La Roche Posay • Hydraphase UV SPF 30 • Sunscreen

rated 4.0(54 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lady5andy on 4/1/2013 6:03:00 PM more reviews by Lady5andy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I love, love, LOVE this moisturizer. It is not greasy at all, wich is really great for a SS+moisturizer. It does not feel oily at all on the face. It's a thin lotion, and sinks into the skin instantly after application. I can do my makeup normally on top of it without problems :) Does not leave any residue at all. This does not make my skin break out, and it leaves it feeling super soft, moisturized and feeling naked.

The pump bottle is convenient, mess-free and hygienic. The only downside is that it's a bit expensive but it's worth it. I'll probably repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 aidan83 on 2/17/2013 9:51:00 PM more reviews by aidan83

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Love this product as an all-in-one sort of moisturizer plus SPF 30.

good for my sensitive skin - however, very light compared to bioderma

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 monty713 on 9/11/2012 2:41:00 PM more reviews by monty713

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Can't get past the smell. I use so many LRP products and almost always happy but not this time. Skinceuticals SPF 50... Much better!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 missglowstick on 3/19/2012 12:18:00 PM more reviews by missglowstick

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

I love, love, love this moisturizer/sunscreen. First of all…it's a moisturizer and sunscreen in one, which already makes it awesome. Unlike a lot of SS+moisturizer combos, this is not one bit greasy or oily on the face. It's a thin lotion texture which sinks into the skin almost instantly after application. Does not leave any residue at all. I haven't experienced any breakouts or sensitivity to this product, so I'll definitely continue purchasing!

Also, the packaging is perfect. The pump bottle is super convenient and mess-free (and hygienic). It's a bit expensive but definitely worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ani4ka on 3/5/2012 10:14:00 PM more reviews by ani4ka

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Grey    

Wow, this product must have changed a lot since 2008... I have combination skin and am using this now (early spring) so I can't vouch for outright oily skin in summer, but now I do not find this greasy at all. On the contrary, the thing that surprised me most was that it dried, well... dry - but without taughtness or pulling, my face just felt to the touch as if it had a dry film on it. Did not feel filmy or heavy though. Did not clog or break me out.

One thing for sure - it is not heavily perfumed at the moment, the smell is barely noticeable on application and disappears. I am very sensitive to smell in general.

No white cast. I don't wear make up over it so can' say how that would work.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jinhee on 11/7/2010 2:52:00 PM more reviews by Jinhee

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Writing a review for this excellent moisturizing sunscreen (american version), I have to ask myself why I did not repurchase when I ran out months ago. I'm always looking and trying different brands and yet, there are only handful of items that I do repurchase. This is one of them since I just placed an order with skincarerx.com at 20% discount for mua members. Cheapest prices I've found on the web, too. I love the way this works under makeup, like a primer. Moisturizes, protects and never heavy and still enough power for my dry skin. The regular lotion is excellent also and I will recommend daytime usage if using exfoliating agents regularly at night. No other sunscreens is as soothing.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 arcticmel on 9/14/2010 2:28:00 PM more reviews by arcticmel

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This was very oily when I first started using it, but since the skin adjusts, it's made it's way to an acceptable state :)

I decided to try this out some few months ago after reading a board on dangerous SPF products, and LaRoche Posay was one of the sunscreens/moisturizers that did not have the dangerous ingredient in it, so I tried it and I think that I will likely stay with it. That's pretty big to say because I'm such a projuct junkie! The con... it's so darn expensive, but the protection I am receiving seems to be worth the cost.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* busybaker1 on 6/26/2010 11:29:00 PM more reviews by busybaker1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Love, love, love. For my morning moisturizing--depending on how dry I'm feeling--I switch back and forth between LRP's Hydraphase UV and the Redermic UV. The Hydraphase UV is the more moisturizing of the two. On days that I use this, I apply my vitamin C serum, wait about 5 minutes, then apply the Hydraphase UV on top of it. It sinks and and my skin feels instantly quenched. It creates a great base for makeup and does not increase oiliness later in the day. I generally only get intermittent sun exposure while walking outside or driving in the car, but have also been caught outdoors for an extended time while wearing this and have never had a burn or signs of sun damage.


I unknowingly discovered there are different variations of Hydraphase UV. The Canadian version contains Mexoryl and Titanium Dioxide, while the US version *does not*. The Canadian version is clearly labeled as containing Mexoryl on the front of the bottle, as well as being listed in the ingredients. The US version, while the bottle appears the same, contains different UVA/UVB sunscreen ingredients that are approved for the American market. The only other noticeable difference is that the Canadian version is more perfumed for some reason. I prefer to use the Mexoryl version so I order several at a time (to save on shipping) from www.well.ca


For more info on the different ingredients in the two versions:
http://blog.pharmacymix.com/hydraphase-uv-spf-30-ingredients-in-canada-vs-us

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 muusicfreak678 on 3/27/2010 1:05:00 PM more reviews by muusicfreak678

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I bought this product based on the fabulous reviews it received by Makeupalley users.
However, much to my surprise, this product broke me out shortly after first usage! :(
Little whiteheads appeared on my forehead, cheek area, and between my eyes.
It's been about a month after stopping usage, but some of the whiteheads are very persistent and are still there!
Therefore, if you are ACNE-PRONE, I would not recommend this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cristinarn on 1/3/2010 10:54:00 PM more reviews by cristinarn

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this product for a little over three years (canadian version w/ mexoryl sx), it is my HG sunscreen/make-up base. I cannot go out without sunscreen because I had dermabrasion X 2 (not microdermabrasion). I use clinique city block years ago and loved it but i shifted to LRP when I discovered mexoryl. I love the stability of mexoryl, the texture of a lotion not thick, no white cast and no need for a separate moisturizer,hygeinic container pump,lasts a long time around 6 months/bottle well ...I have combination skin leaning more on oily and very sensitive....doesnt irritate my skin even post procedure, I use powder on top of it and I get compliments all the time about my skin-dewy buy not oil slick. It was out of stock for several months tried lancome w/ mexoryl too thick,white cast emphasizes flaws; tried anthelios lait good protection but I looked like a frying pan so settled for clinique spf 50 w/ sunsmart okay but need to use moisturizer w/ it....when it was on stock again i ordered 3 bottles right away! If you want to balance protection and aesthetics this is the face sunscreen for you!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More La Roche Posay products

More Sunscreen products