Origins • Out Smart • Sunscreen

rated 3.5(21 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 mccafferty on 3/17/2011 3:19:00 AM more reviews by mccafferty

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I bought it because my face is sensitive to lots of chemical sunscreens, and this one is slightly tinted which makes it a little more flattering than those un-tinted physical sunscreens. But I found it a bit too thick (well physical sunscreens always do) and difficult to spread, the colour is still too pale. By the time I covered my face with enough of this to give some sort of protection, I looked like a greasy geisha, hence I only used it when I really had to. On the positive side, if you can only tolerate physical sunscreens, then this one is not too bad compared to most, which are usually even thicker and even whiter.

But for me, I have discovered Origins A Perfect World SPF35/PA+++ sunscreen. I think because it is a combination of physical and chemical sunscreen, it's thinner and easier to spread, and the colour is more natural, AND I am not allergic to it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jcab on 12/28/2010 10:37:00 PM more reviews by jcab

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

While I don't know how well I well this will work in the summer when my skin gets tan-ner, this has been working perfectly for me for the past month. I don't wear foundation because I've never found one that looks natural and doesn't give me dry patches, but I love the coverage this tinted moisturizer gives. And the citrus-y, herbally scent is fine for me. Those with very dry skin probably would need a separate moisturizer underneath, but my skin, which is on the dry side, does not.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* peunwha on 9/30/2010 7:07:00 AM more reviews by peunwha

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

i can't beleive this has over 3 points. i really hate this one.
color is pale and dull. smelling wierd.
the worst part is whenever i try to put on, it lumps so much. since i bought it, i rarely use it , i want to throw it out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 yellowdress on 6/4/2010 5:53:00 PM more reviews by yellowdress

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have medium skin and this lightens my entire face a little, which is annoying sometimes. That said, this sunscreen does not make me break out at all and has helped protect and lighten my acne scars over time!! Great to wear under makeup, even though it takes awhile to dry completely.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mxk2 on 3/26/2010 8:59:00 PM more reviews by mxk2

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Beware that this tinted sunscreen contains bergamot - a known photomutagenic and photosensitizing agent.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 cakeisgood on 2/14/2010 4:04:00 PM more reviews by cakeisgood

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

UPDATE: THIS CAUSED MAJOR BREAKOUTS ON MY SKIN. VERY HEAVY FEELING. NOT INTO THE EXTRA STEP ANY WAY.. NOW I AM USING A PRODUCT THAT COMBINES SUNSCREEN, MOISTURE, AND ANTIAGING ALL IN ONE, THANKYOU!!
The jury is still out on this one. I like that it is non-chemical and can be used with or without my face cream. It feels a little heavy going on and seems to get thicker throughout the day. It works wonderfully as a primer before makeup and I like the light tint. Helps to even out my skintone. I will update soon if this causes a reaction of some kind.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lisee_chiang on 10/14/2008 3:10:00 PM more reviews by lisee_chiang

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

LOVE LOVE LOVE this product. I was in a hunt for the perfect HG sunscreen for my face. I have very sensitive skin, VERY VERY oily skin and dry on the cheeks. I've tried every sunscreen everyone had ever recommend but nothing works - usually ending up with break outs, blackheads and redness.

I was a little weary about trying Out Smart but having the kind sales person convince me to give it a try (she squirt some of the product onto a small container, they didn't have a sample size of it), I went home and put it on immediately.

First day, no redness no pimples. Second day, it actually brighten up my skin. It smells fresh and it stays matte all day long considering my face always get oily after half a day being outside. And then the following day onwards, I'm sure this is the perfect sunscreen for me! I have no complain, everything from sun protection, texture and scent I LOVE IT! The price is OK, I'm willing to pay anything for not letting me break out!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 blee on 7/11/2008 2:20:00 AM more reviews by blee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

While I really enjoyed the fragrance of the product, I disliked the cakey texture. It made application tricky. If I apply too much there's a white cast. If I try to rub it in, it tends to get cakey and crumbs of product appear. No fun.This product also seemed to really emphasize my dry spots. I'll keep using it until it's gone but won't repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 br_ainstorm on 12/28/2007 5:22:00 AM more reviews by br_ainstorm

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

You MUST like the scent if you want to use this. A good thing I do! The scent is rather strong, but the blend of essential oils is refreshing for me when I apply this every morning. The tint blends in my yellow toned skin and helps even it out once it sinks in. I agree it tends to look slightly mask-y at first. I need moisturizer underneath or it looks chalky. I don't know how darker or pinker hued skintones will take this though, but you'll never know unless you test it out. I'm a MAC NC30.
Oh, it again tends to look chalky when i reapply, but that's easily remedied by spritzing my face with water prior to reapplication.

I was looking for a sunscreen that would not sting my skin. Higher SPF suncreens stung really bad and made my face red and hot (most probably due to chemical suncreens). Unfortunately, natural sunscreens don't usually offer any more than SPF25. But I happily compensate for my sensitive skin.

Besides, the effectiveness of suncreen isn't really dependent on the SPF factor but more of how much you use and how often you re-apply. I try to reapply every 3-4 hours, sometimes 5. My face has yet to tan using this sunscreen with reapplication.
For info, SPF15 block 93% of sunrays while SPF30 97%. So while SPF acts as how much rays it will block, a higher SPF does not necessarily protect you the whole day. The sunscreen loses power after a few hours, so be good and reapply. Sorry for that long winding explanation.

I compare this to Clinique City Block 25 which I used before. The tint is similar but I find the texture of origins spreads much easier. And this one is cheaper at RM70 for 50ml while Clinique's is RM110 for 40ml.

Another thing I like about it is the flip top which is so much easier than Clinique's screw top. The tube is about the size of a handphone. Easy to lug (at least in my BIG bag).

IF and when I could find a higher SPF suncreen that doeesn't leave a white cast and most importantly doesn't sting, I will continue using this.

EDIT July 2008: While i still think it's a generally good product, I had to give it up as the scent began to become overpowering for me, eventough i initially found it pleasant. Also i became pregnant so was adverse to strong scents. Though i'm over morning sickness the smell reminds me too much of my nausea that i just can't stomach using this anymore.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* princess_eab on 5/23/2007 1:28:00 PM more reviews by princess_eab

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

EDIT - I am upgrading this to 5 lippies... I love everything about it, though I wish the SPF was higher. Simply the most pleasantly scented and textured, non-irritating and skin-matching sunscreen I've tried. - END EDIT This is pretty good stuff. It was an impulse buy at Macys after I returned the Shiseido 55+ Cream that dried out my face. I checked out all the major cosmetic brands' high SPF sunscreens (Estee, Lancome, Clarins, Shiseido) and they all contained alcohol, which is what dried my skin out from the Shiseido stuff (I use Retin-A and have combo-dry-sensitive skin that is acne-prone, lucky me). I formerly used Eucerin moisturizer with SPF 30, which I love and will probably go back to since it's cheap. This has a nice light tint, though, and it not drying at all even though it leaves my T-zone nice and matte. It can feel a bit heavy and "mask"-y by the end of the day, but it makes skin look nice and even, and is much less greasy and more natural than Clinique City Block SPF 25, which is the closest product I can compare it to. It's great for me since I don't wear makeup, just moisturizer, sunscreen, eye cream and Origins Silk Screen powder. May repurchase if I decide I can't live without it...

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Origins products

More Sunscreen products