Clinique • Aromatics Elixir • Fragrances

rated 3.0(429 reviews)

Average Rating.3.0
Would buy this product again.46%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 Aimbl on 9/24/2014 2:59:00 PM more reviews by Aimbl

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

AEs genius is that it is mellows into a nutty, clean, slightly bitter scent that references classic 1970s green chypres without being musty or overly phenolic, leathery or dated, which can be the case with some skin chemistry and EL azuree, aliage or Piguets Bandit. But, if you only primarily like and wear modern sweet fruity floral scents, and are uncertain about moss, don't even bother to try this. AE is nothing like a modern rose patchouli chypre or modern chypre. It helps if you like bizarre strong openings like Montale bLack oud (medicinal iodine); camphor in tuberose criminelle; leather in Lys Epona. Modern luxury niche perfumers like Roja Dova Fetish or Nuwa are returning to this type of fragrance, so this is a way to test the genre without spending a lot.

Gorgeous and unisex IF 1) you can stand to wait out the medicinal opening until it mellows into a beautiful, herbal, nutty, bitter scent that smells clean and not musty AND references classic green chypre; and, 2) DON'T OVERAPPLY; one dab is enough. If it initially makes you rear back from your wrist in alarm, but you suspect that there is something interesting or likable or potentially addictive there, I advise you to wait and retest. A single spray is way too much; more can make you tear up and feel it in your sinuses. AE's genius is that it is NOT musty or dank. It makes me think of bitter walnuts, slightly green, perhaps grass that contributes a little freshness. The nutty aspect mellows the bitter aspect - it's not bracing, but mellow, dark and deep. I don't get any bright Galbanum blast like vintage vent verte extrait, square glass bottle- not the bottle with the celery top stopper. (I love vintage vent vert for different reasons)

After I have sampled a wide variety of non-gourmand dry rose chypres, I clearly see the progression from bitter walnut to herbs to grass underscored with rose. (Nahema, in contrast, is bitter walnut green scent that trumpets fruit and rose extremely loudly). IMO, AE is also much easier to wear than other traditional chypres: the aforementioned aliage and azuree; vintage diorella (citric water fruit plus weird savory quality); the mainly melon un Parfum de Therese; overly phenolic bandit, miss Balmain, or vintage miss dior (leather chypre); or vintage rochas femme (spice)or jolie madame (distinct violet tinged leather chypre). AE is far less sweet than Voleur de Roses which is generally thought of as an unsweetened rose patchouli tinged with plum. Both AE and VdR are favorites, although AE is more challenging.

I have the vintage aromatics elixir, but I have read that the modern versions are quite good as well. Both versions are well priced per ml.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Mellonz on 6/25/2014 7:27:00 AM more reviews by Mellonz

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I have been using this scent for years, as another reviewer states it is a timeless classic. It is a dense heavy scent and you really don't need much. I would say it is more suitable for evening wear. It always gets lots of compliments. The only downside I find is it can be difficult to just spritz a little on as the pump spray tends to to be hard to control & you end up with a full spray which is often too much.

I also use the body smoother which is much less overpowering and subtle & lasts ages. I often just smooth this on my neck - I find I get more compliments using the cream than the perfume.

I also wanted to say how AMAZING the Aromatics talcum powder is. Yes it's expensive (for talc!) However, it is like nothing you have every tried before!! It is so soft & the talc is actually a golden colour. The thing this works amazing on the most is my hair!! I use it as a dry shampoo and it hides in roots in between colouring because of the golden colour & the smell is divine!! This is a luxury but it lasts me a whole year so that's how I justify purchasing it! :)

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 babycat1973 on 6/23/2014 7:56:00 AM more reviews by babycat1973

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Urgh, made me gag after having it on for a couple of hours. It has as quite unpleasant smell that seems to be exacerbated the longer you wear it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 oilyteen on 6/22/2014 8:55:00 PM more reviews by oilyteen

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

its a timeless classic and has a wonderful smell, this fragrance is my absolute favorite its very hard for me to describe the smell but I love it, and it has some sentimental value to me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Olfactoria on 6/12/2014 7:24:00 AM more reviews by Olfactoria

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

THE chypre of the century. Intellectual, timeless, earthy, clean yet dark. Hard to believe Clinique makes it, and sells it alongside the insipid Happys. Instantly recognizable, and I have instant respect for any woman who wears it.

