La Roche Posay Effaclar Active Matt moisturizer

3.5

76 reviews

64% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua, Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Glycerin, Isocetyl Stearate, Alcohol Denat., Dimethicone, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Acrylamide/Sodium Acryloyldimethyltaurate Copolymer, Methyl Methacrylate Crosspolymer, Silica, Cyclohexasiloxane, PEG-100 Sterate, Cocamide Mea, Zinc PCA, Glyceryl Stearate, Triethanolamine, Isohexadecane, Sodium Citrate, Ascorbyl Glucoside, Nylon-12, Capryloyl Salicylic Acid, Tetrasodium EDTA, Polysorbate 80, Acrylates/C10-30 Alyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Tocopherol, Methylparaben, Salicylic Acid, Parfum/Fragrance Updated: 6/25/2013


on 1/29/2015 3:37:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have combination to oily skin and use to switch between LRP Effaclar Mat and Bioderma Pore Refiner under my foundation. LRP I prefer in winter days as it moisturizes my skin quite well during the day (of course I need serum moisturizer in the evening, but for day it is enough moisture for my skin). It keeps my skin shine-free during the day (I need to use blotting paper afternoon only on my forehead, which is great for me:) Also the price is reasonable for the quality, so i will re-purchase this product probably.



on 10/14/2014 4:23:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This doesn't keep me matte not even for 2 hrs. It dries my skin and makes it itchy. Dissapointed.


on 1/2/2014 9:31:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

The irony is this is both the best and WORST moisturiser I have ever used. I first came across this stuff when I received a free sample. My skin is super oily with large pores and I have searched my entire adult life for a HG moisturizer that controls oil, reduces pores and helps with blemishes. When I first tried this stuff I was really happy with the results, my skin was matt and velvety with obviously tightened pores and it managed to keep my skin shine free for much longer than anything else I have tried. So of course I rushed out to purchase a full size tube and continued using this dream product for a very long time. Sadly, I did not realize this product is full of pore-clogging ingredients and slowly but surely (over the course of about a year) I developed the worst acne I have ever experienced in my life. During that time I never realized that it was this moisturiser that was causing these painful, deep boil like pimples on my cheeks. The pimples left behind deep dark scars on my face (which I’m currently trying to reduce) and my cheeks are now dotted with “holes”. Anyway, as soon as I stopped using this moisturiser my skin began clearing up significantly. I went back to it briefly because i tried a few other brands of moisturiser and found that even though I had zero breakouts I was back to the oil slick situation by lunchtime. During my brief return to Effaclar mat, the deep painful zits began resurfacing. So I have learnt my lesson the hard way and have the (hopefully not permanent) scars to show for it. The next product I’m going to try is Sebium Pore Refiner by Bioderma, I really hope it works for me! I also recently tried Avene Anti-shine regulating emulsion, which is a pretty good product (it keeps shine at bay and did not break me out), but sadly this product balled up badly when I applied my liquid foundation so not much use for a regular make up wearer like me…. And so my hunt continues for a HG moisuriser......

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/26/2013 10:47:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is a review of 'Effaclar Mat hydratant sebo-regulateur' :
I have really oily skin, and this moisturizer is great as a night cream for me :)


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Grey

This is a great moisturizer for people with oily skin! It has a nice texture and sinks into your skin almost instantly. It has the same scent as other Effaclar products - which might bug some people, but I think the smell is mild and I quite like it. It definitely hasn't reduced the size of my pores, and I'm on my third tube - so I call bullshit on that claim.

It keeps me matte all day long (unless obviously the weather is really humid and hot).

Because I have combination skin, I only use this product in the mornings, and use a richer cream at night after using Effaclar Duo.

Overall, I love this cream. I gave it 4/5 only because of the price, which is RIDICULOUS considering the small amount of product you get (I use it once a day and it lasts me about a couple months.)


on 7/28/2013 7:08:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

I was suspicious at first. Well, I already have two Holly Grail moisturizers, why would I want to try another one? One word: curiosity. And after 1,5 month I think it's quite nice, actually.

It does mattify my face for the most of the day. When used at night I don't wake up as an oil slick. And it makes my skin look smoother. It's lightweight and great as a base. With fair price and sleek hygienic packaging. That's the good news.
The not-so-good news is that it's only mildly moisturizing - I feel my skin tight sometimes - so I use my hydrating mask more often. The silicone-y texture was something I used to and the scent is nothing special (I confess to be a sucker for anything that smells beautifully)

I might repurchase but most probably to use it as a primer.

Edit: From 3 lippies to one. Now that I have 1/3 of the tube left I stopped using it becuse I got the Gallenic Cauterets cream and was too curious to wait. My face felt so much more comfortable and looked more clear. Then I started using Effaclar again to finish the tube and formed quite a few whiteheads on cheeks but mainly on my forehead. Quited and I was clear again. Thought it might be a coincidence and started Effaclar again. Same thing. A friend of mine had the exact same proplem but thankfully she was only using a sample. To the trash goes the rest!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 7/8/2013 11:43:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I like this moisturiser, but it doesn't quite do what I wanted it to do.

PROS:
- It is lightweight, which makes it a good option for the warmer months.
- It's a lovely base for foundation.
- Lovely formula, easy to apply, moisturising without being heavy.
- When first applied it dries to a matte but natural finish.
- A little goes a long way.

CONS:
- It doesn't keep my skin shine-free any longer than any of my other moisturisers. I have combination-oily skin, and my t-zone need blotting after a couple of hours, whether I use this or any other day cream.

VERDICT:
I like this as a daytime moisturiser, but I bought it for its oil-absorbing properties, which don't seem to work on me. I will definitely use this up, but probably not repurchase.


on 5/18/2013 11:48:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This is a nice moisturizer, but I didn't find anything particularly special about it. I was really hoping that the mattifying properties would be a lot stronger than they are. The formula itself smells lightly of roses, which I really like, but it doesn't leave my skin any less oily or shiny. However, it does leave a nice, silky smooth base for the rest of my makeup. I'll use my tube up, but I won't repurchase.


on 4/16/2013 9:39:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

They recently changed the packaging to a squeeze bottle/tube. Which imo, is better. This is my HG moisturizer in the summer months. Definitely makes my skin matte & helps my make up stay on longer.


on 1/5/2013 7:40:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have been using this product for 2 years so far and i had a great experience with it.
It is the only moisturizer which stopped my skin shine, thing that drove me crazy over years as my forehead looked like a shiny mirror all the time. Definitely no more problem with that now. My pores are closed and no more acne,no more redness, my skin looks perfect with makeup. I love this product, best moisturizer for me ever.


Popular Moisturizers


Moisturizing Cream
1266 Reviews
Strobe Cream
433 Reviews
Sweet Almond Oil
197 Reviews
Back to Top