MAC • Tarnish Eye Kohl • Eyeliner

rated 4.5(91 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.89%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 arkindt on 1/2/2013 12:51:00 AM more reviews by arkindt

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

it's really pretty but it smudges. it looks good for about the first ten min. i was pretty bummed. i had high hopes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mellliiisssuh on 10/20/2012 12:36:00 PM more reviews by mellliiisssuh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

A lovely dark forest green with shimmer. It's not an obvious green but gives a slightly different effect than just standard black. I personally like it better than black cause I think it looks great when slightly blended out

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 msmaura on 10/19/2012 10:22:00 PM more reviews by msmaura

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

A great green eyeliner - dark enough to be office appropriate, but not so dark it just looks black. The colour itself is gorgeous as well! The texture and consistency are MAC standard, which is to say you get what you pay for! Will definitely repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Prazzie on 9/2/2012 4:08:00 PM more reviews by Prazzie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Excellent liner. It's soft and pigmented, so it applies easily without pulling at the skin. It is very long lasting. Normally product disappears off my waterline very easily, but Tarnish lasted for five hours with minor fading in the corners before I removed it.


I used it as a base for MAC Greensmoke eyeshadow, which worked beautifully. The liner itself is a very dark green, almost black, with a slight metallic shimmer. It worked well to enhance my green eyes.


I was easy to remove and didn't irritate my eyes. It also didn't stain my white makeup brushes. I will definitely buy this again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ladyc74 on 6/16/2012 2:12:00 PM more reviews by ladyc74

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have a serious eyeliner addiction. My eyes are big and hazelish brown, but quite hooded, so I can't do much with my eyelids - therefore I go to town on liner! I wear pencil it on the waterline, both upper and lower lids, smudged slightly, usually with either a neutral shimmer shadow, or something purplish. I normally wear black - brown is a bit meh and unflattering for some reason [I need more contrast with my eyes or I look tired!] But - I'll get to the point - Tarnish is my one exception to black. It's gorgeous. To be honest, it looks black at first glance, but is slightly softer and brightens the eye, I find. It also gives a really flattering toffee-ish colour to my eyes, which are brown but with hazel tones, rather than being a true dark brown. This liner brings out the gold-ish flecks in my irises. I don't like obviously coloured liners, but this really is a blackened green rather than in-your-face green. So it works with all shadows and other makeup.
I think the staying power's pretty good. A pencil has to be soft enough to work on the waterline, and this is lovely to work with - I find it's still on my waterline a few hours later, and can easily refresh if I need more intensity then.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Pixiechix on 5/27/2012 4:47:00 PM more reviews by Pixiechix

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown, Curly   Eyes: Green    

I love this liner a lot! I have green eys and I really wanted a liner to go with my shadow to really make my eyes stand out. This liner does the job perfectly!
I bought greensmoke eyeshadow from Macs fab shadow range and I use it with the tarnish liner.
For a great smokey eye that really brings out green/hazel eyes, these two are the ones to go for in my opinion.
For a smokey eye, put the tarnish liner all over your lid and blend it over the wole lid with a brush. Then, line your eyes and brush greensmoke eyeshadow over the top. Brush the greensmoke over the tarnish liner on the lower lashes. Coat lashes with mascara and it looks great!
I also use as a liner it is near black so the green in tarnish doesn't stand out massively, greensmoke eyeshadow is the key!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HIYELLOW on 10/30/2011 12:52:00 PM more reviews by HIYELLOW

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using Tarnish for several years. I have many pencils but when I grab this one I am always pleasantly pleased. It is blackish/green with a high sheen. It's beautiful because it is not as harsh and definite as black but more precise and bold than brown, and the green sheen comes through just ever so slightly on my GGG complexion.

This pencil would work on most because it is dark but not harsh. The kohl formula goes on smoothly and easily. It does run a bit but it's great for smudging. I am going to purchase a new one in a month or so.

Edit: I puchased Blackline which is gorgeous and reminds me of this. However, Blackline has gold sparkles which remain on the skin when the liner is gone and irritate my eyes terribly. Tarnish has no sparkles, just sheen.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 KathXx on 9/5/2011 5:35:00 AM more reviews by KathXx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I bought this eyeliner thinking it would really make my green eyes stand out and be a great alternative to black. However, on me, this liner only ever looks like I am wearing black eyeliner. I wish it was a little bit more green. I don't want to wear a bright green as that is not the look I am trying to acheive, I just want to have a green tint but I feel the green tint in this liner is not strong enough. As for staying power I have no problem. The eye kohls from MAC are my favourite liners. I would consider buying this again when I run out as I like to use it when I don't want my liner to be as dark as Smolder from MAC and don't want it to be as light as Teddy from MAC. It appears like a soft black which I like.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cosmeticat on 1/22/2011 3:32:00 PM more reviews by cosmeticat

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love green liners and this is one of my favourites, a very deep forest green, almost black. It brings my hazel eyes out. I love it. I use it on lash lines. When used on waterline it smears bad. It smudges a lot, as kohls supposed to, so I use it also like an eye shadow and smudge it over my upper lid. But I guess I will get a non smudge green line for my waterline and keep using Tarnish on upper lid. It is totally non irritant by the way.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 slowdownbaby on 4/16/2010 3:37:00 PM more reviews by slowdownbaby

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This eye kohl is one of my favorites! It's a great alternative for the black eyeliner if you want something more subtle but yet noticeable. I use this on my waterline and it doesn't smudge or irritates my eyes, and I have pretty sensitive eyes. I have light green-brown-yellow hazel eyes and when I put this I feel that the color of my eyes shifts to a darker forest green shade, really pretty. On me, it lasts up to 8 hours on my water line (:

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eyeliner products