New York Color • Ultra Moist Lipwear - Ruby • Lipstick

rated 4.2(35 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.74%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 rose1234 on 12/29/2013 7:07:00 PM more reviews by rose1234

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is a dark pink fuschia that leans towards red. I find it very wearable as most reds are too harsh on me. I think the shimmer is too much and I end up blotting. I think the formula is rather smooth and it lasts as a stain. Definitely a fun purchase for $.99.

I probably wont use it all up. I love the idea of a red lip but I think I look more balanced when I allow my eyes to be darker.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ILUVLC on 4/5/2013 9:54:00 PM more reviews by ILUVLC

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I actually took this lipstick from my sister and I loved the color so much, she gave me hers and I also bought a new one for myself. I'm a girl who loves bold lips and dark lips and this lipstick makes for a great bold lip.
The color for me depends on the number of swipes, one or two swipes comes off as a reddish-fuschia with the slightest bit of gold specks and an extra swipe definitely comes off more reddish and the gold is is much more visible. My skin tone is light-medium, leaning more towards the lighter side and I didn't feel like the color washed me out even though I have the habit of reapplying my lipstick frequently(trying to break that habit) and I tend to put on more than I need. Yes I agree packaging isn't that great, but the product itself is amazing and I definitely recommend!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MissMerryMakeup on 12/24/2012 1:03:00 PM more reviews by MissMerryMakeup

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Other, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

LOVE this lipstick! One of my all time favorite reds! Super sparkly and VERY moisturizing. The price is super reasonable, too. Only problem is it doesn't last very long, which is to be expected for the price. But it's something that as soon as I'm out I'll be going out to buy again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 wellDUHitsSarah on 12/6/2012 10:04:00 PM more reviews by wellDUHitsSarah

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I don't know why everyone is saying this is a pink tone. for my skin tone (NC 25) It worked perfectly and came out as a bright red. I loved the gold sparkles.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jenn8779 on 10/11/2012 1:48:00 PM more reviews by jenn8779

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I was completely thrown off by the name of this lipstick and actually expected it to be red, instead of the hot, fuschia pink it ended up being. I swear, this was so bright on me that you could see my lips from space. LOL I tossed it immediately and would never re-buy it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 TisTou on 4/29/2012 7:47:00 PM more reviews by TisTou

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I just bought it yesterday. A package is so-so, but it's INEXPENSIVE and also GOOD, too! I like this color. I don't use it too much because it's gold shimmer.
Next two days, I'll buy a new one (the other color for sure). NYC is good even thought it's not the greatest product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 BrittanyLovee on 1/9/2012 7:05:00 PM more reviews by BrittanyLovee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Not only is this color amazing, but it is so inexpensive too! I love it! The one con would be it fades fast during the day when your out and about

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KeyWestBum on 1/4/2012 9:36:00 AM more reviews by KeyWestBum

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Aside from NYC Sheer Red, Ruby is another one of my favorite red lipstick shades. Ruby isn't as universal as Sheer Red and is quite different in color and finish. Ruby looks warm on me and has a lot of pink in it with a slight coral hue. Ruby compliments my skintone when I am tan (NC40) not so much when I'm lighter. Ruby has a shimmery finish and does contain sparkles in it. The staying power is poor, I get maybe an hour without eating or drinking. I find Ruby to be pigmented and I only need to apply one layer to achieve my desired coverage. Ruby is a fun lipstick to have and it's so cheap for just a buck.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blooiejagwa on 10/22/2011 2:09:00 AM more reviews by blooiejagwa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

The colour is potentially pretty, in the tube and swatched, but it doesn't look good on my lips. Maybe it's my skintone?
.
The wear isn't good, the finish is so-so, the texture is gritty initially, but after the first few wears the gritty layer comes off and it's fine (i noted this phenomenom with my MAC lipstick in O as well)... and the colour itself is a decent blue-toned pink leaning towards fuschia, with shimmer that is not finely milled at all. The unflattering (on me--perhaps not so for you) plus generous frost really make this more grandma than glam. Oh well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KatieHawk on 1/11/2011 1:51:00 PM more reviews by KatieHawk

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love this lipstick. Number one it is easy on the budget and number two it is a really pretty color! I have always been intimidated by reds because I like to look a little more natural. I bought this just to try it out and if I didn't like it I could toss it since it was only 0.99. I am so glad I did buy it. I put on a little Burt's Bees lip balm, apply the ruby NYC color, and then follow with a little gloss and it is beautiful! Lasts a long time and the color is a softer reddish pink.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More New York Color products

More Lipstick products