L'Occitane Amande Cleansing and Soothing Shower Oil

4.4

145 reviews

85% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Oil, Tipa-Laureth Sulfate, Laureth-4, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Parfum/Fragrance, Cocamide Mea, Propylene Glycol Butyl Ether, Sorbitan Oleate, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Oil, Citrus Aurantium Bergamia (Bergamot) Fruit Oil, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Extract, Tocopherol, Aqua/Water, Limonene, Coumarin, Linalool


on 8/23/2015 11:42:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

A little goes a very long way with this product. The L'occitane Almond Shower Oil has a rather thick, viscous consistency and I find thinning the product out with some water (emulsifying, the way you do with cleansing oil) makes the product go a lot further.

First, pump / squirt out a 50p amount, I normally dab some of the oil on my arms and upper body before wetting my hands and gently massaging the shower oil into the skin. I do the same with the lower half of my body same amount and technique.

I then leave the product on for a little while... I normally condition my hair after, so that takes about a minute or so, before rinsing.

This way, I know I'm not using too much product and having given it time to sink into the skin, my skin feels soft and I don't normally moisturise after.

A similar drugstore option would be the Nivea in-shower skin conditioner, but despite L'occitane's higher price tag, I prefer the latter as it's a shower gel and skin conditioner in one for those with normal skin.

If you have dry skin, I recommend using an extra lotion / the Nivea in-shower skin conditioner after as the L'occitane Almond Shower Oil would not be moisturising enough for you.



on 7/20/2015 11:32:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

How amazing is the Amande line, I cannot begin to describe. Do yourself a favor and get this, even the sample. You will love! If they made this into a perfume I would be the happiest person in the world! Shaving with this is a must, I've ditched all shaving creams. It leaves your skin the smoothest and provides the closest shave possible. You will never get a cut and you will never get that sting-y feeling after shaving. Cannot live without this! Also the Amande scrub is equally amazing and provides a gentle exfoliation while fully lathering. The refill price is great at $38, can't beat that, lasts over 6 months!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/11/2015 5:50:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

Not impressed. Dried my skin out!


on 3/22/2015 10:54:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Other, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Other

I rated this a 3 because I do not like it as a shower gel. It doesn't make me feel clean and honestly doesn't feel too moisturizing which was the reason I purchased this. I needed something moisturizing during the winter months. However, I love it for shaving my legs! Leaves it soft and smooth because it seems like it helps the razor give a closer shave. I will repurchase during the summer months and move on to a cheaper alternative during winter.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/22/2015 10:30:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Overall I like this a lot, it has a wonderful (yet very strong) almondy smell and feels nice and soft on the skin, and the feeling stays even after showering. However, for shaving it doesn't work for me. It is so thick in texture my shaver gets "stuck" with it. But as a shower gel I like it a lot, especially when I feel like pampering myself and having that little spa like experience after a long day.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I don't get the hype either. I bought it online sight-unsniffed based on reviews everywhere and was utterly underwhelmed and disappointed... in the fragrance. I love almond and find the fragrance of this shower oil off-putting and nowhere in the vicinity of sweet almond oil. Furthermore, the fragrance is just as cloying as the fragrance used in Dove shower creams et al. Didn't do anything different for my skin than anything I am currently using. The packaging is not worth the small fortune I paid for what has now been relegated to my young daughters' bathroom as hand soap.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 12/17/2014 10:58:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I'm sorry, but I just did not see the hype with this product. I remember reading reviews about how amazing it was to shave with this oil. Big disappointment. Would not recommend this to use as a lather for shaving. I'm still trying to decipher what the hype is about.


on 6/13/2014 9:28:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This is a really luxurious shower gel. It is moisturizing, soothing and makes my skin feel soft once I'm done with my shower. It does have a very distinct almond scent, so I would not recommend if that is not something g you enjoy. Personally, it is a little much for me which is the only reason I will not repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/16/2014 5:15:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

L'occitane is all about the fragrances, the decoration and the marketing. I tried and used several of their products and found that most of them don't do anything or are even harmful. This is one of the few exceptions. It's great at moisturizing, lathers well, and is good for shaving. I bought the large 500 ml size with the pump and after that the refills, which makes it a lot cheaper.
The almond scent is really powerful, so I don't use a perfume, when I shower with this and follow-up with the oil. It's OK with scents like Hypnotic Poison or the brown Omnia, but clashes with a lot of perfumes, I'm sure.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/7/2014 10:34:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I love this stuff. Smells wonderful, sweet almond without being sugary. Makes a good slick lather and moisturizes well. I used t to shave my legs and didn't care for it, but using it right after shaving leaves the softest skin.
I shelled out for the large size to get the pump packaging and it's totally worth it. I can't say enough good things about this body wash.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Popular Gels/Soaps


Olive Oil Soap
Olive Oil Soap
153 Reviews
Shower Gels
Shower Gels
93 Reviews
Back to Top