Ren • Calendula and arctic blackcurrant seed cleansing milk- sensitive • Cleansers

rated 4.1(50 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.74%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 nordavind on 11/7/2011 3:36:00 PM more reviews by nordavind

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

My skin is dry / sensitive and tends to turn red, flaky and tight if Iím using inappropriate product. I need a moisturizing cleanser but I donít like the cream cleansers that donít rinse off because my pores get easily clogged on the t-zone. On paper, the hydra-calm cleanser fulfils all my needs because it is a milk than can be washed off. First, the product is organic and doesnít contain any harsh chemicals. I can really feel it when I apply the milk on my skin: no redness, no irritations, no unwanted reactions at all, the soothing claim is accurate. I found the smell a bit weird in the beginning, but it has grown on me. I reminds me of old-fashioned cosmetics (I guess itís calendula) but it is not overpowering. REN also did a great job on the packaging, it is sleek, hygienic and solid. The pump makes it very easy to get the right amount of product and there is absolutely no waste at the end of the tube.

I have almost finished one bottle and Iím a bit on the edge about this product, because even if thereís a lot to like, I feel that it doesnít do what it is supposed to do: cleanse the face. Even when Iím using a lot of product it feels like it just glides on the surface of the skin without dissolving the impurities. Used as a make-up remover it is as efficient as plain water, even the light coverage foundations will resist, unless you use a face brush and scrub (which is probably not what somebody with sensitive skin would do...). In addition, even if Iím not at all prone to breakouts it did notice that I get pimples on the chin/jaw area more often. Iím not sure if the cleanser is the one to blame because my skin is rather unpredictable, but it is still worth mentioning it.
I really wanted to like this cleanser but I wonít buy it again.

Iíve not been too harsh on the rating because I guess it might work on other types of skins, but for those with a sensitive combination skin I would strongly recommend to stay away.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 northernlights7x on 5/28/2011 11:00:00 PM more reviews by northernlights7x

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Basically, I would marry this cleanser if I could.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DuchessofGrapes on 5/6/2011 3:49:00 AM more reviews by DuchessofGrapes

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I was reluctant to try this cleanser because I love my Clarisonic, and the suggested use for this cleanser was to apply on dry skin, then rinse off with warm water. So no point using it with the brush. But I was given some so I though I might as well try to find a way to use it. It's wonderful! It didn't irritate my extremely sensitive skin at all and it left me feeling super clean and soft. I find that it does work very well when you wet it too, so it's really a matter of preference. The two main uses I use this for is a morning cleanse and makeup remover. I only use my Clarisonic at night, so I didn't have to worry about trying to find a way of making the milk work with the brush during my am routine. I generally rub my face with a bit of the milk while my shower's warming up, get in, add a little water and massage a bit more, then rinse. It's a great wake up call and it is great before sunscreen application. Makes it soak right in! At night, I always remover my foundation (or sunscreen if I'm using a heavy duty one or have reapplied frequently that day), then cleanse my skin. Clinique's Take Off the Day Balm is my go to makeup remover, but this works just as well. I usually follow up with my Fresh Soy Face Cleanser or First Aid Beauty Cleanser in conjunction with my Clarisonic, but while I was traveling I just used the milk twice and was left with as clean of skin as I could've hoped for. While I'm not sure if I'll repurchase it since I have other products that I use, it's definitely something I'm going to put on my list of wonderful products that don't irritate my skin. I love the fact that it is in an airtight corn starch bag so that there are no preservatives needed. Very clever company! Can't wait to test out more Ren products!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Amarah on 2/19/2011 11:22:00 PM more reviews by Amarah

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Love, love, love this cleanser! Every so often I get sick of the price and try and switch to a drug store brand, but I always end back with REN. My skin is oily, acne-prone, but also incredibly sensitive, and REN's sensitive skin cleansing milk is perfect for it, especially when I'm using topical meds. It cleanses well without drying me out, an works great with my Clarisonic. Definitely a HG.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 skinnie302 on 12/10/2010 10:43:00 AM more reviews by skinnie302

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Great for cleansing and soothing sensitive skin. Very creamy and feels good especially when your skin is irritated from sunburn, winter weather, etc.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Andee on 9/19/2010 7:42:00 AM more reviews by Andee

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

2014: orig rating 4, now downgraded to 2 because I have recently only occasionally been using this and then only in the AM when I felt my skin needed more than just a spritz of Avene spray or a toner. Tonight I had on a CC cream and nothing else. I washed my face with this product and felt like I needed a toner. Tons of product came off on the toner pad. If that small amount of makeup can't be removed, what good is this cleanser for all but the most cursory cleansing?

Original review from 2010:I bought this b/c I like a one step product that cleanses and removes eye makeup and the package directions said it could be used in the eye area. I also wanted something that is sulfate and paraben free and this is. In winter, I use a cleansing oil, but in summer, I want something a little less rich. Most days, it removes all traces of foundation, but leaves a tiny residue of eye makeup. If I inadvertently apply a thicker coat of foundation than usual, I sometimes see a bit of foundation on my towel, but this is rare. Which is why I gave it a 4 rather than a 5.

I massage it in all over thoroughly, including the eyes. Then I splash on a few splashes of water and massage again. Then I rinse. It leaves my skin feeling normal, not dry, not moist. In humid weather, I don't have to follow up with any treatment and wake up with refreshed looking skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 bracken2004 on 8/2/2010 12:51:00 PM more reviews by bracken2004

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I liked this cleanser to be begin with, but then it seemed to irritate my skin and caused it to become dry and blotchy and made my rosacea flare up. I had to stop using it and ended up giving it away.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Horny on 2/26/2010 8:35:00 AM more reviews by Horny

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this stuff! It has calmed down any redness I've had from the harsh cold weather we've been experiencing in the UK, has stopped my usual breakout from that time of the month (clear skin for me, yay!), and has left my skin smooth and supple with no dryness or irritation! I also use the moisturiser in the same line and my skin looks fantastic! EDIT This range stopped working for my skin and the irritation remained. I have since switched to Origins mushroom line which has had better results on my skin. 2 lippies off.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Nemea on 2/8/2010 4:42:00 AM more reviews by Nemea

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This cleanser is really good for my dry winter skin. It is creamy, dissolves makeup very easily, and melts on the skin into an oil which can easily be rinsed off. My skin is left clean, yet not stripped, which is the problem with many cleansers out there. The smell is hard to describe, almost like a dentist's office, but yet not offensive. I also like the pump packaging. It is fairly economical in use; one pump does the trick. Yet, you only get 150 ml, and it is quite pricy, so I wouldn't use it as my day-to-day cleanser. But for a treat, it's definitely worth the money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 formerfatty on 2/6/2010 5:15:00 AM more reviews by formerfatty

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Other, Fine   Eyes: Green    

It's described as a milk on the packaging but is a thin cream. A good consistency for massaging over your face. I bought this because my face was suffering the effects of dry air and my normal products were aggravating it. It calmed my irritated skin so it does have soothing qualities however normally my skin isn't particularly sensitive.
I wash this off with a microfibre cloth and it rinses clean, leaves my skin soft and balanced. It's also ok to use for eye make up though I don't think it would cope with heavy applications.
All in all a nice product, pleasant to use but pricey and doesn't work miracles, It's quite similar to Liz Earles cleanse and polish.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Ren products

More Cleansers products