I am so excited to report that I have found a way to enjoy Aromatics for myself! Historically, I've found the EDP and even the body products too overwhelming to my sinuses; in addition, my skin seemed to amp up the indolic jasmine component (not my favorite part of AE). I recently discovered that in Europe, this is sold as an eau de TOILETTE. And that EDT is available on eBay. And that EDT is luminous and sheer, delivering the signature AE otherworldly patchouli waft without the indoles. It comes in 1.5 ounce bottles and costs around $40. GET IT.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 snkatha on 5/21/2014 9:41:00 AM more reviews by snkatha

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Black    

Absolutely beautiful! Can i just start by getting that out of the way? This is not one of those "prettied up" sugary florals. I seem to be a patchouli fiend & this has lots of patchouli! It's a real beauty. Head kicking sillage so easy on the spray. When i spritzed it on it made me think of walking in the back garden of a country manor, it has tons of trees growing out back with flowers & dirt & moss. I'm wrapped up in a comfy sweater on a chilly Autumn morning, i have sprayed this on....It's like a big comfy cloud of goodness. Love this!! I sat in the train with an old lady wearing this in summer & it's so beautiful I had to tell her how good she smelled. Really classy, great scent!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 BrigitteBardot on 5/5/2014 10:54:00 PM more reviews by BrigitteBardot

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I wanted to add a stronger perfume to my fragrance wardrobe, and I thought I'd retest this. It was one of the first perfumes I ever tried. My mom has worn this for many years. It's not for me. I think if you're young and want a "loud" perfume,. something like Thierry Mugler's Alien is better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kjknees on 2/17/2014 5:18:00 PM more reviews by kjknees

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Grey    

A beautiful, unusual scent. Strangely enough reminds me of how expensive lipstick used to smell, times about 1,000. If you love chypres, you'll love this scent, but beware--a previous reviewer mentioned her dislike of Youth Dew (sold, of course, by Clinique's owner, Estee Lauder), and if you don't like that type of scent, you should probably avoid this. Very herbal but also with strong floral notes--NOT sweet, very dark and velvety--and TONS of sillage. If scents were drinks, this one would be espresso--strong, bitter, and addictive, if it's to your taste, and best enjoyed in very small quantities (n.b., it doesn't smell like coffee). If you are a habitual oversprayer, limit yourself to about half a pump from your bottle--this is a tank of a perfume, and you'll give yourself an asthma attack and everyone around you a headache if you spray as you would another scent. As intriguing as a niche perfume, but (unlike most niche fragrances) the pricing is really reasonable, and given the power of this scent, the small bottle will last you for years.

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Blondiebec on 2/6/2014 5:21:00 PM more reviews by Blondiebec

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Absolutely vile! Always thought youth dew by Estée Lauder was the worst I had ever smelled but this one beat it. My partner described it as walking into a shop in Glastonbury full of incense. To be honest I think incense comes above this wretched, disgusting, intoxicating stink!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LyrA236 on 1/27/2014 2:29:00 PM more reviews by LyrA236

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Aromatics Elixir is not for you if you prefer a sweet or "fresh" scent. While it can be applied lightly, it is not something that strikes you as "light." This is a very complex, dry herbal scent, and it is by no means soft or dreamy. In fact, it is rather cerebral. There are flowers. There is citrus. But the overall impression is a palette of deep, mossy green notes. Someone mentioned that this scent is "chilly." Yes, I can see that. It does well in winter. The dry down is woody. As deep and uncompromising as this is, I would not call it loud. Please do not decide after the first sniff. You must live in this a while. And go easy.

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Fragrances products