Aveda • Damage Remedy Restructuring Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 3.5(85 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 adiewp on 11/19/2014 6:49:00 PM more reviews by adiewp

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have highlighted/colour-treated long Asian hair, and was finding that my hair was knotting up over time, so I started using the Daily Repair detangler which worked so well I invested in the Damage Remedy Restructuring Shampoo and Conditioner. I liked the way it lathered up and seemed to be more conditioning that the Aveda Scalp Remedy that I usually use. BUT it has caused my skin to break out in milia all along my forehead and temples, basically where my hair is in regular contact with my skin. I'd been using it for 4 months and initially thought the milia was due to the summer or exercising, but was still breaking out when the weather turned colder, and I stopped getting sweaty due to injury. My regular beautician had pointed out the milia occurring, which was about a 3-4 weeks after I started using it.
Reading the ingredients, it contains dimethicone which is silicone and can clog pores (not good). I am annoyed that this is sold as "natural" when it isn't. I haven't used any different skin products either. I've stopped using the Damage Remedy duo 2 weeks ago and already my skin is clearing up.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Katharine40 on 9/1/2014 7:25:00 PM more reviews by Katharine40

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have fine, wavy hair that was very damaged from highlighting and heat styling. It had turned flat, broke very easily and was about as bad as I'd ever seen it. Other shampoos and treatments that had helped when I had just little damage did almost nothing. I'd always been wary of trying Aveda because of the high price tag, but took the plunge on the Damage Therapy Restructuring Shampoo due to the good reviews I'd read online and my sheer desperation. I bought the shampoo with the Daily Restucturing Therapy. After one use, my hair looked so much healthier! The damage isn't entirely gone, of course -- that will only happen once the ratty ends are cut out. However, my hair is much softer, more manageable and attractive again -- without being weighed down. Just wish it weren't so expensive!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 dri5hti on 3/11/2014 9:51:00 PM more reviews by dri5hti

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive, Cool   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Did nothing for my dry, heat damaged hair. Made it rough and easy to break. Will not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KatWKSF on 12/27/2013 5:22:00 PM more reviews by KatWKSF

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Geez, I was certain I had written a review of this earlier. I should be censured for not having done so, because it is certainly my civic duty to warn people about this shampoo. I had just changed salons/stylists and started going to an Aveda salon, which I had never used before. My previous stylist never listened to my requests on color, and simply colored my hair the exact same color of blonde every time, no matter what I asked for. And it wasn't even the color I ever wanted. My first visit to the new Aveda salon, the stylist used bleach to try to lighten and even out my blonde, and my hair was left with a ton of damage and breakage. A ton. She sent me home with this shampoo & the coordinating conditioner. This was before I knew very much about shampoo ingredients. I figured she intended me to use these products daily, and that because they said "damage repair" that they were going to hydrate and nourish my sad, damaged hair. Wrong!! They are loaded with protein, which, using occasionally on damaged hair is fine...using daily spells disaster. My hair was breaking & falling out so badly, I thought I would need to see a doctor. I was at a loss, until I started researching. I stopped using both products immediately. I realize that mis-using these products is not the product's fault. However, I kept the shampoo and conditioner around and tried them again, much later (I also never bleached my hair again). They still leave my hair dry and a tangly mess. And there's definitely more hair coming out than with my usual products. I give them 2 lippies instead of 1, only because a large part of the failure here was operator error (me) and because I'm sure the natural ingredients in these products helps someone, even if it's not me. I still do think that they should indicate on the bottles that these products are intended as treatments and not as a daily-use shampoo & conditioner due to the protein content.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Tamarintoo on 10/6/2013 3:38:00 PM more reviews by Tamarintoo

