Thierry Mugler • Alien • Fragrances

rated 3.7(343 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 daisydaisys on 10/5/2014 9:27:00 AM more reviews by daisydaisys

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Horrid! Way too strong and musty- I smell this on people walking past in the street all the time and it makes me gag. Really unpleasant but is obviously like Marmite because some people absolutely love it!?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 brooke2010 on 10/5/2014 1:37:00 AM more reviews by brooke2010

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

My absolute favorite perfume in the world that I've ever tried. I am so crazy about it! I smelled it on a client at my work and I had to ask her what she was wearing because the scent was downright intoxicating to me. I debated for months if I needed to buy it because it is really expensive and I have a big perfume collection already, but I found a bottle online someone didn't want and was selling cheaply. I can't say enough good things about this perfume! Every single person at my work has asked me what I'm wearing and some of my friends have even bought it after smelling it on me! I love the white floral in it SO MUCH. The top notes can be slightly heavy but my favorite is the dry down. It smells so clean and fresh, like soap or rain. I love how long it lasts too. I only spray one spritz on my neck and one on my wrists and it lasts literally all day. Alien is a winner for me and it's safe to say I'll keep repurchasing!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Cadrin48 on 9/29/2014 10:46:00 AM more reviews by Cadrin48

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I had gone to Macy's in search of a new perfume. I sprayed it and wasn't crazy about it at first. I got home and smelt my wrist where I sprayed and couldn't stop smelling it. The scent had changed on my skin. I knew I had to have it. I just purchased this perfume and absolutely love it. It's such a different scent then any other perfume out there. People on here review that it's strong. But, that's whats great about it. Other perfumes I have to douse myself in so you can smell it. This perfume you only need a spritz or 2 and you're good to go. I can't complain about the price because I waste way more of my other perfumes by reapplying. This perfume you don't need to reapply. My boyfriend loves the smell. He always says he likes my perfume but this one is by far his favorite. I will always keep this perfume in stock.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mhubbard on 9/20/2014 8:40:00 AM more reviews by mhubbard

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

This is quite hard to review as many others have expressed my sentiments. An interesting fragrance, quite strong and different and definitely not for the workplace. I would give it 3.5 stars if I could. Unfortunately it is not very versatile due to the polarizing elements. And one spray is enough!! I only wear once in a blue moon, so I would not repurchase as the bottle I have is likely to last longer than I will.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AlohaPandaXOXO on 8/23/2014 4:46:00 PM more reviews by AlohaPandaXOXO

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I've had a sample of this sitting around and decided to finally make an effort to use it. I've heard a lot about Alien being a very divisive scent, but I was surprised to find out how mild the EDP is on me.

So, while others seem to find Alien bombastic, this is a very soft and feminine albeit synthetic perfume on me. The only thing referencing Alien to me is that it's a very linear and perfected scent - the notes do not come across as natural but rather perfectly curated versions of the notes.

For me this starts out and stays a warm musk/tonka bean with some immaculately clean jasmine/white floral mixed in - very ladylike. Lasts a good while and stays close to the skin, with the floral eventually developing into something more soapy smelling.

I like it, but I was also expecting something unique and on my skin this is par for the course floral fragrance. Since this seems to bloom into something really dependent on your skin type (perhaps even the weather), don't do a blind buy of this.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Andiec100 on 8/20/2014 8:22:00 PM more reviews by Andiec100

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Did not like this fragrance one bit. Very strong and overpowering, sticks to clothes like cigarette smoke. Which is fine maybe if you like the smell, but for me it was much too strong. Got it as a birthday pressie, wore it three or so times before deciding that it needed to be binned. Musky, much too bold for me, would not recommend, thinking of it is giving me a headache!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pocket123 on 8/3/2014 8:11:00 AM more reviews by pocket123

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I have been wearing this sent on and off for years. But I agree it is truly the marmite of perfumes - you either love it or hate it! I use it with the body cream and the smell stays all day, even when I can't smell it off myself! But I do understand why others would say it gives them sore heads etc. it's a strong scent and I can pick up the smell of it off someone else straight away. The good thing about this perfume is that with some of the bottles you can get them refilled so saves you money in the long run.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* seramadis on 7/27/2014 12:00:00 PM more reviews by seramadis

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Well I said I'd buy it - but only if I had money haha. I actually didn't try on the real perfume, it makes me shy to go to department stores and try out perfumes if I'm not planning to buy. But I was in a salon and all the women were going mad over an imitation perfume and it was the imitation to this one. So I tried it and I must say I really really liked just the imitation. So I imagine the real thing must be totally awesome. It does smell strong and sweet, but not in a cloying way. It smells very strong of jasmine and jasmine is my favourite scent, so it's not surprising that I like it. It smells sensual. There's also a bit of spiciness in it, the salon lady said it was "woody". So I guess you could describe it as spicy floral but not too sweet with a lot of jasmine and a bit of "wood" smell in it, like a freshly built table made from a good quality wood. The salon lady told me a lot of her clients who used this fragrance exclusively had the imitation perfume to wear every day and a bottle of the real perfume to use for special events. But I change perfumes every day and I get tired quickly of using the same fragrance all the time. So that wouldn't work for me. So I guess for the moment it's just the imitation perfume until I one day manage to get enough money for the real thing. Sigh.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 totesboats on 6/22/2014 12:03:00 PM more reviews by totesboats

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Alien is definitely not for everyone--you either love it or you hate it. The jasmine and cashmeran in this reminds me of the old formula for Dior Hypnotic Poison, but Alien's jasmine is more vivid and strange. It's not cloying, but one or two spritzes per use are plenty. I like the rough edges of the original, but Alien Essence Absolue is great for anyone who wants a smoother/more polished version.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TinkerbellonCrack on 3/5/2014 2:10:00 PM more reviews by TinkerbellonCrack

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I subscribe to the maxim that one is either a fan of Angel or Alien. I happen to be Team Angel but I wanted to try this scent because of the edgy bottle and interesting backstory. This fragrance has a sunblock-esque quality about it. I find that the grape and jasmine notes constitute most of the opening burst, and the amber settles in after a few hours. Alien is very much like Dior Poison to my nose. Both are very balsamic and unfortunately, my skin chemistry makes such scents smell like cough syrup. Still, a very complex and mysterious fragrance.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Thierry Mugler products

More Fragrances products