MakeupAlley has a FREE Android App!

La Roche Posay • Effaclar K • Treatments (Face)

rated 3.8(212 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LilMizz on 2/16/2011 4:28:00 PM more reviews by LilMizz

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I started using it on the 4th of Feb.


~ My Skin ~
Oily/Combo, acne-prone, dehydrated, sensitive with redness. I have dry skin around the mouth and chin which made me hesitant to try this, I thought it may be too drying. My forehead and nose tend to grease up super quick. My nose is prone to blackheads, whilst my cheeks and forehead have been plagued by congestion and mild-moderate acne since I was 11. I have been on birth control, antibiotics, topical retin-a, duac once daily and so on. I've suffered from cystic acne, hormonal acne and the general accumulation of clogs all around. My zits - prior to trying this - tended to be about 3 or 4 small bumps per day, usually centred around my cheeks. Whilst my forehead would have the tiniest tiny congested bumps under the skin kinda like posh spice (google for pics).


~ Initial reaction ~
Surprisingly not too drying. Did not make my skin feel any more dehydrated. Did not dry out my undereyes or lips even though I smack this thing on all over my face. Kept the shine from my oily nose and forehead to a minimum. I can now go a whole day without even touching up once (a miracle in itself).


~ 4 Days Later - PURGING~
My nose is incredibly FLAKEY. Just my nose! Nowhere else! When I say flakes, I mean skin is SHEDDING. Nothing keeps the flakes down. My skin now stings around my nostrils. What's worse is I have the ugliest lumpy bumps appearing all over my face in clusters, it was horrible. I cried a few times.


~ 12 Days Later ~
The initial purging has calmed and my skin looks the best it has looked in years. I wish I never listened to those ladies at the Origins or Biotherm counter when they kept telling me to stop using acne treatments since my skin was dehydrated. I tried that, I switched to gentler creams, I tried to reinforce my skins natural barrier, I started consuming larger amounts of water, I started taking fish oils, and still my acne remained persistent.


Purging was different to my usual breakouts because they came to the surface so fast, in groups, at the same time and in greater frequency which just wasn't normal for me. In fact it scared the hell out of me watching my skin (that has battled acne for over 10 years) appear to take such a drastic turn for the worse. I wanted to give up on Effaclar K so bad when the purging began, I couldn't stand applying this lotion every day knowing its bringing up these lumps, I couldn't stand the challenge of applying makeup and actually attempting to conceal them - they were NOT coverable. The lumps stuck out a mile. I would die inside when my male friends began advising me randomly that my skin is breaking out because I wear "too much foundation". When people recommended dermatologists to me. When I received text messages later that night from people who have researched acne for me! Nobody had faith in me when I said it's just a result of a treatment I was using. They didn't believe me. I wasn't too sure I believed myself. But I had to go out and face that for about two weeks, I gave myself a deadline (one month) which I looked forward to, and if my skin wasn't better by that mark I would give up. And I'm SO glad I stuck by it because now my skin has changed it's character completely.


1. My pores are much less visible.
2. I have fewer blackheads on my nose. I guess all that painful skin-shedding eliminated the majority.
3. My t-zone is less oily. I've actually thrown out those lying products (Clinique) that said they could control the oil on my skin. They NEVER did. Liars......
4. My scars are fading, my skin is brighter and smoother.
5. I can finally wear liquid foundations again, and it actually lasts all day, without transferring all over things.


Update: It's been just over a month now and my acne is still under control. However I must say the positive impact it gave me in the first 2 weeks has kind of slowed. My skin is still in its best condition its ever been, but my scars are taking a while to fade and I still occasionally get a little bump here and there. The flakes on my nose are still there, but less of it, it still feels dry even after a month.


Update 2: It's been over 2 months and this is my conclusion. Effaclar K, for me, has been the only product to ever control my acne. I work on a makeup counter (No7) and I used to be uncomfortable advising on skincare with the state my own skin was in. But lately I have had several customers on an average day tell me how flawless my skin is. When I tell them I have acne, they are astounded.You could never tell I've had acne since 11 and been on years of prescription meds (that failed me). Whilst Im over the moon with ridding myself from acne, the battle has now begun to reform my skin texture and fade the scarring/redness, for which LRP is not really tackling that well. Nose is still flakey too. But for now, if anyone has had acne like mine, mild-moderate, clogged and congested skin - LRP is one to seriously consider. Just remember not to give up when the purging begins, I have a strong feeling that some of the breakouts others have experienced is down to purging and hence negative reviews.


