MakeupAlley has a FREE Android App!

DHC • Deep Cleansing Oil • Cleansers

rated 4.2(1336 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 CareBearReilly on 12/3/2014 10:12:00 PM more reviews by CareBearReilly

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I really love this. It's mild and doesn't sting, it emulsifies into a milky consistency when mixed with water, and rinses clean. It takes off all my makeup. Sometimes I have to make a second pass to remove mascara, but I sometimes get lazy when removing makeup and try to rush so that could be my own fault. I'm not sure. I would repurchase. I like this more than Shu Uemura and Shiseido. Those brands, to my nose, are too fragrant. This is just plain and simple but very effective. I don't always use it alone, sometimes I will use it and at night I wash my face with The Body Shop Tea Tree Oil face wash and follow up with the Aloe Night Cream. But even when I don't use the Body Shop wash after I don't notice any extra zits. This gets rid of the makeup so any pimples I get seem to be just hormonal. You should try it, it's definitely a good buy. It's "pricey" but you don't use a ton and it lasts a good long while, so it's a good bang for your buck in the long run.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ksy on 11/26/2014 7:07:00 AM more reviews by ksy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

NO THREAT TO ACNE PRONE SKIN. i have acnes which would appear anywhere on my face and have pus inside. i start using this as i really want to clean my face very very thoroughly to avoid clogging of any pores with dust/makeup.

i use a pump on my face and neck. it is efficient in cleaning off all the make up. before washing it off, i also use it as massage oil to massage my face and neck to improve blood circulation and firm the skin. after i wash it off with water, i would follow with my usual cleanser (benzoyl peroxide 4% from my dermatologist)

does not irritate skin or cause any further outbreak. highly recommend. if not for the price, it would have been perfect.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 meglovesbeauty on 10/21/2014 2:22:00 PM more reviews by meglovesbeauty

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have never liked the idea of using an oil on my face. I don't have oily skin but I just thought that an oil would turn my skin oily!

I received a tester sample of this and thought I may aswell give it a try as I hear so many good reviews about cleansing oils!

I am now a reformed character who has been cured of their cleansing oil phobia and now visit the church of DHC Deep Cleansing Oil each morning and night!

It leaves me skin feeling super clean but without feeling stripped, it gives me an amazing moisturised, smooth feel after rinsing it and I find that using a moisturiser after this makes my make up go on stunningly!

Could honestly say I will always use a cleansing oil in my routine from now on, although I'm open to trying different brands as this is the first one I've ever tried!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* georgia21 on 10/19/2014 6:55:00 PM more reviews by georgia21

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

M skin is dry and sensitive. I received a sample of this cleansing oil. It has a dry feel and doesn't remove makeup well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* finch96 on 10/8/2014 9:38:00 AM more reviews by finch96

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Add me to the ever growing list of people joining the DHC cleansing oil fangirl club. I started washing with another cleansing oil this summer because my poor, old (41), dry, sensitive skin was just in need of some serious rehab. Naturally I fell in love with the method, so when I ran out of the first brand of oil I tried, I decided to go ahead and try the famed DHC, and was of course not disappointed.

Probably the best thing about this, other than it's effectiveness of course, is the packaging. I love the pump style, and I love the clear bottle so you can SEE how much is left and not guess. Plus, save the little clippy thing for the pump neck, you can put that sucker back on and use it for travel to keep your bottle safe in your toiletry bag. My oil traveled safely on a 10 hour trip to and from Orlando with nary a drop spilled thanks to that little clip.

Onto the product itself. The biggest change for me from my first cleansing oil to this one is that with this one, it is recommended that you use it on dry skin, not wet. That is something that is hard to get used to, especially when you get in the shower and sort of stick your head under the spray immediately. You have to retrain yourself to NOT do that. At any rate, if you follow the instructions and use this product on dry skin, it absolutely works and works VERY well. It cuts right through makeup and takes it off, *boom*. It even removes Benefit They're Real! mascara (that's been applied on top of Cils XL primer, thankyouverymuch) without rubbing and scrubbing. I let it sit there on my lashes for like 30 seconds while I wash the rest of my face, then come back to my lashes, and you can actually feel the mascara coming off in little teeny crumbs. Kinda gross yet satisfying in a gross way, kwim? I will admit that I do a second cleanse after taking off a full face of makeup, because I'm sorta neurotic like that. *shrug* I believe clean pores are happy pores. My one complaint is that I haven't yet been able to use it with my Clarisonic and/or read any reviews (granted I haven't read all of the 1000+ reviews here) telling how to do that. I really love my Clarisonic and want to use it with the oil.

