NYX • Jumbo Eye Shadow Pencil - Yogurt • Eye Shadow

rated 4.1(133 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.82%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* anjelykah on 9/11/2014 7:33:00 PM more reviews by anjelykah

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

No, no, no, do.not.buy.this! I purchased this because of all the hype, can 82% of MUA be wrong? I have oily skin, but with my Urban Decay primer, I usually get really good wear out of eyeshadows. However, I wore this under Mac's Expensive Pink shadow for a soft date night look and I was so disappointed. I came home after 3 and a half hours and I did a double take after I caught a glimpse of myself in the mirror. It had creased horribly! Mind you, I applied primer, then used the yogurt pencil as a base and set with the Mac eyeshadow. One of the worst products from NYX that I've used recently. Like others have mentioned, the clear cap cracks easily but that was the least of my concerns with this pencil.

Note: the same pencil in the color Milk is a great brow highlighter and it is long lasting. Definitely a hit and miss with this brand.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* triotrio on 9/11/2014 6:46:00 PM more reviews by triotrio

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

*sigh* So I read the reviews - I knew I had to use primer with this thing. What I didn't realise was just how greasy it is. Even with UD Primer Potion underneath it creases into two big 'ol golden streaks. Not attractive.

It also seems to melt any eyeshadow put on top, so after a couple of hours you look in the mirror and see no eyeshadow left, just yep, those golden streaks.

I'm going to try this one more time with UDPP AND Mac Painterly underneath, but that begs the question - should a product be such hard work?? Its not as if the colour is all that unique - a rose gold that pulls warmer (read: more orange) on the skin than in the stick. Pretty dupeable, tbh.

At least it wasn't expensive, so I can toss it without remorse.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* izzybella on 9/11/2014 6:13:00 PM more reviews by izzybella

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I grabbed this during a recent trip to Target because I forgot to pack eyeshadow base/primer for a week-long trip (never again!). At less than $5, these are pretty good shadow pencils for lining the lower lashline/inner corners of the eyes, but not very good eyeshadow bases as they crease a bit. Yogurt is a nice shimmery champagne/peach-beige that reminds me of MAC Naked Lunch or NARS AAE duo. The pencil feels hefty and well made; however, the cap is not very durable and started to show cracks after a few uses.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 suzihungary on 7/9/2014 8:27:00 PM more reviews by suzihungary

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE these jumbo pencils. I have them in milk, yogurt, and black bean and they're all up to par. They are creamy, smooth, and a dream to apply. The only bad thing about them is the plastic covers that crack, but other than that they're perfect! I have quite oily eyelids, but with a primer (elf), they stay put.

To everyone saying they crease, use a primer! Creams will crease no matter what without a primer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Andi2010 on 5/24/2014 12:10:00 AM more reviews by Andi2010

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

As I only ever use these as eye liner pencils I love them. On me as an eye shadow over primer they crease and end up looking oily and yuck by the end of the day - not the look I'm trying to achieve :)

Yogurt is one of my most reached for NYX jumbo pencils when I have a natural / brown look going on with my eye shadow and want something light shaded and natural looking for my lower waterline.

Soft pencils, glide on easily, super affordable and will last for ages. Only downside but can live with it is the clear plastic lids crack. Who knows NYX may improve them one day.

Yogurt is a really soft and light brown with a hint of sheen.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* decoydream on 5/13/2014 4:44:00 AM more reviews by decoydream

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This jumbo pencil is a light pinky sparkly champagne colour that works well for daytime looks. As others have mentioned, it does crease but it's not even close to the mess that is the covergirl dual ended eyeshadow sticks that came out a few years ago (they were essentially glittery chapsticks). I haven't worn this by itself but I do put this over primer and then layer eyeshadow on top (urban decays 'toasted' and the bronze peach colour in there wet n wild comfort zone palette look particularly good with this!). Also, I put this on my bottom lash line to get a very subtle hint of a shadow when I'm doing a neutral look and I want to steer clear of any obvious eyeliner.

All in all, I would recommend this colour as an all over lid colour for fair skin tones, a highlight for darker skin tones and a base for everybody. As with all cream products, don't use too much because it will crease quicker!

(P.S. For all the Australians out there, they now sell NYX at Target - huzzah!)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 JustCakey on 5/5/2014 10:51:00 PM more reviews by JustCakey

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This was fun for me, a really pinky kind of nude cream. I don't use it often, but when I wear it, I usually just wear it alone. It's very easy to use and kind of fun to put on.
I took a few lippies away because it's just a little too pink, I wouldn't buy it again, but that's just for the color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 AthenaNYC23 on 4/7/2014 6:23:00 PM more reviews by AthenaNYC23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

There I go again, hatin' on a product that everyone seems to love.

I really don't get the hype with these NYX jumbo pencils.
Hearing about all these rave reviews and watching youtubers use them in tutorials I was like "I gotta have them". Bought Yogurt and Iced Mocha because I thought the colors were pretty. Big mistake.

I can maybe see these working on someone with extremely dry eyelids, but for oily eyelids like mine, these are disastrous. They crease in MINUTES! I can't use them on their own, or as a base, they will melt and make a greasy mess out of my eye makeup.The texture is just waxy and sticky and gross and it's such a shame, 'cause the colors were super pretty. I might try them with a heavy duty primer and see how this goes but I'm definitely not hopeful.

I've heard Milani shadow eyez are super long wearing but I'm not gonna risk it. I'm kinda over cheap eye products for now.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cathykl on 2/13/2014 12:49:00 AM more reviews by cathykl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

NYX describes this as pearly light brown. It has hints of pink, peach and golden tones and would probably work for any skin tone. I use this on the inner corners of my eyes and also as an allover lid colour. I naturally have small, slightly hooded eyes and this looks adorable used to line beneath bottom lash line as well aka the eye smile. It actually reminds me a bit of some of the ayego sal eyeliners products.

This does have shimmer but it's not garish or over-the-top and the colour is neutral enough that this can worn at work or going out. I use a bit of primer underneath this and have no issues with it budging/sliding/moving or disappearing at all unless I cry my eyes out or something maybe - actually, used with WnW Fergie primer I can barely get this off. I tried it on my hand the first time over primer and it even withstood me washing my hands - it took 2 washes to get this stuff off (again - WITH primer). Without primer if I use it an allover lid colour it will crease in less than an hour as does everything else on my eyes so I'm not going to hold that against this pencil.

Overall - I love it and would repurchase and recommend these pencils to anyone!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cloroxcowgirl on 1/12/2014 4:03:00 PM more reviews by cloroxcowgirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

My rating for this product is 3.5. First, the color is gorgeous - a beige-pink-champagne shimmer that I think would look good on anyone. On me (very fair skinned/cool toned) it actually works as a crease color as well as all over the lid. It is very similar to UD Sin in color. I do like the look of it as a base for other champagne eyeshadows. However, anyone who expects this to be a stand alone eyeshadow base will be disappointed, since it does crease. Even with UD primer potion it creases on me. It also feels a bit greasy on the lid, and I find it difficult to blend out. The packaging is also quite cheap and the lid breaks easily. So, there are an even number of pros and cons for me with this product. I will continue to use the one I have but probably would not repurchase it, since I think a better quality dupe would be fairly easy to find.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NYX products

More Eye Shadow products