Final note: LRP has reformulated this. It's now claiming to prevent future relapses of acne. The ingredients have slightly changed; it combines lipohydroxy acid (micro-exfoliant, supposedly more effective than regular salicylic acid) with retinol Linoleate, but still has regular salicylic acid too. I was initially devastated to see my product change, but I have used it for 2 weeks with no problems, but also no siginificant change for the postive either. My skin has never agreed with dimethicone, but Im doing well with this product. My skin does feel a teeny bit drier than usual, but I just dab on a little jojoba oil and Im good to go!


Good luck guys!

55 out of 55 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lethlie on 10/22/2012 8:39:00 PM more reviews by lethlie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

WARNING: Long review. SUMMARY: The some of the ingredients were just too much for my skin and clogged it all up.

WHY, skin, WHY? I wanted to love this product so much because of such glowing reviews from the likes of Lisa Eldridge. So after much deliberating, I added it to my Escentual.com basket during their French skincare sale. Once I got it, I immediately used it the next morning to help clear up the remaining (and already disappearing) spots under my makeup. That night, I found that not only did those spots come back full force, my skin broke out with tiny new ones around those spots. I thought it was part of the whole "purge" process (I don't buy into it... but that goes to show you much I wanted this to work out). And then I looked at the ingredients list--REALLY looked at it--and googled each ingredient (links included):

1. ISONONYL ISONONANOATE : an emollient that helps condition the skin. It's known to be 100% safe. But there are studies that show that it is possibly comedogenic that can worsen acne. Strike one. http://www.truthinaging.com/ingredients/isononyl-isononanoate (there's also a forum post about how products actually do comedogenicity tests.

2. PROPYLENE GLYCOL: Strike two. http://thegoodhuman.com/2009/03/31/what-is-propylene-glycol-and-why-you-should-avoid-it/

3. DIMETHICONE: a type of silicone. It's not entirely bad and does work for some people. It also can cause a lot of irritation for those who are sensitive/acne-prone (strike 3): http://www.christopherdrummond.com/cdbblog/2010/12/23/dimethicone-and-other-bad-ingredients-for-acne-pronesensitive-skin/

I'm not going to list the rest of the ingredients since those three (and sadly, the top three in the product) are just some of the main suspects behind why this didn't work for me. I'm not hating on this product. It DOES work for a lot of people. Just be very, very careful of what you put on your skin, especially if you're sensitive and/or acne-prone. I hope this helps.

17 out of 22 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cosmopolitan3 on 8/9/2010 5:05:00 PM more reviews by cosmopolitan3

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have very sensitive skin with occasional breakouts.
Last year I decided, its seriously time for clear skin!
I was working at a beauty company, and that was my big problem. I was trying all of their creams, facial washes, masks etc. And that was way too much for my skin.

I went from pharmacy to pharmacy getting advices from soo many pharmacists on my skin.
First thing was, they all told me to have one regimen and stick to it. Meaning not always switching products.

One lady suggested Alcina, which was good but basic.
Another one suggested La Roche Posay.

First I tried the Toleriane Facial Wash with my Mary Kay Timewise moisturizer. My skin was soft and hydrated but not clear.

Next phamacist suggested LRP Effaclar K and the Effaclar Deep Cleansing Foaming Cream in the morning and at night and nothing else for one month!

Effaclar K:
I love it and its fantastic. I will probably use this forever!
One tube lasts like 3 month and here in Europe the price is ok. You get it for 10-13 Euro (30ml).
Perfect make up base.

For me its the only product that can improve my skin drastically overnight!

Just be aware of the fact that its a SKIN RENEWING FLUID!
That means IT WILL FIRST BRING ALL YOUR IMPURITIES TO THE SURFACE AND THEN CLEAR YOUR SKIN.
Thus, the first two weeks you might have the feeling your skin is getting worse or is not significantly improving.
Therefore make sure to use the fluid for at least 3 weeks (once or twice a day).

After two weeks, you will really feel the effect, and your skin will clear up! I didn't have any acne left.

The pharmacist told me to finish one tube and then switch to a different moisturizer like the Effaclar Duo, since the K would only be a treatment.
But I love it so much, that I have been using it for two years now.
When my skin is getting too dry I use either Toleriane Ultra (day and/or night), Hydreane Legere (day), Hydraphase legere (day), or Effaclar H / Toleriane Riche (night).
So far, Toleriane creams work the best as they really calm down my skin when I experience redness.
But also 'Hada Labo Super Hyaluronic Acid Moisturizing Lotion' is a great product to lock up moisture, without irritating the skin.


