Smashbox Photo Finish Primer

3.2

1722 reviews

47% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Dimethicone, Trisiloxane, Silica, Dimethicone/ Vinyldimethicone Crosspolymer, Ethylhexyl Salicylate, Retinyl Palmitate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Carthamus Tinctorius (Safflower) Seed Extract, Propylene Glycol, Water (Aqua, Eau), Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Extract, Cola Acuminata Seed Extract, Camellia Oleifera Leaf Extract


on 7/27/2015 3:55:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

For the price I was really hoping this would do the job of keeping my makeup in place, but nope. It stays on for maybe an hour and then my oil melts away anything on my face. Sigh. Oily skin probs.

Only redeeming quality is a little goes a long way.



on 7/26/2015 5:59:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Didn't work out for me at all...and I tried it with at least 4 different foundations. It made everything on my face slip and slide. It does feel nice and smooth on the skin and that's about it..at least for me.
Prime Time by Bareminerals is a similar consistency but work much better.


on 7/18/2015 7:40:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I really like this product. I got the one for open pores and it really works. I have really large pores and very noticeable, but when I put this all over my face it really blurs out the pores and the make up sits very well on it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/17/2015 5:31:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

ANother primer that works ok, but breaks me out!!!


on 7/15/2015 6:38:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

So I currently have a love/hate relationship with this specific primer. My skin is oily. Wen I say oily I'm talking five minutes after my makeup is done and its humid out, my face looks so dewy and slick. Now under certain foundations (Revlon photo ready and Revlon 24 hour) this primer is fantastic. It fills in my acne scars, hides most of my pores and controls my oil. Now when I wear this with my Kat von D lock it tattoo foundation it looks HORRIBLE. The foundation looks muddy the bronzer looks muddy and my oily face looks horrible. It doesn't cover any scars or pores , If anything it will accentuate them. I don't know if these only work with certain foundations bur for the price I wont buy it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/13/2015 9:45:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This has got to be one of the worst beauty products I have ever tried. It even managed to turn me off of primers for awhile since this was the first one I had ever tried and it just was awful. I figured all primers were like that. It broke me out, made me MORE oily (like how does that even happen?), and just made my foundation look like crap. It was expensive and not worth the price at all. I tried this after a couple years to see whether I still hated the product and I did. It was awful, and gave me a few little bumps after just one use. Will not be touching this stuff again. Something that could use this is the trash can with how crappy it was. I would give this a 0/5 rating if I could that was how bad it made my skin and my foundation look. I will be giving the L'Oreal Magic Lumi Light Infusing Primer as it is MUCH cheaper and I have heard fantastic reviews about it. Hopefully it turns out better than this one as this was quite a disappointment. Would not recommend this product in any way, shape, or form.


on 7/8/2015 3:47:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I wanted to get this so badly because I heard so many good things about it. Literally everyone seemed to be obsessed with this primer and all of its reviews on the sephora website were great. I finally picked up the travel size of this primer but i thought it looked awful on my dry skin. It clung to my dry areas and literally wouldn't absorb into my skin like I would keep rubbing and this just took off dead skin when it was really dry and looked horrible it made my makeup look even worse. Also I was not crazy about the siliconish gel texture of this primer. For oily skin, I think this product would work wonders. I tried this on my cousin who has oily skin and it absorbed into her skin so well and soread out beautifully and make the foundation go on really well and last longer. If you have oily skin definitely try this out but not at all for dry skin.


on 6/21/2015 4:44:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I do not think this product anchors foundation to my skin. I just feel like there is another layer of something on my skin. This is also expensive for what it is- basically silicone. I would not repurchase.


on 6/18/2015 8:32:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

My favorite primer of all time is the porefessional but I got this as a sample and it really is nice, I don't love it as much as porefessional but this has such a silky smooth feeling and I think it makes my skin look better throughout the day especially now since my skin has been throwing a tantrum this seems to have even it out when I have makeup on


on 6/17/2015 12:12:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I never buy primer -- I always just get samples through subscription bags! You need so little of it and it's so expensive to buy from Sephora. This one is okay -- a little greasy, but I liked being able to try it through Ipsy. https://www.ipsy.com/new?refer=2vny6


Popular Primer/ Correctors


Back to Top