Smashbox Photo Finish Primer

3.2

1728 reviews

47% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Dimethicone, Trisiloxane, Silica, Dimethicone/ Vinyldimethicone Crosspolymer, Ethylhexyl Salicylate, Retinyl Palmitate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Carthamus Tinctorius (Safflower) Seed Extract, Propylene Glycol, Water (Aqua, Eau), Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Extract, Cola Acuminata Seed Extract, Camellia Oleifera Leaf Extract


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This has been my go-to primer for several years. I've tried a couple of the Smashbox Primers. This one and Photo Finish Light are generally the ones I reach for.

The consistency is gel-like. It's very easy to apply and glides over the skin. It feels greasy at first but once it sets, your skin will feel velvety to the touch.

I always use liquid foundations. I feel like this primer works best with dryer or mattifying liquids. While Photo Finish Light blends into the skin more like a lotion, this primer sits on top of the skin more, so it keeps foundations from settling into your fine lines and clinging to dry patches. Photo Finish Light is better for dewy finish foundations. I think both Primers are great depending on what foundation you're using them with.

This keeps my makeup on all day. No creasing or patchiness. Definitely a five star product and something I will continue to use. It's pricey, but it improves the longevity of your makeup so it's totally worth it in my book.



on 8/30/2015 10:14:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This made my face breakout and like others have said, it can be greasy especially if your skin is a tad bit on the oily side already. I too feel like my pores are somewhat clogged. Took me awhile to figure out that this was the cause. Its a no-go for me.


on 8/27/2015 5:27:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Greasy and makeup seemed to slide right off my face or get stuck in the pores. I used the oil free version. Did absolutely nothing but dent my wallet. Never again, only glad I got the trial size.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/21/2015 11:01:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I used this primer for about 10 months and recently switched to Hourglass' No28 Primer Serum. What a difference! I have now realized just how greasy the Smashbox primer made me. I have normal/combination skin.

Smashbox helped with the longevity of my makeup but I think it made me perhaps too greasy. If you have dry skin this may work for you, or maybe another primer from their line.

For me, I'm glad I switched to Hourglass finally.


on 8/5/2015 10:29:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Am I the only one who's going to complain about the smell? It's not foul or very potent but it's fairly chemicalish in nature and I hate it.

Ok, so I was never the biggest makeup person and took a long time to figure out how nnot to look cakey or streaky or like a teenage girl experimenting with makeup. When I discovered primers (in general) I had an epiphany, a real OMFG moment. But enough about primers in general (highly recommended) THIS primer is amazing. It's a bit thicker than I anticipated but once you smear it on it's silky smooth and super lightweight. After a minute you can't even feel it. I was very iffy about the price when I first got it because I live in a country where 1oz of this stuff is $70 but it's totally worth it.

I have super sensitive skin and I had zero reactions to this stuff. A lot of primers claim they're dermatologically tested with hypoallogenic crap. NO. THIS PRIMER IS THE ONE THAT DOESN'T MAKE ME BREAK INTO HIVES OR START ITCHING.

You only need half a chicken nugget dallop to prep your entire face (um, well depends on how big the nuggets are in your country) but it does it's job at keeping your makeup on. After a few hours (around the 4-5 hour mark) a little shininess may come through so it's oil-absorbing/controlling properties are a big exaggerated but overall a great product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/2/2015 12:30:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I bought this back in May after thinking I needed a primer for my Chanel foundation. I have oily skin and live in a humid area. I have always loved how my skin looks with the Chanel foundation I use, even if I am having hormonal breakouts I still have this glow. Not with this crap. I do usually get a few pimples around TOM and i do have large pores in my tzone with oily skin. But within a week of using this I began noticing all the pores on my face looked clogged and dirty. I wash my face well every morning and remove all makeup and wash every night, plus use a mask a couple of times a week. I also started getting cystic acne on my cheeks, chin, and even on my forehead, not to mention all the other zits that I would see by the end of every day. I don't wear makeup every day either and don't wear tons when I do. I have had even more blackheads with this stuff. This is the only new product I have started using so I know it's this. It feels like an icky film, no matter how small amt you use. And honestly it made my makeup look horrible, pasty cake and it lost that chanel glow. At least when I don't wear this my foundation blends into my skin and looks like my skin. I'm done with this stuff. Glad I only bought the travel size.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/27/2015 3:55:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

For the price I was really hoping this would do the job of keeping my makeup in place, but nope. It stays on for maybe an hour and then my oil melts away anything on my face. Sigh. Oily skin probs.

Only redeeming quality is a little goes a long way.


on 7/26/2015 5:59:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Didn't work out for me at all...and I tried it with at least 4 different foundations. It made everything on my face slip and slide. It does feel nice and smooth on the skin and that's about it..at least for me.
Prime Time by Bareminerals is a similar consistency but work much better.


on 7/18/2015 7:40:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I really like this product. I got the one for open pores and it really works. I have really large pores and very noticeable, but when I put this all over my face it really blurs out the pores and the make up sits very well on it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/17/2015 5:31:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

ANother primer that works ok, but breaks me out!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top