Philosophy • Vanilla Birthday Cake 3-in-1 • Gels/Soaps

rated 2.9(139 reviews)

Average Rating.2.9
Would buy this product again.32%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 JPerezBeauty15 on 2/16/2015 4:20:00 PM more reviews by JPerezBeauty15

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I am absolutely loving this new soap from philosophy! I probably use it every night for both shower and baths, the aroma of it is wonderful and not too potent leaves a nice scent after use. It's not too harsh as it doesn't over dry my skin like some soaps do, it's doesn't leave any type of stain in my bath and it also doesn't leave any type of oily film on my skin either.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 OFFICALREVIEWER on 2/16/2015 1:22:00 PM more reviews by OFFICALREVIEWER

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Does not feel like a bath product. Feels like lollipop residue. Sticky, does not lather easily, DOES NOT BUBBLE BATH (it's like sticking dirty lollipop at the bottom of your bath, how great!). And the worst part you may ask? I USED TO LOOOVVVEEE this product! It used to lather like no ones business, bubble like crazy, and was very smooth. The only thing I still hated that is still the same is the terrible packaging. PUMPS OR SIMPLE SQUIRTS FOR BATH PRODUCTS COME ON!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 itsroxy87 on 1/4/2015 12:02:00 AM more reviews by itsroxy87

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Like many other reviewers, I got this from Sephora one year as my birthday gift.
At first I thought the packaging was cool since it has a recipe on it.
The smell is fake vanilla which I hate so wasnt a fan of that.
I used it once and didnt find anything special about it. It doesnt really moisturize and doesnt smell good.
The biggest thing that turned me away from this product was the caution info on the back.
Maybe its because Ive never seen this before on a personal care product (even though it might apply to other products) but if something tells me it might cause UTIs in females, Im not using it anymore!
I only used as a shower gel, not as a shampoo or bubble bath, and I found it drying. But especially after reading that it may cause UTIs, Im sure as hell throwing it out !
Now I know that it comes from the US and they have different laws on what has to put on the labels, and Im sure a lot of other companies just arent telling customers so bluntly about their products.
But when I read something like that, it doesnt make me want to use it or really any Philosophy product again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TurtleMoon on 3/23/2014 7:16:00 PM more reviews by TurtleMoon

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have to agree with others here when they say that this just didn't deliver what they expected it to. There's no denying this is moisturising when used as a shower gel (although I can't comment on its abilities as a shampoo or bubble bath as I've never used it as either), but it's the scent that was a real let down for me and the sole reason I wouldn't repurchase. It doesn't really smell how I imagined vanilla birthday cake would - in fact it was very bland and synthetic smelling. Thankfully in my case - although I know others would probably find this a negative point - it doesn't linger once you've used it. The synthetic scent of this means I wouldn't want to continue to smell of it throughout the day. Overall I'm glad I tried it, but I can certainly think of other things to spend 14.00GBP on.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Definitelygorgeous on 12/12/2013 6:26:00 PM more reviews by Definitelygorgeous

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to like this product because I am a huge fan of vanilla scented things. Unfortunately this was a miss for me, there was nothing I liked about this product. The scent was off and smelled like cheap, children lip balm.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cathykl on 11/29/2013 7:27:00 PM more reviews by cathykl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Thank goodness I got this for free - and now I know why. I was excited to try it as I usually like warm, vanilla scents and thought this might smell good - but I was wrong. It smelled to me like burning plastic and expired sour cake. It's way overpriced and barely lathers. Thick and goopy and hard to squeeze out of the bottle. I tried to use it up but finally just decided I'd had enough and tossed it into the bin.

I'd rather use any other body wash or soap - Dove, Okay etc which leave my skin way softer and don't smell bad either.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 vanessaaaaax on 11/29/2013 7:08:00 PM more reviews by vanessaaaaax

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I dont understand what other people are saying and giving this product such bad reviews! I think that this is an absolutely lovely product! It lathered up HEAPS when i used it, so there are no complaints there, I loved the fact that it lathered up so much! It really softened my skin, when I got out of the shower it was like heaven when I felt my skin. As for the scent I think that the vanilla scent is very prevalent and strong in a nice way! others are saying it smells like nothing, but i have to disagree there, i believe that it smells really nice and sweet, just like vanilla! Packaging is pretty good i think its sturdy and pumps out really nicely. In australia the price is kind of expensive, its about $30 which is kinda steep for just a body wash, but it is a really nice body wash if i must say. I would definitely repurchase this product, maybe even in different scents, I think that this is a great product and everyone should definitely try it! If anything the only negative I have is that once you wash it off the scent doesnt stick to your body as much, but hey your washing it off so what do you expect!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 cawhitern on 12/30/2012 11:11:00 AM more reviews by cawhitern

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I so wanted to like this............but it's just OK. I usually am a fan fo Philosphy. Purchased when watching QVC (must learn to resist those ladies!) and got a 3 bottle set. The fragrance is just so-so and doesn't last at all. I see no benefit to my skin and find myself in a hurry to use it up. Save your money. I won't repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cainca on 9/23/2012 11:13:00 PM more reviews by cainca

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

A bad product that I got from Sephora for free for my birthday last year. It doesn't smell good and doesn't lather well. I hate it. It must be a mistake.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cheeky on 9/16/2012 7:00:00 PM more reviews by cheeky

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Got this for free from sephora like everyone - mediocre at best. Doesn't lather well, the scent is kind of tacky and does not stay on skin, and this def would not be good for the face, I can just tell it would make me break out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Philosophy products

More Gels/Soaps products