NYX Jumbo Eye Shadow Pencil - Cottage Cheese

4.0

111 reviews

74% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

Bees Wax, Copernicia Cerifera (Carnauba) wax, Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) wax, Ceresin, Microcrystalline Wax, Polyethylene, Octyldodeanol , Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Isostearyl Isostearate, Isononyl Isononanoate, Tocopheryl Acetate, B.H.A, Isopropylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Butylparaben, and Polyethylene Terephthalate. MAY CONTAIN: Mica (CI 77019), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxide Red (CI 77491), Iron Oxide Yellow (CI 774992), Iron Oxide Black (CI 77499), FD&C Blue No.1 Aluminum Lake (CI 42090), FD&C Yellow No.5 Aluminum Lake (CI 19140), Chromium Oxide Green (CI 77288), Carmine (CI 75470), Ultramarine Blue (CI 77007), or Ferric Ferrocyanide (CI 77510).


on 1/11/2015 11:22:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

As these are so affordable and easy to come by I have quite a selection of these NYX Jumbo pencils - Cottage Cheese being one of my favourites. I find when used all over the eyelid even with primer these tend to crease a bit. They don't do so badly when used with a primer and then used with eye shadow over the top and really do help to give some shadow shades some extra va-voom. These jumbo pencils are soft and apply creamy smooth.

The lids do fracture very easily but are still use-able. I mostly use Cottage Cheese as a waterline liner as sometimes I find that Milk is just too white and stark where as Cottage Cheese is still almost white but a softer hue.

This one will be a repurchase.



on 11/1/2014 8:42:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This is actually a pretty decent product, but I find myself reaching for other similar shadows (like MAC Shroom) over this most of the time for ease of application. I'm not giving up on it because it does look beautiful and I like the compact portability of the pencil. The color is a lovely cool cream shimmer sheen that works well as a brow bone and inner corner highlight so long as you blend it out a bit.

Pros:
* creamy
* easy to apply
* decent amount of product
* great price point

Cons:
* cap breaks easily (I fixed with masking tape)
* not clear that it needs to be sharpened (I almost broke it trying to twist it up)
* needs larger sharpener

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/23/2014 7:54:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I bought this item with great expectations, since I've seen various youtube beauty gurus rage about it. However, it didn't work at all for me. I love the color, but the thing that I didn't like is that it wears off so easily and creases within an hour, which sucks. I won't be buying this item again, seeing as I was pretty dissapointed.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/8/2014 1:23:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

This product has a weird flaky, chalky look when you put it on. It seeps into the creases and just doesn't look flattering at all! Wouldn't buy again OR recommend.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Okay okay i've just started getting into adding a white hightlight in my crease and i love the look, im getting told i look 'fresh and glowy" when im using it. Read up a bunch of reviews and cottage cheese seemed to be the way to go!

My cons:
Creases very easily
kinda hard to apply. I tried rubbing a bit on my hand and applying it with a 228 Mac brush. even harder.

Pros:
cheap
beautiful shimmery white
can be used as a base
lasts all day for me.

Iam on the hunt to find the perfect white shimmer pencil! i got my eyes on the rimmel crayons but they dont sell the white shade here :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/15/2014 5:01:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I use this to highlight my inner corner. It does a terrible job. It's so drying and it creases a lot. The cap broke too.


on 12/22/2013 10:39:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

IT CREASES SO MUCH!!! and you cannot sharpen it


on 11/23/2013 8:13:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I don't use this as an eye shadow crayon. I ran out of my regular illuminator/highlighter, mortgage week, budget was crazy tight. A quick stroke above cheekbones, brows, down nose, bow of lips and blend blend blend works like a charm, surprisingly subtle and it is crazy affordable. I am fair complected, so it doesn't scream white stripe crayon or anything. I think this works GREAT as a highlighter, and at $5.25 saves me about $35.00 over my old Nars highlighter. I don't think I am going back. Over my face primer and foundation it stayed on all day, a solid 10 hours of subtle sheen. I also used to it lighten up and shimmer out a berry lip color, worked really well as well. Great inexpensive multi- use color. I also have the one in champagne, I do use this one as an eye color sometimes, but, have also used in the same way as above when I want a little more color and warmth. The cashmere one LIVES in my travel make up bag. You can do sooo much with this for one pencil. love love love. Yeah, when they run out I will buy them again, want to go get the pale pink shimmer one, With my eyes primed I did not have any issues with creasing, but I did apply it with a light hand and blended,it well, so not much there to crease really.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/5/2013 12:50:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I bought this because I liked Milk as a shadow base and wanted to also try something similar. Cottage Cheese is even better because ii is more sheer than milk, although it is still white. When I use it as a base my eyelid color shows through because it is a translucent white. It is shimmery but a lot less so when applied than I thought looking at the stick. I lost the first one I had in my house somewhere and bought another one as soon as possible. It is a great base because it makes powder shadows more intense and smooth. I'm surprised that Milk is more popular.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/3/2013 12:05:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Warm

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is the shade I've been searching high and low for that 'luminescent' eye look. (highlighted look in the inner corners and under the eye with a shimmery cream shadow/pencil)
I regret buying those silver eye pencils in my attempt to re-create that look when this pencil was under my nose all along.
It was either Cottage Cheese or the highly touted Milk and I'm glad I chose Cottage Cheese. It has a soft sheen/shimmer without being over the top and it really brings out my brown eyes.
It looks much softer than using silver and the staying power isn't bad. It lasts for about 5 hours on me and then I need to touch up a bit.
I wish it were a push up pencil but for the price and colour, I'm willing to sharpen it.
My search is over and I hope NYX doesn't discontinue this pencil.



4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Top Rated NYX Products

image

Black

191 reviews
Back to Top