Kiehl's • Stylist Series Heat-Protective Silk Straightening Cream • Styling Products

rated 4.2(129 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Kandiefashion on 9/18/2014 7:36:00 PM more reviews by Kandiefashion

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Awesome Stuff ! ....it does what it says ...i use more than needed , just because i love it ! ..it makes my hair less fly away and gives a great weight to my fine hair i love it ! the smell is divine !

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 dri5hti on 6/21/2014 8:14:00 AM more reviews by dri5hti

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive, Cool   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is not a bad product; does the job well but nothing spectacular. I have dry hair but this makes it greasy. Be sure to use it sparingly. The tube cap broke which is stupid. It's not like it goes through any rough use so the packaging must be very cheap.

Would probably not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lemonz4us on 9/1/2012 11:45:00 PM more reviews by lemonz4us

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I didn't care for this, after blow drying with this and flat ironing, my hair wasnt as silky and glossy as it was with Moroccan oil or kerastase, and i found and even better product at a fraction of the cost, organix awapuhi ginger oil.
It makes your hair feel nice and silky but higher end products work better and lower end ds products perform the same or better, save your money.
It smells like limes

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lareinarumbera on 1/30/2012 11:43:00 AM more reviews by lareinarumbera

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

i love this styling cream to keep my hair nice and neat looking (i work in a corporate setting). i am severely blow-dry challenged - i'm really bad at styling my hair in general, so i just used to wash & go, or have it styled by someone else. however, i really got tired of having damp hair and with the cold canadian winter i decided i should probably dry my hair a bit more before i went to work.


my hair is not very fussy, but there's a lot of it and it's very fine & flyaway, especially at the top (chest-length straight-to-slightly-wavy, black, asian hair). if i leave my hair to air dry, it is pretty much straight with a slight wave in the shorter layers - cute for the beach but not so much with button downs and pencil skirts.


i heard some good things about kiehl's in general (my cousin loves their lip balm & hand cream) so when i saw this in the store i picked it up along with the original silk groom cream. the silk groom made my hair look like a mess - stringy, greasy and gross within hours (i only used a pea-sized amount and only on the ends). HOWEVER, this cream has really changed the way i style my hair.


i wash and condition (joico daily care shampoo & conditioner - i buy it in the big bottle from winner's, it's cheaper this way) and i apply this from my ears down (about a quarter sized blob), and comb it through using a wide tooth comb. now comes the super easy part, that even a hairstyle-challenged klutz like me can manage 2-3 times a week - i stick my head upside down and i blow dry, concentrating on the roots to get rid of that yucky wet feeling. my hair is straight like i blow dried it using a round brush (slight inward curl at the ends), sleek, soft and calm, but NOT greasy or sticky like the way silk groom made it. sometimes i'll follow it with a bit of leave in conditioner if my hair feels a tad dry. i have had much less split ends since i started using this to blow dry and my hair looks very neat and professional.


i think it worked for me because my hair just needed a little help to be less flyaway and straighter - if you have wavier/curlier hair YMMV. overall, i would buy this again, but first i'm giving john frieda's straightening cream a run first since that is cheaper and it appears to contain similar ingredients (almond oil seems to be the oil in that version, not sesame & soy). i took 1 lippy off for the price, but overall this is a very effective product. container is just a boring tube - functional but not anything to write home about.


note: this product is not silicone free. if silicones don't work for you, i would skip this.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 juliebro77 on 10/17/2011 10:01:00 AM more reviews by juliebro77

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

It makes my hair really straight, soft, not crunchy at all and not weighed down. It does protect against humidity. It is quite expensive, but I just need a little. Kiehl's usually gives out samples so you can try it before buying it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 memg8r on 7/28/2011 9:00:00 AM more reviews by memg8r

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I have thick, frizzy hair and this is the best straightening product I have ever used!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Hinaa on 7/20/2011 5:28:00 AM more reviews by Hinaa

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

After having my hair bleached about 3 times in 3 days to create the Ombre hair I was happy with it, it was terribly damaged looking and feeling. I found this tube in my mom's bathroom, so I stole it. THIS IS HEAVEN. I have naturally wavy hair, that curls kind of weird, sometimes. But after applying this, my hair becomes more like beachy waves, which I LOVE. <3 It also makes it shiny! So my hair doesn't appear unhealthy, even though i'm quite sure it is. I'm so happy I found this. The heat protectant is a plus! Even though, this is made to create straigh hair, with an iron. I'm gonna use it with my curling wand, when I need it to style. So happy I found this bottle of joy!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 heartsinwonderland on 6/26/2011 3:01:00 PM more reviews by heartsinwonderland

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

My ultimate HG straightening product!
I feel like I have tried every smoothing/straightening product.
What I love about this is that it's very light, light scent (lime detergent?), cute packaging, nice ingredients, and it really does well with smoothing and protecting from heat. It's quite expensive, but it lasts a long time and you don't need much.
Update - Took off a lippie, it's very coating compared to other products, but it is still a staple in my haircare arsenal.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mollysarah on 6/12/2011 9:44:00 PM more reviews by mollysarah

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Yes! This product is so wonderful...best heat protectant and straightening lotion I have ever come across. It makes my super frizzy, distressed and bleached hair soft, manageable, and bouncy. I put a good amount of product into my hair when it is about 60% dry, and then I use more (lots more, because I have loads of hair) by sections as I straighten with a flat iron. I highly recommend this product for use with heat tools!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lexijojohnson on 11/11/2010 7:50:00 AM more reviews by lexijojohnson

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

First, I don't think this really does much for straightening. I think it does more a job of just calming or smoothing. I have naturally wavy hair - can be naturally curly depending on the situation. My underneath layers are actually just fine and don't give me any trouble, but my top layer is the more coarse layer that gets all the wave and curl. So, I needed something that I could put in after washing that was going to help smooth it down for blow drying. For the record, because I haven't found a completely HG product yet for straightening blow drying serum/lotion, I don't usually blow dry my hair. But we all know how long a showered mane will look good if you don't blow dry, and with my colored hair, I'm hoping not to wash my hair more than twice a week.
I had tried a good dupe for this in the past - the Victoria's Secret So Sexy High Gloss Creme. I don't know that they even sell this any more, but it was much cheaper, a good dupe, and smells great.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Kiehl's products

More Styling Products products