Dior Diorskin Airflash

3.9

382 reviews

67% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Butane, Aqua (Water), Cyclopentasiloxane, Propane, Nylon-12, Cocoglycerides, Sodium Lactate, Sorbitan Isostearate, Glycerin, Caprylyl Dimethicone Ethoxy Glucoside, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Aluminum/Magnesium Hydroxide Stearate, Cetearyl Ethylhexanoate, Silica, Sodium Chloride, Methylparaben, Potassium Sorbate, Propylparaben, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Parfum (Fragrance), Zinc Stearate, Zea Mays (Corn) Oil, Hexyl Cinnamal, Linalool, Tocopherol, Benzyl Salicylate, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Butylphenyl Methylpropional, Hydroxycitronellal, Hydroxyisohexyl 3-Cyclohexene, Carboxaldehyde, Citronellol.


on 5/19/2015 11:40:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I just bought a bottle of this stuff on the 17th on May so it remains to see if this can lasts the 5 months that the SA told me it should if used appropriately. She showed me how to spray a quick burst about 7-8 inches away from a foundation brush and then tap and buff the product into the skin for a flawless finish. I am a MAC NC20 and the SA immediately grabbed the 200 "light beige" formula. There are 10 colours to choose from now, and the tone she chose for me blends pretty seamlessly against my fair, neutral skin. She also used a tad of the matte touch finishing spray (also applied with a foundation brush) which gave me a bit of a glow but nothing obvious like a bronzer - it just adds a very mild, luminous finish.

I like a very light, natural coverage personally and this definitely delivers, but I could see how by layering on a few more spritzes Dior's AF could be built up for more problematic areas. I am in my mid thirties and over the last two days I noticed this product helps keep my skin looking soft and radiant. The price point is a PITA but if it lasts for the 5 months like I was told it should, it just might turn out to be an awesome investment!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 5/18/2015 1:34:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I finally caved and purchased this and ADORE it.

A makeup artist at Sephora had applied this as it is one of the best colour matches she could find (201 Linen). It's expensive but I finally bit the bullet and do not regret it one bit.

Here's what I love:

- matches my skin perfectly! (my skin is super hard to match - pale and thin with yellow undertones yet also pinkish areas)
- super easy to apply and blend -- I have experimented both with applying it directly to face and buffing, and with spraying onto a wet sponge to apply and then buff in with a brush. Both provide a great finish.
- DOES NOT SINK INTO PORES or accentuate dry areas (I have dry skin and foundation tends to pool in my pores or get absorbed unevenly
- provides a seamless, very elegant finish
- does not dry my skin out

Here's what I don't love:

- price!

What remains to be seen:

- how long it lasts. I've never used a "spray" foundation before so I will see how long this lasts and may have to revise my "buy again" rating accordingly.

All in all, it's a very elegant formula that looks super natural and provides me with a medium coverage, perfect colour match and flawless finish. Hooray!

**In case it assists others, until now my favourite foundation has been Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua which I only use for events because of its inclusion of drying alcohol. However, for me the colour and finish of the Chanel is the best I've found - until now.


on 5/11/2015 8:38:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Just bought this and have used it 3 times and every time people tell me I look great each time I wear it, not my makeup looks great. I love how light this is and the medium color 300 is spot on color match for my NC 25 skintone. I have normal dry skin and this just looks like my skin. I apply to a sponge and stipple on until I like the coverage. I am so glad I finally took note of the many positive reviews and bought this.

This is so much better and a much better color match for me than the Sephora airmist foundation. It provides better coverage with less foundation. I wanted to love the Sephora one because of the price but the Dior one won.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/5/2015 3:32:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

What an amazing foundation! First hated it because i just sprayed it directly on my face (left my skin looking cakey). But when I spray it lightly to a buffing brush and then work it onto my skin, it is heaven!


