La Roche Posay • Effaclar Active Matt moisturizer • Moisturizers

rated 3.5(74 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 Joyfalula on 1/2/2014 9:31:00 AM more reviews by Joyfalula

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

The irony is this is both the best and WORST moisturiser I have ever used. I first came across this stuff when I received a free sample. My skin is super oily with large pores and I have searched my entire adult life for a HG moisturizer that controls oil, reduces pores and helps with blemishes. When I first tried this stuff I was really happy with the results, my skin was matt and velvety with obviously tightened pores and it managed to keep my skin shine free for much longer than anything else I have tried. So of course I rushed out to purchase a full size tube and continued using this dream product for a very long time. Sadly, I did not realize this product is full of pore-clogging ingredients and slowly but surely (over the course of about a year) I developed the worst acne I have ever experienced in my life. During that time I never realized that it was this moisturiser that was causing these painful, deep boil like pimples on my cheeks. The pimples left behind deep dark scars on my face (which I’m currently trying to reduce) and my cheeks are now dotted with “holes”. Anyway, as soon as I stopped using this moisturiser my skin began clearing up significantly. I went back to it briefly because i tried a few other brands of moisturiser and found that even though I had zero breakouts I was back to the oil slick situation by lunchtime. During my brief return to Effaclar mat, the deep painful zits began resurfacing. So I have learnt my lesson the hard way and have the (hopefully not permanent) scars to show for it. The next product I’m going to try is Sebium Pore Refiner by Bioderma, I really hope it works for me! I also recently tried Avene Anti-shine regulating emulsion, which is a pretty good product (it keeps shine at bay and did not break me out), but sadly this product balled up badly when I applied my liquid foundation so not much use for a regular make up wearer like me…. And so my hunt continues for a HG moisuriser......

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 anonyym on 9/26/2013 10:47:00 AM more reviews by anonyym

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is a review of 'Effaclar Mat hydratant sebo-regulateur' :
I have really oily skin, and this moisturizer is great as a night cream for me :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 famouscigarillo on 9/25/2013 10:17:00 AM more reviews by famouscigarillo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

This is a great moisturizer for people with oily skin! It has a nice texture and sinks into your skin almost instantly. It has the same scent as other Effaclar products - which might bug some people, but I think the smell is mild and I quite like it. It definitely hasn't reduced the size of my pores, and I'm on my third tube - so I call bullshit on that claim.

It keeps me matte all day long (unless obviously the weather is really humid and hot).

Because I have combination skin, I only use this product in the mornings, and use a richer cream at night after using Effaclar Duo.

Overall, I love this cream. I gave it 4/5 only because of the price, which is RIDICULOUS considering the small amount of product you get (I use it once a day and it lasts me about a couple months.)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stls on 7/28/2013 7:08:00 PM more reviews by stls

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I was suspicious at first. Well, I already have two Holly Grail moisturizers, why would I want to try another one? One word: curiosity. And after 1,5 month I think it's quite nice, actually.

It does mattify my face for the most of the day. When used at night I don't wake up as an oil slick. And it makes my skin look smoother. It's lightweight and great as a base. With fair price and sleek hygienic packaging. That's the good news.
The not-so-good news is that it's only mildly moisturizing - I feel my skin tight sometimes - so I use my hydrating mask more often. The silicone-y texture was something I used to and the scent is nothing special (I confess to be a sucker for anything that smells beautifully)

I might repurchase but most probably to use it as a primer.

Edit: From 3 lippies to one. Now that I have 1/3 of the tube left I stopped using it becuse I got the Gallenic Cauterets cream and was too curious to wait. My face felt so much more comfortable and looked more clear. Then I started using Effaclar again to finish the tube and formed quite a few whiteheads on cheeks but mainly on my forehead. Quited and I was clear again. Thought it might be a coincidence and started Effaclar again. Same thing. A friend of mine had the exact same proplem but thankfully she was only using a sample. To the trash goes the rest!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Yrie on 7/8/2013 11:43:00 AM more reviews by Yrie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I like this moisturiser, but it doesn't quite do what I wanted it to do.

PROS:
- It is lightweight, which makes it a good option for the warmer months.
- It's a lovely base for foundation.
- Lovely formula, easy to apply, moisturising without being heavy.
- When first applied it dries to a matte but natural finish.
- A little goes a long way.

CONS:
- It doesn't keep my skin shine-free any longer than any of my other moisturisers. I have combination-oily skin, and my t-zone need blotting after a couple of hours, whether I use this or any other day cream.

VERDICT:
I like this as a daytime moisturiser, but I bought it for its oil-absorbing properties, which don't seem to work on me. I will definitely use this up, but probably not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 brightsonrisa on 5/18/2013 11:48:00 PM more reviews by brightsonrisa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is a nice moisturizer, but I didn't find anything particularly special about it. I was really hoping that the mattifying properties would be a lot stronger than they are. The formula itself smells lightly of roses, which I really like, but it doesn't leave my skin any less oily or shiny. However, it does leave a nice, silky smooth base for the rest of my makeup. I'll use my tube up, but I won't repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kissyxface on 4/16/2013 9:39:00 AM more reviews by kissyxface

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

They recently changed the packaging to a squeeze bottle/tube. Which imo, is better. This is my HG moisturizer in the summer months. Definitely makes my skin matte & helps my make up stay on longer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 otiliaL on 1/5/2013 7:40:00 AM more reviews by otiliaL

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I have been using this product for 2 years so far and i had a great experience with it.
It is the only moisturizer which stopped my skin shine, thing that drove me crazy over years as my forehead looked like a shiny mirror all the time. Definitely no more problem with that now. My pores are closed and no more acne,no more redness, my skin looks perfect with makeup. I love this product, best moisturizer for me ever.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 julia252 on 12/8/2012 2:01:00 PM more reviews by julia252

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Its a good makeup base and a mattifier however it is really NOT moistursing and doesn't do any good change on the skin.In my opinion its overpriced for what it is and will not be re-purchasing it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 gunzarelli on 9/1/2012 12:36:00 PM more reviews by gunzarelli

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Yet another disappointment from the La Roche Posay camp. Came highly recommended from both professionals and co-workers...But I've now tried Toleriane (clogging!), Hydraphase (drying, oddly enough!), and now Effaclar. All bombs. Where to start?

Mattifying? More like dehydrate the hell out of my skin, causing it to produce more oil to compensate, accentuate (and create!) lines all over my face, and by the end of the day feel tight, and look flaky.

Suitable for sensitive skin? Why does it have such a strong perfumey smell? And it lingers! I'd catch a whiff of it hours later! Though the scent is not unpleasant, I want nothing of the sort on my face!

The "powders" that are supposed to help with minimizing pore size resulted in a face full of white heads, milia, and clogged pores.

The third strike for this sup-bar, overpriced brand. Yech.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More La Roche Posay products

More Moisturizers products