TheBalm • Stainiac • Lips

rated 4.2(76 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 lozzie88 on 12/7/2014 3:50:00 AM more reviews by lozzie88

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this a while ago, thinking it would be a kinda dupe for my benetint, which i love the look of on my lips when I build it up, but it can be kinda drying. Since this is more of a jelly product, I thought it would be okay. I then forgot all about it, and lately (I'm gonna blame Taylor Swift) I've been getting back into the red lip trend. I remembered this and have been using it the last few days. It doesn't become as pigmented as benetint, and when you build it up it leans more pink than red, but it's still really pretty. Since it's a creamier product it's not drying, and the applicator is much easier to apply to the lips than the benetint brush (and it's more handbag friendly). It doesn't seem to have a scent to it, and it's not sticky. It's not a bright in your face color, but it's still really nice and can be worn day or night. I find the staining effect is pretty decent, and wears off evenly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sprite26 on 10/4/2014 1:32:00 PM more reviews by sprite26

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love TheBalm's Stainiac and I have it in all 3 shades. It's perfect for a sheer wash of lip color that lasts and lasts. It really is a stain and I don't have to worry about reapplying it. There's no taste and no transfering. Very flattering and also very low-maintenance. This is a product that I would buy again and again!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 RachelEDNC on 11/11/2013 11:07:00 PM more reviews by RachelEDNC

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I am on my 4th bottle of this stuff. I actually don't use it for lips, as it is a bit drying. I love it on my cheeks! The stuff is soo easy to blend and it takes juuust long enough to set that you have a chance to work with the product before it "stains." I find it is pretty long lasting. I put it on in the morning and don't look like a ghost by 5 PM that day. I would probably need a touch up for evening if I were going somewhere, but I think that is true with most makeup.

My one gripe with this is the product comes in a tube with wand and it is kind of difficult to get the remains of the product out. I generally can bang the tube on the counter and release the product. When it gets really low, I stick it in the microwave (minus the cap) for just 1-2 seconds. Heating seems to liquify it enough that I can then shake the excess product to a more reachable place for the wand. Maybe I am destroying the formula, but it seems to be fine after this. Also, don't microwave longer or the bottle will melt (TRUST ME!)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 moreyuna on 9/27/2013 6:02:00 AM more reviews by moreyuna

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love it! I bought prom queen shade so I though it will be a little pinkish, but it goes a hint of sheer red. The staying power last for the next 6 hours, but this product tends to make my lips more drier, so I have to put some lip balm or lip base before apply stainiac.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 alleeyanah on 8/13/2013 12:22:00 AM more reviews by alleeyanah

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

For some reason the tint isn't as long-lasting and vivid as I thought it would be on my lips however I just LOVE how it looks on my cheeks! I love make-up that just makes you look naturally pretty and this definitely gives that natural blush. I also love how the color is buildable so if you want subtle cheeks just dab a little and if you want IN-YOUR-FACE-IM-BLUSHING you can dab a lot hahaha. Love it!! :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 gabiiricooo on 7/27/2013 5:11:00 PM more reviews by gabiiricooo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Being the owner of all three gorgeous shades of theBalm's Stainiac lip stain, I can certainly say this product is well-worth the price. These stains are a pleasure to work with since they are in an aloe-base. Their gel-like consistency lends itself to easy blending on the cheeks but also helps prevent your lips from looking dehydrated.
Beauty Queen is a gorgeous berry-pinky color and is by far my favorite. It is perfect for those who enjoy the oxblood-red color but don't want to commit to such a bold lipstick (which can be messy and tricky). It also looks lovely on the cheeks.
Prom Queen is a more reddish pink color. It is a bit bolder than Beauty Queen on the lips making it perfect for the summer time.
If you're a fan of coral, Homecoming Queen is the stain for you! Despite its intimidating bright orange color in the packaging, it blends with the pigmentation of your lips to create a bright coral color.
Overall, the lasting power on these stains is pretty great. They wear beautifully and don't get patchy or awkward looking during the day.
In terms of scent and taste, they are not necessarily the most pleasant. The aloe makes them smell a bit like baby wipes and taste quite bitter. Regardless, the scent and taste are very tolerable and I don't find them to be a turn-off at all.

There you have it! If you're looking for a higher-end lip stain, this might be the one!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AUSSIEMUMMA on 1/2/2013 5:31:00 PM more reviews by AUSSIEMUMMA

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Stainiac is my favourite lip stain. It comes in three pretty, quite natural-looking shades. It has slightly buildable colour, doesn't dry out my lips and stays on a really long
time. I will be buying Stainiac for life!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 shelbysahara on 12/28/2012 10:50:00 PM more reviews by shelbysahara

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I like the natural look of this stain, and it isn't drying. Unfortunately, it doesn't do much staining, and that's the wheel point of a lip stain. Fades very quickly. Will not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 avawalton on 11/12/2012 3:23:00 AM more reviews by avawalton

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

lots of people here have said this product is drying on the lips and does not have enough tint.
i disagree, but it depends on what you are looking for.

first - i have medium-dark olive toned skin with yellow undertones. so, i'm probably darker than the majority of reviewers here.
even so - this product DOES SHOW UP and nicely.

i have been using "Beauty Queen" since about 2008. Before that i used Benetint. i'm a permanent convert unless they discontinue Stainiac.

Things to know:
this is NOT a pigment - it is a TINT or stain (a true one). it's not a super-sticky, super-matte, semi-perm "long-lasting" liquid or creme pigment like many lip/cheek stains. it is water-based with a gel-like in texture.
it is just a bit "sticky" when compared to a pure liquid product like Benetint but it "dissolves" into the skin on contact and, in my opinion, is superior to a liquid. there is no streaking.
there is no need to hurriedly apply and blend it in order to avoid a hard edge and uneven tint (something that can happen with Benetint)
it does "layer" (to an extent) - ie, if you put on a little you get a little tint. if you put on more, you get a little more tint, etc. you can achieve the just-barely "sun-kissed" look or you can push it to the "i just drank a whole bottle of wine" look.

personally, i love that "flushed" look (not full-on alcoholic, but almost there). it's the same effect i get naturally by drinking a glass or two of wine (i'm part Asian). people seem to notice (and for whatever reason, men in particular seem to respond to that kind of flush - go figure...)

So for those of you looking for a TINT/STAIN that is light-weight and NATURAL-appearing i do not think that you will be disappointed.
if you are actually looking for something with high impact color or a strong hue or something with color that can be easily gradated, then you probably want a creme or powder. Even Benetint can get pretty dark with enough layers. Stainiac doesn't go into "goth" territory.
it's stays in "young girl flush" territory (and who doesn't want that?). not sure if i can say this here, but it makes one look like they just had a VERY good time (if you get my meaning).

as for longevity: not the best on the lips (not the worst) - just "pretty good". it lasts until you eat, drink or lick your lips a few times. on the cheeks - GREAT longevity (IMO anyway; when i apply to my cheeks it stays until i wash my face or i start crying or sweating profusely --- i have combination to oily skin)

LOVE IT. Worth the price (when you consider other products that are similar).


9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ksasi04 on 9/25/2012 9:27:00 AM more reviews by ksasi04

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I like this stain. It looks pretty natural, but it fades after a little while so you have to keep applying it throughout the day. Also, use a lip balm with it, since most stains tend to be rather drying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More TheBalm products

More Lips products