DHC Deep Cleansing Oil

4.2

1349 reviews

76% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

olive fruit oil, caprylic/capric triglyceride, sorbeth-30 tetraoleate, pentylene glycol, phenoxyethanol, tocopherol, stearyl glycyrrhetinate, rosemary leaf oil


on 3/27/2015 9:27:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Blue

A little pricey for what is just basically olive oil from what I can tell. I used this to dissolve makeup and remove my sunscreen. My skin was in really good condition, but I stopped using it because I stopped wearing the sunscreen. I didn't notice any change. This is good for a cleansing oil, I would recommend it, but won't buy again.



on 3/19/2015 5:10:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I just can't get used to oil cleansing. It doesn't feel like you're getting clean and it DEFINITELY doesn't get all of my makeup off! Maybe if you don't wear makeup it could work ok? Not for me.


on 3/19/2015 5:04:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

I can't live without this product!! Better than she demur's cleansing oil...

I use this at night time, instead of foaming washes. Keeps my skin supple and this removes even the toughest most waterproof makeup! As a result, my skin has never been clearer.

Purchased this for about 29 cdn from amazon.ca. Will repurchase!


on 3/12/2015 8:57:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

Really good makeup removing cleansing oil, before i continue i have combination skin with slight sensitivity.

1) This is a product i recommend to use after using some form of makeup remover first. Cleansing oils don't penetrate the skin deep enough to get everything out of the pores so its a good cleanser to just wash off any excess.
2) You MUST follow up with a normal cleanser after using this if you have combination - oily skin. It is a cleansing oil, no matter what the claims are you need to wash it off to be on the safe side.
3) It smells like nuts and does not feel oily on the skin at all
4) The price pretty pricey but its better than any i have tried so far.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this cleansing oil! I am trying out etude house one at the moment (and will probably be moving on to mizon and innisfree) but, at the moment, this one is still my favorite. One pump wipes away EVERYTHING and it doesn't seem to strip my skin away of the moisture. What more can you ask from a cleanser?

I was really afraid of the fact that this was oil since I have dealt with acne for 10+ years, but it doesn't break me out - and helped me get over the fear of using oil in my routine!

So yays. :].

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I was in Japan last November so wanted to buy a few products that were easier to get there. Since this product was so highly rated I thought I would give it a go.
Meh - you will get nothing from this product you won't get from regular oil cleansing with olive oil. So sure, it will take off your make-up and comes in good packaging but it's very over priced for what is essentially a small container of olive oil.
I have been using it for four months as a make up remover (I had two bottles of this stuff) but won't bother seeking it out now it is used up.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/28/2015 5:27:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I usually never review anything, but thought that I should forewarn others.

I do not have sensitive skin, but do break out with common things (MAC foundations, accidentally falling asleep with makeup on). This cleanser broke me out so badly that I just want to hide inside a cave. Though I may be exaggerating a bit, I have pimples in areas that I usually would not have breakouts. I couldn't pinpoint what was exactly breaking me out at first, whether it be stress, diet, etc but I started getting many many whiteheads, which is very uncommon for me. I didn't think this was causing breakouts because it took three months for it to actually have an effect on my skin.

It removes makeup well, even waterproof eye makeup. However, it was inconvenient that it had to be used on a dry face. I didn't like the white film it left and my face felt quite dry. Still, I thought because it was removing my makeup so well and because others loved it so much, I would continue to use it. Olive oil sounds great for the skin, so I thought why not? Fast forward a few months and now I can't leave the house without makeup on and have two huge pimples in combination with many reasonable sized ones and whiteheads. Very disappointed with the price, packaging and results of this product. ABSOLUTE REGRET.


on 2/7/2015 9:58:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I do not understand the hype with this product. The main ingredient is olive oil, which even when organic retails for a fraction of the price. There is also a lot of other junk ingredients in this product that I cannot understand. This may be very effective like many oil cleansers, but I do not think that this is a unique or special product given the ingredients list.


on 1/29/2015 9:56:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I can't figure out why I haven't reviewed this product before. I've been using it (faithfully!) for going on 4 years now. It removes my makeup, rinses off cleanly (no oily residue!) and when I take the time to massage it in, it loosens my clogs and I can actually feel the hardened grains of sebum as I massage it in. I think that is incredible! It doesn't break me out and doesn't require a second cleanser although I still generally use one to cleanse the skin. I do feel that this is geared more towards oily/combination skin types since it feels slightly drying on my skin so keep that in mind if your considering it! Otherwise, for oily, combination acne-prone skin, I cannot sing it's praises enough! It's a lifesaver!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 1/15/2015 10:42:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I received a DHC catalog a few years ago and this was one of the samples. At first I was hesitant about using oil to clean my combo skin, but decided to give it a try. After that, I was hooked and have been using it faithfully ever since. It is worth the price because a little goes a long way, one pump is all you need. I don't even need any eye makeup remover because this works so very well at removing mascara. And it has never caused my skin to break out or to become overly oily.

I like to massage it into my face and then hold a hot facecloth over my face to steam everything out of my pores. I then wipe it off and follow up my cleansing routine with the Pure Soap my DHC. How can I tell these products work well at removing everything? I follow up with applying witch hazel with a cotton ball and I never see any leftover residue on the cotton.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top