadow is 1.5 grams and these are two for 4 grams total.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/28/2011 8:03:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm a NW45 and this doesn't show up well on me. It looks similar to the color of my skin tone. I love Nars cosmetics but this one isn't the best for darker skinned girls. I am going to return it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/2/2011 1:53:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Very uniquely pigmented brown shades. Worth the money because I don't own any colors that are similar to this duo...I would have to mix several browns/golds/reds to achieve the Surabaya Duo. The pigmentation is very nice, a little goes a long way depending on the intensity you desire.....I use this often for work and nights out, as it can be easily toned down or built up into a smoky brown eye. I think this duo is flattering to darker skin tones and WOC.


on 2/22/2011 8:12:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

OOOOhhhhh Myyy Gooossshh!!!
That eyeshadow is based on my hometown name!!
I've just found out from one of my best friend hahahaha
funny story;;I was born at surabaya..
one of the largest city in Indonesia..
and it became product from the cosmetic goddess....NARS
it must be a lovely shadow
as lovely as my hometown huehe




Top Rated NARS Products

image

Coconut Grove

29 reviews
image

Ita Brush

45 reviews
image

Exhibit A

361 reviews
Back to Top