Try it out, its so worth it! But be aware that it will probably need two weeks to clear your skin, when you first start using it!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* danai on 7/17/2009 9:43:00 AM more reviews by danai

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

After having gone through my teenage years with no acne problem whatsoever, I was foolishly confident that my skin would never be a problem. Until I turned 20 and the fires of hell broke loose. The combination of a traumatic breakup, cakey foundation (in hindsight, excessive amounts of mu must've been one of my ways to grieve) and summer heat made my skin show me a whole new self; to my absolute horror, I was suddenly age 15 skinwise. Humiliated, I had to visit the dermatologist for the first time. It was also then that I found out that adult acne does exist and can rear its ugly head whenever, on whoever's skin.
So the doctor decided my new and exciting acne was mild enough to try and treat with cosmetic products, before jumping to actual meds, and she sent me out to buy Effaclar K to use after the matching Effaclar wash. That was also the first time I got to have a complete skincare routine, even though to my horrified self it felt like I was being treated for some disease back then:-D
To make a long story short, the conjuction of Effaclar K and the Effaclar wash didn't magically wipe everything away, but within a month it had made a big difference. The second phase of my treatment, which actually diminished the problem, was the Effaclar wash combined with Effaclar K in the morning and a heavily medicated prescription gel in the evening.
Now fast forward to last Spring: I'm 26 now, and while I keep my skin under control for the most part (with the religious use of products designed for oily skin), around Easter my face decided it was time to go on strike yet again, to remind me of those good old times I guess. I thought things over and decided I'd switch to the La Roche - Posay regime for a month, and if it didn't work out, visit the dermatologist to give me prescription stuff; made sense to me.
Well I never got to go to the doctor after all. The Effaclar treatment cleared things up by itself. Actually for the first 3-4 weeks I used Effaclar K every morning and night after cleansing. Then I switched to using a simple moisturizer for oily skin in the morning, and Effaclar K before bed, which I still do now, and my skin has gone back to normal. I plan to keep using Effaclar K once a day throughout the Summer and the upcoming Fall, so that I can ensure my skin doesn't flip out on me again.
Now as for Effaclar K specifically: it comes in a metal tube like a medicated cream would, and it has a very thin and runny consistency. However I have to stress out that after absorbing into the skin not only does it not mattify, but it actally leaves quite a shiny finish, which is why I always use it before bed, unless my skin is in a really bad state, in which case I suck it up and use in the morning as well. While I hate my skin being shiny, I gladly tolerate it, because I consider Effaclar K a full-blown treatment, not a lotion that's supposed to moisturize and provide a makeup base. After all, it's clearly stated on the package that this one is supposed to make your skin regenerate itself for the problem to diminish. That being said, if you ignore the shiny finish, it doesn't seem to get in the way of my makeup.
Another thing I'd like to stress out is, this can cause areas that are prone to dryness (if you have any) to go wild. Personally while every part of my face is breakout prone (my cheeks even more than my T-zone), the area specifically around my mouth has the tendency to get dry. Well, within the first two weeks of using Effaclar K two times a day, it went ballistic; it became one large dry patch, complete with redness, pain and even flaking. I took care of that with Vaseline and Palmer's, and now that I use once a day, my morning moisturizer has completely made the problem go away. Beware though; especially if it's cold where you live, you do want to moisturize your dry parts intensively if you're using this.
Well, that was long - excuse my enthusiasm. To sum things up, this is my go - to product when everything else fails. My last resort before dermatologist and prescription meds.

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LizWords on 10/27/2011 6:40:00 PM more reviews by LizWords

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

The only active ingredient is BHA/Salicylic Acid at 1.5%. Every other ingredient is pretty standard and found in most light-weight moisturizers. Save your money and invest in a cheaper BHA. I like Paula's Choice 1% myself, I think her anti-irritants really help keep the irritation BHA can cause to a minimum, but that's just my personal preference, there are a TON of affordable BHA products on the market. I honestly think most La Roche Posay products are over-hyped and over priced.