Regardless, my skin is hydrated, happy, and hasn't broken out at all (with the exception of the monthly hormonal gifts I always receive...yay). I am very pleased with this stuff, and absolutely recommend it. FYI, I purchased mine on Amazon.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TX14 on 10/3/2014 1:07:00 AM more reviews by TX14

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I have very acne prone skin and I have problems using many different products to get make up off and for my skin. I was amazed when I tried it, I went to wipe my face after and there was no dirt or makeup. Love this product

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aaberridge on 9/17/2014 12:45:00 AM more reviews by aaberridge

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My God.....where has this been all my life??? I love, love, LOVE this product. Honestly, the thought of using oil to clean my face just grossed me out and seemed counter-intuitive. I'm so glad I stepped out of my comfort zone. I use this product at night for makeup. Use dry, two pumps and rub between hands. Rub gently onto face and neck for roughly 30 seconds. Rinse with water...comes off clean and leaves skin feeling amazing. I follow with a gentle cleanser (Cetaphil) but I don't know if this step is really necessary. My skin feels so clean and amazing after only the oil. I follow this with my serum and eye cream, then I moisturize. My skin feels like heaven. It's not cheap, but the bottle is big and I can tell it will last a significant amount of time. Try this, chances are you will be very pleasantly surprised.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 starfish75 on 9/16/2014 12:25:00 AM more reviews by starfish75

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I absolutely love this cleansing oil! I have the 6.7oz for home and use the little baby 1oz ones with the screw top lid for travel. This has hands down been helping to keep my extremely acne prone skin clearer by removing ALL face makeup. I work 12hr days and use longwear makeup and this cleansing oil removes it with ease. I do prefer to use this as a makeup remover and follow up with my benzoyl peroxide cleanser to treat my (barely there now!) acne. I am currently using tretinoin so my skin can get a little flaky at times. The massaging of this oil onto my face works double as an exfoliator and removes all flakes just from the rubbing action! I don't use it for my eye makeup - for that I just use baby oil. This deep cleansing oil is so wonderful. Holy grail for me for sure.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 juliepap810 on 8/30/2014 12:49:00 PM more reviews by juliepap810

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Bought this while on a trip in Japan. I have read great reviews about it online, however the first time I tried it, I was not a fan! It broke me out the first time, as I have very acne-prone skin. It takes to time to see visible results, however SO TOTALLY WORTH IT!!!! This oil perfectly cleans out all traces of mascara, liquid eyeliner and eye brow pencil too. I wish they sold a bigger bottle though :/ Almost out of it after about 2 months of usage.

Do give this product a chance if you can, it is truly great and provided me with visible results after about 3 weeks of daily usage. Will definitely repurchase!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Grey3 on 8/5/2014 1:23:00 PM more reviews by Grey3

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Heard great reviews for DHC and it does cleanse my face beautifuly and removes all traces of my makeup with ease. It has a very very faint smell of rosemary which I like.

However: After my massage and cleanse routine (only using DHC), this oil leaves my hands horribly dried out, even more so than after using washing up liquid for the dishes ! It feels as though it has stripped every trace of moisture from my hands :(

It is important to say that I do have psoriasis on my hands which require alot of moisturising, but this product is oil based and supposed to be full of good things, so I can't understand why this is happening, and I am very disapointed as, otherwise it seems to work worderfully, no stinging eyes or oily residue.
Leaves my face totaly clean, but due to the warm weather my skin is in combination phase. I think this could be quite drying during the winter months when I get very dry skin.

Last night I added a few drops of Argan oil with the DHC in my palm, and this did help a little bit, but all-in-all I have to wonder what it's doing to my face, as it leaves my hands so dried out. I personaly think it would be a better productuc for people with oily/combo skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More DHC products

More Cleansers products