Estee Lauder • Pure Color Gloss in Quartz • Lip Gloss

rated 2.8(9 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.22%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* NancyGooGoo on 10/9/2013 12:37:00 PM more reviews by NancyGooGoo

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this gloss purely because of a picture I saw in an Allure magazine back in 2002 or something. Never buying it back then for some reason, when I saw the picture again, I instantly remembered how much I loved this lip look on the model. It's nothing special, either - just a sheer gloss, with a hint of milkiness to it. It's basically a clear, really. But, the way the light hit on the model's lips and the shine itself, well, I was sold! So, I finally bought it. I use it on its own like the model did or as a topper for a lipstick. The staying power is all right, too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 1lostinparadise on 2/2/2009 7:16:00 PM more reviews by 1lostinparadise

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I received this in a gift set a year and a half ago and hated it. Recently I decided to try it again. Again, I hated it. It was just too light/clear and looked horrible with my light olive skin. Then, I tried it on top of my favorite matte nude lip color. Wow! This added the perfect shine and wasn't too sticky or glittery. It created the sexy, nude lip I always wanted to go with my smokey eye looks. Someone mentioned it had no staying power, but I found it to last most of the day, as long as I didn't rub my lips together. If I don't find a cheaper product that does the same thing, I will probably re-purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* condesadepitimini on 6/6/2008 5:37:00 AM more reviews by condesadepitimini

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Estee Lauder is not good with glosses, in general.
And this one makes no exception.
I have several ones, all gotten in those huge Christmas sets (That I will not buy anymore, as the quality of the contents - a part the lipsticks that are very good - is highly debatable).
Quartz is the one the - among the ones I have - I like best and so far is the only one that still has not won the trashbin contest yet.
Features:
1) Nice sheer colour - I use it on top of lippie to get the "milky" effect. Works well with light pink shades of lipstick.
2) average to bad taste & smell
3) average to bad texture - no shimmer

The staying power is the biggest issue with these glosses: it becomes runny with the heat of your body (not mentioning the heat of summer days) in an instant it's all over the place.
Definitely a no-buy and a no-recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 gupalsmurthpadacal on 9/3/2007 6:42:00 AM more reviews by gupalsmurthpadacal

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Pros:
Works well as a clear gloss,
good shine without looking over done,
Stays well,

Cons:
Can slightly dry lips if over used.

Overall:
I like it! I'm not big on colour when it comes to lips I start to feel like a clown after a while. Its got good stay and whilst it softens lips and makes mine atleast slightly bigger It can dry them up after a few hours wear, but I find this rather rare.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Hecate82 on 5/21/2007 7:15:00 AM more reviews by Hecate82

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Other    

I got this Lip gloss from a Christmas Giftset and most of the time a like make up from Estee Lauder, but this one isn't that great. My gloss is packaged in a tube with gold, it looks pretty and the texture of the gloss is also good. However, the perfume is a bit strong (althought im not bothered by it) and the color is not a milky shine, but transparant - (unless you use a LOT, but that's gross). There are a lot better and cheaper(!) transparant lipglosses, so i dont recommend this gloss.
- Maybe it is suitable for the darker skin, im a ppp and the Quartz color doesnt contrast with my skincolor..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* smurfkitten on 10/29/2006 11:28:00 PM more reviews by smurfkitten

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I received Quartz as a gift in a set of four along with: Ginger Fizz, Raspberry Pop, and Rhubarb. Quartz is definitely my least favourite. I like the texture, smooth and not sticky or goopy, but the scent is terrible as is the lasting power and even the initial effect. Does little for my lips but look like clear lip gloss like the previous reviewers wrote. I'd rather use lip balm that has a nice scent and get the same result rather than use this gross smelling stuff. That being said, I still gave this product two lippies for having good texture and nice packaging with the wand sponge applicator that I like. I currently use it over lip stick to get a nice shine when I feel like it.. I hate throwing good brand stuff away.. but would never ever purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MsAzNqTpRiNcEsS on 12/25/2005 9:35:00 PM more reviews by MsAzNqTpRiNcEsS

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

i was hoping this will create a nude color on my pigment lips but nope....its not very opaque or milky....looks clear on my lips....the texture and lasting power is horrible...i dont like the scent either..for reference,im C5/C40

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 LauraChantel on 8/15/2005 6:56:00 PM more reviews by LauraChantel

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I adore lipglass etc when I want a high voltage shine, but this is more of a subtle shimmer gloss if that makes sense. There is very little pigment to Quartz, it is essentially clear with a slight "milk" effect and a pretty shimmer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shortgirl on 5/24/2005 4:37:00 PM more reviews by shortgirl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

quartz doesn't show up at all on my lips, not that i expected a lot of color from it, as its an off white shade, but it looks like a clear gloss when i apply it. i don't detect any of the dimensional effect its supposed to have- a slight hint of shimmer maybe, but that's it. poor color choice on my part and i won't repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Estee Lauder products

More Lip Gloss products