Kerastase Specifique Bain Divalent

3.8

40 reviews

60% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, TEA Lauryl Sulfate, Disodium Cocamphodiacetate, Cocamide MIPA, Glycol Distearate, Sodium Chloride, Hexylene Glycol, Sodium Benzoate, Capryloyl Glycine, Methylparaben, Polyquaternium 11, Carbomer, Salicylic Acid, Pyridoxine HCl, Guar Hydroxypropyltrimonium Chloride, Menthoxypropanediol, Butylparaben, Ethylparaben, Hexylcinnamal, Butylphenyl Methlyproprional, Isobutylparaben, Propylparaben, Linalool, Citronellol, Fragrance


on 3/25/2015 5:10:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This was my first Kerastase product I bought.
I hoped it will extend the time between the washing the hair. It worked fine for about half of the bottle, but then it was just like a regular shampoo.
It lathers well, it cleans the hair, but with no added benefit for such an expensive product.
And it also seems to leave me with no volume at roots.
I'm sorry it didn't work, as I had really high hopes for it.



Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

A very average shampoo. Seems to clean fine without weighing down my fine straight hair too much. Yet no volume observed. The shampoo is claiming to balance out the oily roots-dry ends. I could not see much improvement in this department. If you want just a basic shampoo, go for it. If you expect something more, pick something else instead.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Echoing previous positive reviews- this shampoo is fantastic! It's a miracle worker for oily roots, dry ends. I've tried other shampoos that make the same claim and have never found one that actually worked. My search is over. This may be my HG :) Will update if anything changes but so far so excellent ;)


on 7/7/2013 8:41:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

My hairdresser was commenting today on how silky and soft my hair was. I use just a small amount of the product to create sufficient amount of leather and a bottle lasts me 6-8 weeks. I did not see difference in reduction of oiliness but hair looks much healthier, bouncy and shiny. I have tried crystalliste bain previously and it made my lengths dry but this one is just a must have. My search is over!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/11/2013 10:35:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is the 1st shampoo that effectively helped me to extend time between washing my hair. I used to wash my hair every other day (3-4 times a week), now I wash it only twice a week.
It contains salicylic acid that truly eliminates sebum at the roots but if I use this shampoo more than twice a week it dries a little bit my scalp. Actually on the regular basis there is no need to wash my hair three times a week now, but sometimes I still feel like to refresh my hair because of an unexpected occasion or whatever. And in case I need to wash it the 3rd time during the same week I prefer to use another shampoo.
I cannot say it nourishes my dry hair lengths. I still need to apply oil before washing my hair. But other shampoos for oily/combination hair that I used were leaving my lengths really dry and this one doesn't dry out but doesn't moisturize either. I cannot say it really works as a balancing shampoo for me. But still I find it better than other shampoos for oily hair.
This shampoo contains Vitamin B6 (in the ingredients list it is called pyridoxine).They say it prevents hair loss and also increases the production of melanin (the chemical that gives hair its color). I do believe that it might work if taking food supplement but difficult to say how effectively it is when added in a shampoo.
It also contains glycine derivative. It helps to prevent hair from damage by keeping PH balance.
As for SLS, this shampoo contains sodium laureth sulphate and tea-lauryl sulphate that is a gentle version of all SLS.
If someone is interested, here is a guide that I found once and now I check all the shampoos accordingly: 1. Ammonium Lauryl Sulfate – the worst 2. Ammonium Laureth Sulfate - very harsh but better than the above 3. Sodium Lauryl Sulfate - better than the above, but still a little bit harsh. 4. Sodium Laureth Sulfate - gentle, great pick. 5 TEA lauryl Sulfate - good pick 6. TEA Laureth Sulfate -good pick.
I personally believe this shampoo is worth the money you pay for it. (I buy it for 16 euro)

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 3/3/2013 1:31:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