on 3/22/2015 11:25:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This foundation is definitely my HG foundation. I've been wanting to buy it for such a long time but didn't want to spend the money on it but it is so worth it! It goes on seamlessly, it covers my pores, and acne spots - coverage is great. My skin is really patchy in the winter b/c of the cold so I noticed if I put to much it can cling onto the dry spots a little but it's not that noticeable since the consistency is so light, shouldn't be a problem in the the summer. I also have acne prone, sensitive skin and this stuff doesn't break me out! Definitely a keeper.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I discovered this when I was around 14 (I started my door obsession young!) and six years later this is still my absolute favourite. I haven't used it every day for those 6 years but have always loved it, I've tried sooo many expensive foundations (including Clinique, Estée Lauder, YSL, Mac, Bare Minerals, Givenchy etc) and this will always be a favourite. It's great coverage which is surprising for a spray but it's so buildable. The reason I don't use it every day is because it has a radiant finish and for days at work I like a matte finish. This also smells incredible, it's foundationy but fresh I think. I discovered it at an airport and used it for the entire holiday so it does remind me of being on holiday - which I guess is why I love the smell so much. A definite must buy!


on 3/16/2015 7:38:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

OMG this stuff you guys!!

I wanted to try this for years, but never got around it because it is very pricey. One night I got weak and ordered it online. I got shade 100 and it matches my nw15 (leaning more towards neutral) skin.
I spray it directly onto my face and if I feel like it I kinda buff it out a little with my sephora #56 brush. It doesn't really make that much of a difference but I just like doing that just in case. It gives a natural matte FLAWLESS finish that last all day on my combo skin. This is what I always wanted in a foundation, something that I can just apply and forget about. It also feels incredibly light, like no other foundation. The coverage is a good medium I would say.


on 2/19/2015 12:30:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really like this foundation. I'm not a huge fan of the application, and its been over a week of use and I still haven't found the "perfect" way to apply. I tried the (very messy) instructions. I find for the coverage I like, medium, (so far this works) I apply a spray to the back of my hand and use a flat brush to blend onto my face. It seems to last me all day no setting powder needed. If you're a fan of full coverage by all means spray directly onto your face but that is waaay too heavy for me.
I'm using Linen 201, a newer shade and it seems to work fine, only ever so slightly darker than my neck.
At the price point ($62, I believe - at Sephora) , I wont be using this every day but it is beautiful for special occasions and for photos.

I haven't tested this in extreme conditions, yet so I will be updating once summer rolls around.


on 2/18/2015 6:46:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Best foundation I've ever used! Tried pretty much every foundation out there. It feels weightless and airbrushed I spray it on my wet beauty blender and it looks soft focused. It ranges between light to full coverage depending how you layer it but even layered it still feels like water. I've tried a suggested dupe the EU de teint by loreal which was no where near similar to the Dior airflash. Itlasts in the ssummer on my oily skin and makes my pores invisible. Also when i have very dry patches its the only stuff that doesnt cling to it. I just can't explain how beautiful it is. Nothing compares!


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Let me just start off by saying that I really really wanted to love this product - but we don't always get what we want.
I would say I have dry or combination skin, depending on the time of year. I purchased this foundation in December so my skin was very dry. That being said, in the winter, my biggest concern when it comes to base makeup is dry flakes of skin, even with moisturizing foundations. However, even with the very minimal, almost non-existent hydration/oils on my face, this foundation was already breaking down within the first hour of wear (especially around the pores). I tried the foundation with different tools (a buffing brush, a stippling brush, a beauty blender and directly spraying on the skin) and always set it with the laura mercier invisible looser setting powder; but the result was the same every time. By the 3rd hour, it was always so patchy that I had to put a powder foundation over it. It's almost like it never sets.
Initially, the foundation goes on BEAUTIFULLY. It's probably the most skin-like foundation I've ever tried. It looks almost invisible while evening out your skin tone. It's just a shame that it does not stay, whatsoever. If you really wanted to, you could touch up multiple times a day (this foundation seems to be easy to build up and apply in layers) but I just can't see myself doing that. Setting aside the fact that I don't like having to touch up my face in the middle of the day, there are two other reasons why this foundation specifically would not be a good "touch-up" foundation. First, it's in a pressurized aerosol spray can: not the most travel-friendly. Second, it's a $62 foundation!! If I just kept reapplying every 1-3 hours, I would be going though a $62 can of foundation every month. If you can afford it, fine - but not everyone is made of money.
I really wanted to like it but it's just way too high maintenance for my taste. I will only be using this foundation for the most special events that does not have anything to do with the sun or heat of any kind. If it would just last a little longer, I would have declared this my holy grail foundation.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Dior Airflash Spray Foundation Review | Demo by BeautynLifewSue



Back to Top