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have 62 year old hair that is very curly, fine and frizzy in humidity. Although I only have it hi-lighted every 8ish weeks and never blow dry or otherwise abuse it, the ends always look frizzy and damaged. My stylist gave me a sample of Aveda Damage Remedy shampoo. I've been using it for a month and it has definitely improved my hair. Most importantly, my super fine hair is not weighed down with all of the moisturizing this shampoo adds to my ends. Like all of the natural Aveda products, it does smell a bit odd and packaging is plain but eco friendly. That said, I will be sticking with this product. $26 on Amazon.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jennifckerrr on 8/19/2013 10:20:00 AM more reviews by Jennifckerrr

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

This shampoo is cream colored and has a viscus consistency. I feel like it is infused with a ton of nutrients for my hair and it is definitely gentle to my damaged hair. I actually don't think I need to use a conditioner because on top of not stripping away the natural oil in my hair, it also nourishes my hair and leaving my hair soft.

The only problem I have with this shampoo is that I have oily roots and this leaves my hair oily about 12-15 hours after washing. I usually wash my hair at night and it would be oily by noon. And because of all the nourishment, my hair doesn't get that clean feel after rinsing.

I will not be purchasing this product again because I need a stronger shampoo that will clean my roots. I usually use regular shampoo and just apply it on my roots. I would let the restof my hair washed when I rise off the shampoo on my roots. It usually works and is gentle on my hair because it isn't applied directly on the damaged parts of my hair.

If you have oily hair, do not buy this product. Try Aveda's shampure shampoo instead.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* junomacguff on 4/11/2013 12:27:00 AM more reviews by junomacguff

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Several years ago I had a Japanese hair straigthening incident that completely fried my hair. This shampoo along with the matching condtitioner and the Intensive Restructuring Treatment saved my hair. I recently had a BKT and then had highlights done about a month later, so I've got some damage. I'm using this shampoo once again with the Brilliant conditioner, great combo for my hair. It's very gentle, doesn't foam very much or strip hair. Also doesn't leave hair tangled after washing which is a big deal for me. A little more pricey at $24 for 8.5 fl. oz. but I don't need to use it everyday and it will last several months.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Camilla00 on 7/23/2012 11:51:00 PM more reviews by Camilla00

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I bought the shampoo and conditioner for about $99 which was quite expensive but one of the hairdressers raved about how it made her hair loss from extreme hair dying and damage, repair from using these products.
I don't think this helped hair growth or made my hair that much healthier.
It however smelled lovely and has made my hair colour stay a lot longer then usual as well as making the colour look far more vibrant which is probably the only good thing!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kalzangdrunma on 7/6/2012 7:36:00 AM more reviews by kalzangdrunma

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

I really like this product. My hair is very long (about 24+ inches or to my waist), coarse, curly, and dry. (I am a woman of colour.) Even though this shampoo *is* expensive, it's one of the best I've ever used. (It's been difficult for me to find *any* hair products that work well with my hair.) I use it sparingly: once or twice (at the most) a week. I also focus almost exclusively on my scalp. The bottle lasts me a long time. I find that it helps to moisturize and protect my hair. Recommended!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* izzybella on 3/22/2012 2:47:00 PM more reviews by izzybella

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I like this shampoo, but don't like it enough to spend money on it. I'm currently using samples of the shampoo, conditioner, and treatment from the Damage Remedy line after seeing an ad for it in Vogue. I like that it's barely scented (probably from the ingredients) and it has a thick gel-like texture. However, I don't believe that it can truly "repair" split ends - at most it probably strengthens your hair shaft to prevent future damage, and if that's what you're looking for, you'll probably get better results from eating better and taking vitamins or biotin. That said, there are other hair care items from other natural plant-derived lines that are more affordable and get the job done just as well as this Aveda line (EO, Avalon Organics to name a few - I also like Phyto, which is at about the same pricepoint as Aveda). Not to say that the Damage Remedy line isn't good, it's just that there are cheaper alternatives out there and I didn't find this to be particularly strengthening or repairing for my hair. For reference I have fine, slightly wavy, non-color treated hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Aveda products

More Shampoo products