Smashbox • Photo Finish Primer • Primer/ Corrector

rated 3.2(1688 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.47%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 annamx on 1/23/2015 12:44:00 PM more reviews by annamx

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

SUCH an amazing product, makes my skin feel so smooth and my foundation goes on perfectly, blends well and lasts all day. Has a bit of a weird smell but not overpowering. Price is expensive but it lasts a long time, I've had mine for 3 months and I have over half the tube left. Packaging is very good. Make sure you allow it to dry before applying foundation, as if it has not dried it will just rub off and take your foundation with it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 asiarobyn on 1/23/2015 12:33:00 AM more reviews by asiarobyn

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

i feel like this is the most known primer , but it's definately not the best. It feels good on my skin and doesn't break me out but it also makes my makeup slip and slide and doesn't cover my pores well. It's one of those feels good on my hand primers.

If its any help in deciding if you want this primer , I'm mixed with a medium skin tone, kind of pale because it's winter and my skin is not only combination , but also acne-prone
( have used this primer for 4 months on and off)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 leenaangel on 1/18/2015 10:46:00 AM more reviews by leenaangel

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I found this primer to be wayyyy too greasy. I don't have oily skin, so I didn't think it would matter. it made my skin feel nice, but I didn't last an amazing amount of time or make my skin super flawless. I really wanted it to work, especially since I paid over $40 for it, but I decided to return it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 giggles292 on 1/18/2015 12:11:00 AM more reviews by giggles292

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Not a big fan of this primer...very plain, basic and too expensive. It does feel very silky smooth on the skin but IMO if you are going to use this product you might as well try the Monistat Chaffing gel since they are nearly identical.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Caracara87 on 1/14/2015 11:13:00 PM more reviews by Caracara87

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

My go-to primer. If you think it's too oily/greasy you are probably using way too much! A little goes a long way! I'm talking like smaller than a pea size! I use a buffer type brush and put a drop or two of this primer and a squirt of smashbox 15 hour foundation (my HG foundation!!) and buff it onto my face. It is amazing stuff!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Christina09 on 1/12/2015 2:37:00 PM more reviews by Christina09

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I love this primer but damn it's too expensive. It smooths on nicely and covers my pores very well. My foundation goes on very well overtop and lasts all day. In the summer I'll even just wear this to smooth out my skin. But honestly the ELF primer has the same texture and does the same thing and it's only $3. I wouldn't buy this again just because of the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* VeruskaRai on 1/10/2015 10:02:00 AM more reviews by VeruskaRai

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I know this was one of the first big primers to show up on the market, but apparently I have been living under a rock because I had a premium sample from Sephora and absolutely love this stuff. Now it's not 24 hour coverage, but I'm going to give it a solid eight hours, which I'm content with. I don't have to touch up my powder when I'm at work anymore. My face looks so nice and pretty with this. I just have a smoother complexion and texture. I have oilier skin so I'm going give the oily skin version a try next.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lalalovee on 12/30/2014 8:59:00 PM more reviews by lalalovee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is an average product. Works the same as drugstore primers

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aznmnkygrl808 on 12/25/2014 2:39:00 AM more reviews by aznmnkygrl808

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I used my sephora points to try the full sample size of this product. To be honest, it's alright. It glides on smooth, makesy foundation go on nicely and most importantly, it doesn't make my breakout.

I love benefit's porefessional. I think it does a better job at filling in pores compared to the smashbox primer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 deadmap on 12/12/2014 5:10:00 PM more reviews by deadmap

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I was given this primer as a gift and decided to use it as a base for my makeup on my work days. I don't typically use primer if I'll only be out for a few hours, but on the days where I work 9+ hours, I've experimented to see if this primer works well for me. I'm judging its performance based on the before/after quality of my makeup on long work days.

First off, this primer is definitely not oily (and I have some combo-oily skin) and does glide on smoothly. It does smooth out my face and gives me an even canvas to put my foundation on. It doesn't make me oily during the day and after foundation, I set my makeup with a powder.

After a long work day, my foundation has mostly worn off (especially around my cheeks) so I can't say this primer helps to keep my foundation on any longer than I would expect. I use a dewy foundation, so if this primer were used with a foundation that had a matte finish or was already long lasting on its own, then that might be a winning combination.

I don't have super dry or oily skin so I can't speak on that, but I will try a more long-wearing foundation with this primer to see if it makes any difference. Right now, with my current foundation routine, I'm not that impressed. It's not a holy grail primer for me and I won't repurchase.

This product seems to work differently for everyone, so I would recommend getting a sample or trying it on your skin before purchasing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Smashbox products

More Primer/ Corrector products