Smashbox Photo Finish Color Correcting Foundation Primer- Smashing Color Adjust

3.3

126 reviews

50% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/8/2015 9:37:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have the clear photo finish primer and the green color correcting primer. They are both really good primers. The photo finish works really good on my oily skin it doesn't necessarily mattify my skin but it does control a bit of my oils, blurs out some on my large pores and creates a smooth canvas for my foundation. The green color corrector primer cancels out my redness. When I do a full on glam look I like to apply my oil control moisturizer first, then the green color corrector usually only around my cheek area and around my nose where I have redness, and then the photo finish primer. My makeup looks pretty nice. I do really recommend the photo finish primer, but you can skip the green corrector primer for a cheaper alternative (maybe L.A. Girl pro Green corrector) and it will do the job just as good.



on 4/4/2015 11:06:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I purchased the smaller size green shade at Sephora last summer and I finally just finished it.

I find that it didn't do anything to counteract any redness and it was just like any other regular primer.

I have a NYX primer that I like a lot better than this and their full size is cheaper than the mini of this one!

Also, I saw a great video on YT recently. If you do like any of these primers, it is a lot cheaper to buy two of the small ones rather than the full size. It equals out to be the exact same amount of product!


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've been looking for a face primer to increase the longevity of my make-up. Typically, my makeup only lasts for a couple of hours before I have to touch-up, but with this product it lasts all day (8-9 hrs). It exceeded my expectations on that account. My skin is very easily irritated and I have redness on my cheek bones and T-Zone that are hard to cover, which is why I opted for this color correcting primer from Smashbox. It is green, but goes on clear. It's extremely lightweight and feels velvety smooth going on. I love it! I will say I see the best results when I allow the primer to set for a few minutes before adding a BB cream or foundation. Overall, this is the best experience I've had with a primer and I can't imagine trying anything else. I do wish the full-size bottle wasn't so expensive ($40), but in this case the product is worth the price. I originally purchased a travel size bottle (only $12), which lasted 6 months. The key is to make sure you're using very small amounts of the product, no more than what is absolutely necessary. This product provides good coverage so you shouldn't need much.


on 2/3/2015 12:33:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

My skin is far from perfect, and I try a lot of different products to hide the flaws that I have. Redness is one of them, so I thought that this might be a good solution to help camouflage. I have 3 lines (not fine, but not deep yet) on my forehead, and some fine lines around my eyes. I have combination skin, normal in the cheek and forehead area, oily in the TZone. I have melasma on both of my cheeks that resulted from sun exposure when I was pregnant. As well as red marks from blemishes from when I was a teenager.

This did not perform the way I thought it would. I usually shy away from silicone based primers, but the color correcting properties drew me to this, and I bought it anyway. I should have went with my instinct, because when I first applied, I had that horrible slippery feeling on my face that I just do not like. I let it set for 10 minutes, and did not notice a huge difference in the unevenness and overall redness of my face. I applied my foundation, and color wise, it looked the same as when I use primers that I like the texture of.

I tried a few more times with different foundations to give this a fair shake, but I really do not feel like it performs the way it is described as performing. It is green in color, but sheer when applied and didn't see any correcting in my skin. I returned it, and will not repurchase.

(As a side note: Smashbox primers are very difficult to get the last of the product out of their bottles. I have purchased 2 of their hydrating primers and cut the bottle both times to get to the remaining product. That is why I rated the packaging as low as I did).


on 12/3/2014 2:52:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

OK, so I have very red, splotchy skin after I wash my face, it's easily irritated by slightest touch! this primer is great! I got it in green, bc of course green counteracts redness, and I just love how Well it corrects my redness. I have very acne prone skin and this does not seem to trigger any new break outs which is automatically fantastic in my book bc I Usually try to avoid primers for that reason. if anything it seems to even be helping, along with my blemish control routine I'm following! I love this bc it's extremely lightweight, doesn't feel disgusting like most drugstore primers, and it's almost a satin feeling, which I love. it's made a world of difference in how my foundation applies and stays put a good 5 hours of my workday, I tend to need to powder by hour 6. but Hey ill take it. I really love this primer and Usually I despise primers

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/6/2014 4:50:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Curly, Other

Eyes: Brown

This stuff is awful. I was hoping it would tone down my redness (mostly nose-area, thanks to allergies that leave me just sort of perpetually splotchy to a certain degree). The green is barely perceptible and does nothing to neutralize the red. As a primer it's even worse - my makeup smears together (eye makeup) and/or balls up (most foundations); one way or the other, my makeup has worn off far earlier in the day than it does without the primer. Won't even finish it up.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/25/2014 5:39:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Bought this in both the original white coloured "oil free" formula and in the green "colour correcting" formula. I much prefer the white "oil free" one, though I don't love either of them. The green one did nothing for my redness, did not spread very well (you need a ton to cover your whole face) and started to ball up when i would apply my foundation. I notice no difference between using no primer, and using the green one. The consistency of it is just blah. I much prefer the Lise Watier green primer or the Pur minerals one. Will definitely not repurchase a smashbox primer, especially at such a high price ($40 CAD).


Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is a lovely primer, that gives a smooth base for foundation.

In warm, humid weather, I put it on straight after washing, without any moisturiser (I have dry skin).

I put my bb cream over the top, and the combination gives just enough moisture, and lasts all day.

This product isn't greasy like many other silicone primers.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other

Eyes: Blue

I got this over a year ago, and I ran out of it so I got a new tube. I have really red skin (rosacea), and I like to cover it up.

It doesn't take away all the redness, but it definitely does something. For the best result, put the primer on and blend it into your skin, and let it soak in for a few minutes before applying your foundation. You will notice a little diffrence, but it does NOT cover up all your redness.

As a primer goes, it works wonderful. It keeps your makeup on, smooths your skin so you have a nice base to put your makeup on.

Pro's:
-It's awesome as a primer
-Keeps your makeup on
-Creates a wonderful base
-Takes a away some of your redness
-Has a smart packaging

Con's
-Doesn't take away ALL your redness,

I will buy this again, just because I love it as a primer, but not as much as a corrector. I think if your looking for a corrector you are better off with a green concealer.

Sorry for non-perfect English, I'm Swedish.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 6/19/2013 1:33:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I really hate this stuff, #1 it broke me out everytime I would use it, it clogged my pores so badly. It felt like I had a mask on under my makeup and on top of that the price was high, def will not be making this purchase again!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top