NYX Jumbo Eye Shadow Pencil - Milk

4.2

595 reviews

85% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

Ceresin Wax, Candelilla Wax, Bees Wax, Squalane, Hydrogenated Styrene, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Mineral Oils, Polyisobutene, Butylated Hydroxy Anisole, Propyl Paraben, Mica, Talc, C.I.77499, Pearl Powder.


on 7/24/2015 1:48:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I bought this thinking I could use this as a base for my eyeshadows to make them brighter and last longer. Yeah, no. A lot of my shadows (high end and drugstore) will not adhere to it, so it just looks like I have straight up white on my lids with a bit of sparkle. On top of that, it fades away quickly, so I can't use it as a brow bone highlight or an inner corner highlight. Plus, regardless of whether I use a primer below it or not, this ends up creasing on my oily lids, making it not even worth the effort of applying. My cap is also busted and cracked, pretty much from the get go too. I much prefer the Milani shadow eyez pencils, which work well on their own and as bases.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 7/2/2015 6:58:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Other, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Perfect for multiple uses: As a shadow base, highlighter and mixing with other products. The consistency is creamy and easy to blend. It does not bleed or transfer very easily. Packaging is simplistic and fresh. Does last a long time.


on 5/31/2015 8:10:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

To put it shortly and concisely:

PROs:
- applied before eyeshadows intensifies their colour
- used only on its own, brightens the eye nicely

CONs:
- creases a lot with and without an eyeshadow primer (and I don't have oily eyelids)
- yep, it really does-crease-a-lot

I had great hopes for this product. Unfortunately, it makes my life more difficult when I'm applying eyeshadows, so I won't repurchase it again.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I've been looking for a matte white eyeshadow for a while and found this one. The price is very good and it looks really good after applying but oh my, it's creasing like crazy after just 5 minutes... I've tried everyting, with/without primer, powder, foundation, I've tried all combinations. I've used my fingers and brush but nothing works.. I will continue trying because i paid for it and can't return it but what a loss of money!


on 5/28/2015 10:51:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I use this as a base for my eye shadows, really makes them pop! Easy to apply, blendable. For reference i use this over my Benefit stay dont stray eye primer. Its also cheap and easy to find.


on 5/13/2015 5:04:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I use this as a shadow primer, highlighter, and water lining. If I'm using a very sheer shadow that's hard to pick up the color I'll use this first it adds a whole new dimension to some colors. Tends to hold my shadow on all day and it's $5.00.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I love using this, I use it after applying a primer(Like UD Primer Potion) and before a super bright colour to get the most payoff. I don't like this all over the lid because it can be super chalky and it's kind of dificult to work with drier matte formulas of eyeshadow but it is amazing for shimmers, sheens, satins and glitters. I've even had luck using matte MAC pigments(Clear Sky Blue and True Chartreuse) with this but it is not friendly with all formulas I guess. I love to apply UD All-Nighter Setting Spray(before mascara and non-waterproof eyeliner because it can cause it to run) and this gives me eye looks that look freshly applied, no oxidation, creasing or fading for HOURS. I also like to put some in my waterline and use a light nude, beige or pink on top to give me that more open or awake eye look that lasts a long time, otherwise nothing stays on my waterline. I like to use this on the eyelid with a neutral colour in the crease similar to this look, https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/236x/9a/0a/12/9a0a12f199360b6543a1f54a850cec11.jpg the blue is where I would use Milk as a primer. I can't wait to try more JEP's!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/24/2015 12:11:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is a great staple base for making your shadows pop. For me the shadows on top last longer and don't flake as well.


on 4/8/2015 9:42:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Neutral

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have used this product every day I wear eyeshadow. I don't know what took me so long to use this product. It adds so much more pop to my eyeshadows even my neutral brown shadows. I solely this product a base over the eyeshadow primer. It's important to wear a primer with this product because it can make your eyeshadows crease not horribly but if you have oily lids I can imagine it will make your eyeshadow crease even more.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/7/2015 11:16:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Other, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I want to love it but so much about Milk isn't ideal. I have tried using it as a primer, shadow base, and highlight.

Pros:
* Enhances vibrancy of eyeshadow, especially bright colours.
* great for halo eye looks
* good price

Cons:
* creases after only a few hours.
* doesn't extend wear time of shadows. In some cases I think it's actually decreased it.
* It is only marginally helped by using a primer underneath. I've tried this with NYX HD, Too Faced, Lorac and UD primers but it still won't make it more than half a day without creasing. Again, sometimes it feels like the primer makes it worse. I don't really have oily lids. Am I doing something wrong?
* cap is totally shoddy, it cracks if you so much as look at it wrong.
* a pain to sharpen. You need a large sharpener and there is quite a bit of waste. It definitely helps to put it in freezer for 15mins first to harden the product for less waste and more precise sharpening.

I dot this in the centre of lids and smudge out to a thin layer before adding shadow. It enhances colour initially but a few hours later everything is creased and smudged before disappearing. It just seems more trouble than its worth. I'm not repurchasing as MAC paint pots (or Maybelline color tatoo) are a better colour base and any other primer is better. NYX also make a priming colour base that I'll try instead, because it designed for the exact purpose Milk is so popular for.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top