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 xue88 on 1/1/2009 7:19:00 AM more reviews by xue88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

i decided to try this product after reading on raves that it can clear clogged pores and blackheads. it does help in clearing the bumps, but not before turning them into small painful pus-like pimples! the pimples just keeps appearing and i have finally decided to stop using this product after trying for a month. another thing is, i cannot understand how it can be used as a makeup base as it appears so shiny and sticky on me. am on another lookout for a product which can clear clogged pores without the trauma of pimples appearing time and again.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cefindre on 11/24/2007 3:00:00 AM more reviews by cefindre

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I have been having continual breakout for the last year or so, which is depressing for someone who used to have good skin. I tried many things, stieva-a, retin-a, and differin, each for at least a period of 3 months, totally close to a year on alternating the above 3, but they all gave me extremely red ugly dry sore skin still with some pimples, and if I stopped applying for just 2 nites, the pimples would come back with more vengeance. I was about to give up and start taking roaccutane when I decided to give LRP's effaclar range a try. I have seen this product before, having tried so many things including avene diacneal, murads and PTR, all of which none worked, I never thought this would work either.
My skin was going through rashes and breakout, so I finally stopped retin A completely after having used it alternately with differin for more than 6months, and the breakout was horrible. I don't believe it's just the purging phase, it was more than 6months plus, my skin was so red and irritated and itchy.
The first few days of LRP, I was absolutely not expecting it to work. in fact, I was worried it would aggravate things, as I haven't had good experiences with salicylic acid, Paula's Choice BHA included. First few days, i saw no effect which made me just relieved that at least nothing negative happened like more breakout. After a week, I saw little bumps surfacing on my forehead, somedays I would think my skin was better, somedays I thought it looked worse and dryer, so I thought LRP wasn't working. But I continued using it. Past the 1st week, some of the clogged bumpy areas smoothened out, and the dryness also went away. On the second week, some more little bumps surfaced whilst the earlier ones totally disappeared, but I realised the little bumps were very small, and assumed they were the underlying clogs being cleared out of my skin. Now I'm in my 3rd week and the difference in skin tone and texture is dramatic. My skin doesn't look zitty anymore. In fact it looks glowly, smooth and it doesn't feel the least bit dry nor irritated. Just a little more clogged pores to clear, but otherwise, it's 90% smooth and needs minimal makeup. I am very happy with LRP, if I had known it was this magic, I would have started this much much earlier. I will never touch retin-A, differin or the likes again, coz those things only made my skin worse and irritated and red during the whole 8-9months when I was using it.
I don't know what in LRP's effaclar range is the best, as I'm using everything, deep cleanser, toner, it's matt moisturizer in the day time, K and AI at night. and it's just fabulous, i love LRP. Everyone around's me noticed a difference. I can't wait for another 3 weeks to see what my skin would look like.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* wonderbuy on 1/19/2013 10:32:00 PM more reviews by wonderbuy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I recommend the Effaclar duo above this if you want faster results. This is more like an oil-free moisturiser and the concentration of the ingredients is low so better for sensitive skins. It absorbs quickly and I use it as a serum when i'm breaking out, layers well. I would say the Effaclar Duo is much better and is stronger, fades marks quicker and is similar in physical texture. Packaging is great and price not too shabby.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 summerlovingbumming on 9/21/2011 7:46:00 PM more reviews by summerlovingbumming

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I've tried everything under the sun from Retin-A to prescription strength topical antibiotics to the entire aisle of American drugstore products to all of the major French pharmacy lines dedicated to acne (Avene Cleanance, Vichy Normaderm, LR Effaclar, Biotherm, Nivea, Bioderma... the list goes on and on).

Quite literally THE ONLY thing that could ever control my acne - cystic and non-cystic all diminished within a week of using this during the hot summer months in Paris, and within a few weeks, my skin was not completely clear (a few hormonal spots here and there) but definitely under control. Helps exfoliate acne scarring, and used in conjunction with Effaclar Duo (the new LR spot treatment, better than Effaclar AI) is by far the MOST effective treatment I have ever used!

Even though I have to pay $$$ compared to home to buy in US, I'll never let go of this product. Use it as a night treatment, but can also be used as a great makeup base during the day (layered under a light sunscreen?), relatively non-drying compared to other anti-acne products.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* makeupaddict76 on 6/11/2010 11:34:00 AM more reviews by makeupaddict76

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is recommended by my dermatologist while I had cystic and hormonal acne. I use the Effaclar K treatment under my moisturizer in the morning and follow it with the usuals primers, mattifiers, etc. I use Differin(rx only) at night, these two products have saved my skin, controls acne breakouts and been helping with the scarring. I use very little product on my t zone, doesn't dry my skin, goes on soft and matte. I just repurchased the second tube.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More La Roche Posay products

More Treatments (Face) products