Serge Lutens • cedre • Fragrances

rated 3.2(58 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.41%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* vmalenfant on 6/11/2013 7:23:00 PM more reviews by vmalenfant

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I was send Cedre by mistake by a online store, I order Feminite de bois and they send Cedre, Cedre costing more on the website I decide to open the box and try it anyway, fully aware I couln't returned if it was open, and boy was I happy of that mistake. Cedre is a really nice unisexe perfume I could se a man as well as of a woman wearing it. I do smell wood and dried fruit ... it kind of remind me of a mixer of Magie Noir the Lancome and Black orchid of Tom Ford weird in a good way in my case. It is warmer when it dry down with the spice taking more center stage. I can understand the hate it or love it feeling, it is not a "nice" scent, it's has a personnality and an attitude, and a good longevity

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Marybeth818 on 1/28/2013 7:24:00 PM more reviews by Marybeth818

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This smelled like grape soda or candy and I laughed out loud. Smell again ... Not quite grape but that's the closest ... I nice smelling grape, possibly flowers behind it? I focused my mind on thinking of cedar and can sort of feel it ... Grape cough drop.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ar on 5/29/2012 3:57:00 AM more reviews by ar

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

As a tuberose fan, I was looking forward to trying this. I like the clean, fresh smell of cedar wood and was very curious to see how it would smell when blended with one of my favorite heady white floral notes. I wasn't quite prepared for the somewhat nauseating opening. People are describing it as candied fruit but to me it smells like sweet and sharp patchouli, the note I hate most in all of perfumery. The heart of the fragrance once the patchouli note disappears is very nice. It's very warm, like a cinnamon red hot candy tuberose. And then there's the dry down. It's positively fecal. Many find this animalic quality sexy. I can understand that, but in this case I'm not such a fan. Unpleasant opening, nice heart, with poo as a base note? No thanks.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 forte on 10/20/2010 8:12:00 PM more reviews by forte

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I spritzed this on the back of one arm today at Blue Mercury...holy hell. No wonder I hadn't tried this one before - I forgot there's tuberose in it. It started off with that dried fruit accord that I get from a lot of Lutens and that I passionately detest. So, a spiced dried fruit and tuberose monster that actually left me a little nauseated and sparked a headache. About two hours in, I thought I was starting to like it - the cedar came through stronger and I could smell a hint of spice and warmth. Unfortunately, in the long drydown I'm now left with rubbery stale tuberose, generic spice, and, for lack of a better description, dirty panties. I feel like this is what hookers must smell like the morning after. Sorry Serge, you make some of my favorites, but when it's wrong on me, it's very, very wrong.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ocarina on 4/21/2010 7:41:00 PM more reviews by ocarina

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

Spray yourself with a big tuberose perfume of the 80's (Giorgio, Carolina Herrera, Fred Hayman 273, first-edition Chloe). Then go out for a night of absolute, wretched debauchery. Smoking, drinking, dancing, having sex, fighting, getting lost in bad parts of town, losing continence, upchucking, and finally collapsing, still dressed, into a fleabag motel at dawn. When you wake up, bleary-eyed and covered in myriad bodily fluids, you will smell like Cedre. Totally filthy and unpresentable and appropriate only in the tiniest doses, if ever.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tessture on 1/14/2010 2:48:00 PM more reviews by tessture

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Goes onto my skin as a rich, layered wood scent, but quickly starts to smell like a version of Tabu for men, complete with that cola note. (I suspect this is from the cinnamon and cedar together.) It's still very nice, stronger and more woody than Tabu, but with the same sort of profile. The cola fades a bit, but never leaves me, and I end up with a rich, complex oriental scent with that warm wood, an amber feel, and a note like dirty skin, which is the musk coming up and making me think nasty thoughts. This is not a scent I will wear, and certainly not a scent I would wear outside of a formal gown, but it is sexy and decadent. Not for me, but for someone, this is Holy Grail material.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LianH on 12/29/2009 10:56:00 PM more reviews by LianH

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Love this, and yes you need to love tuberose in a grand manner to embrance this one. It's not very woody nor very masculine, but while fracas is a bit dry and powdery this is more creamy I'd say.

The sillage on this one is incredible and it lasts forever.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stephhamilton on 12/29/2009 7:41:00 PM more reviews by stephhamilton

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Cedar totally dominates when I wear this, there is barely a hint of tuberose of anything floral, its just woody and quite masculine. After a couple of hours it gets more pleasant, cedar, spice, honey and amber but no tuberose. Its okay but I just don't love it enough to buy it after my sample runs out. It disappears quickly too three to four hours after application which is suprising considering how overpowering the first few minutes are!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lily_vert on 11/17/2009 11:16:00 PM more reviews by lily_vert

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Every now and then I smell a perfume and all I get is an ugly grape jelly note - this is one of those instances. I couldn't wait to wash it off. I love Chene and Chergui - but this is literally annoying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* condesadepitimini on 12/16/2008 6:55:00 AM more reviews by condesadepitimini

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Cèdre is a huge, strong bold woody/spicy fragrance. Very, very spicy at the beginning.
Loud, like a frag of the Eighties.
I was probably expecting the fruit (i like all citrus notes) of cedar coming out.. Indeed , this is not the case.
It starts off harsh and medicinal… maybe the resins?
Not feminine at all. I was expecting the tuberose (a note I adore) being soft and feminine and all I have is an headache.
Very heavy on the woody note : more than the cedar wood I smell something warmer and heavy, like sandalwood.
Very spicy on the cinnamon and clove.
I do not like it so much, although I must admit it is an interesting fragrance, especially in the dry down, warm and powdery.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Serge Lutens products

More Fragrances products