When I first tried this shampoo, I hated it. My hair was really damaged, and it didn't really like this shampoo for some reason, but now my hair likes it. I have fine hair, but lots of it, I and very oily roots, and I need shampoos to clean my scalp but do not take away moisture. This shampoo cleaned my scalp, and left my hair very smooth and stronger. Normally I use Lush rehab, and it's a bit the same. They both really clean my hair, but do not strip it. However I always use a conditioner after I've used Bain Divalent, because my ends are dry, but they've alway been dry, even though I have healthy lengths. I must warn you not to use it every single day. Use it once a week when you really want to clean your hair, but this isn't for every day use. If you want a shampoo for every day of the week, try Crystalliste. Crystalliste is very mild, and perfect for long hair.
It depends on your hair off course. My hair hates bain de force, it leaves a layer on my hair, and it makes it look greasy. And some of the styling products like ciment thermique and oleo relax serum were just awful. Only nectar thermique works, don't ask me why. Like I said it depends. If you really want to know if something works, just aks a sample.
I'm thinking of trying one of the bain nutritive shampoos, probably bain satin 2 or bain nutri-thermique. I really like nectar thermique, but I don't really like the masquintinse hair masque. So I don't know if bain satin 2 will be good for my hair.

I agree with Kérastase being very expensive, but it's better than supermarket shampoos. I've tried so many shampoos, and the supermarket shampoos really dried out my hair, and made it look static without any shine. So you pay for what you get. And it really lasts long, because you don't have to use a lot of shampoo, in fact you should add water instead of shampoo, using too much shampoo isn't good, and only use it on your roots, your ends will be cleaned when you rinse your hair.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/15/2013 12:58:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I had such high hopes for this shampoo, but what a let down! I have long fine hair, but there is lots of it so it can look quite full and fluffy. I don't do color treatments or anything like that. I just shampoo every other day and use the blow dryer on it and sometimes the curling iron. Anyway, thought that this shampoo would make it easier to go longer between washings since I have heard this is better for your hair. The shampoo states that it is for oily roots and dry or sensitized ends. My roots can get a little oily on the second day between washings and I feel like the lengths of my hair are a bit dry.

The first time I used it, I could actually hear my hair squeaking as I rinsed it out. It was clean, but almost stripped clean. When I dried it, it felt like straw. It looked like a rat's nest. By the afternoon it felt like it had a residue on it, almost like I hadn't rinsed it all the way - even though I know I had.

I was determined to make it work, however, and gave it another shot on my next shampoo day. Same negative result. But the worst was yet to come...

By the evening of my second wash with this shampoo my head had a few lumps on it. It felt like a breakout on my scalp, but they weren't pimples. Just painful raised lumps like an allergic reaction.

That's it for me. I don't think I'll try Kerastase again, despite the hype. I am sad to see a full bottle go to waste, but whatever is in this stuff did not agree with my hair or my scalp.

EDIT: Saw another reviewer who said to use it only once a week. I reluctantly gave it one more shot. So glad I did. I have been using it once per week and the rest of the time use my regular shampoo and conditioner. My hair feels great, smells great, and I have had no more allergies or reactions to the shampoo. Who knew there could be such a difference between using it every other day and using it once a week? Updated my rating to reflect how well the shampoo works for me now.


on 10/2/2012 7:24:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Can't say I liked anything about this product. It's very expensive, the packaging looks nice but not exactly the most practical for when it comes to distributing the product easily and it made my hair incredibly oily. It also made my scalp itchy, and I started to develop dandruff by the end of the week. :(


on 10/2/2012 6:51:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

My hairdresser recommended this stuff for my long, fine, colour-teated hair with very oily roots. It's ok, and perhaps it helps slightly with the oily roots to help me get another half day out of my hair, but that might also be all the dry shampoo that I have to use on the second day, and my hair still looks greasy! Expensive and not doing enough for the money, if you ask me. I wouldn't recommend it.


on 11/27/2011 2:14:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I can't live without this shampoo! My hair is very problematic, I have very oily roots and this is the only product that has helped me control the oil. My hair without this gets oily the same day I wash it, once a friend asked me if I still had my hair wet but it was just sebum (so embarrasing). But honestly, my problems went away with this shampoo, my hairdresser recommended it to me years ago and I've been loving it ever since. I don't even remember how many bottles of this I have bought. I love love this! The only bad thing is the price, is very expensive, but its worth it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Popular Shampoos


Shampoo
398 Reviews
Shimmer Lights
327 Reviews
Shampoo
179 Reviews
Baby Shampoo
328 Reviews


Top Rated Kerastase Products

image

Ciment Thermique

268 reviews
image

Nectar Thermique

130 reviews
image

Oleo-Relax Serum

313 reviews
Back to Top