Ocean Potion • Anti-Aging Sunblock SPF 50 • Sunscreen

rated 4.1(38 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* angiee0215 on 8/27/2013 3:13:00 PM more reviews by angiee0215

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

About me: I am NC15 olive skin tone with a history of suspicious moles. I have to wear sunscreen everyday all day to prevent further damage to my skin. I live in Wisconsin, so keep in mind, even in the summer, the sun is not as strong as down south.
I finished up one bottle of this sunscreen with multiple daily uses in about 1-1.5 months.
The product: It has a very strong orange cream smell to it. So, those who are sensitive to smells/fragrance should stay clear. However, I find that the smell goes away after 30 minutes of application. It glides on smoothly, but takes a little bit of rubbing to prevent that white cast to the skin. I have never burned nor tanned with this specific sunscreen on. I apply it multiple times a day (about every 2-3 hours) to prevent sunburn. This is not a sunscreen for those who are constantly on the go. It requires time and effort to really rub the product in. Also, the product comes with an expiration date, which I love when using a sunscreen. I do not use this on the face. I only use it on my body. It can appear a little bit tacky after application, but not as much as the spray form does and the tackiness goes away 20 minutes after application and doesn't bother me. So, this sunscreen is perfect if you don't mind a strong fragrance, long time of application and slight tackiness upon initial application. It is cheap and I find it at Walmart, target or any other drugstore. I have another bottle of this as a backup that I have already started using. Since my summer job ended, I no longer need to use it daily, unless I am going to be outside. I will update again after my next bottle has been used up.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 amosina on 8/24/2013 5:16:00 PM more reviews by amosina

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I love this sunscreen. I came across it when I was at the beach and suddenly realized I didn't bring my spray-on sunblock. I burn very easily, but was very happy with the performance of this sunblock. We were out in the sun for hours, and I didn't burn. I'm usually the type that despite consistently reapplying, will inevitably burn somewhere. So far, this SB has not failed me. And it smells much better than most sunscreens. Up until now, I haven't cared as much about having the exact same brand each time as long as it has the right ingredients. Now that I've found Ocean Potion, I can't go on vacation without this exact brand. I much prefer to have my skin protected without smelling strongly of sunblock.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 amytata on 7/28/2013 4:34:00 PM more reviews by amytata

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely adore this sun block... Not only does it protect my skin from the sun's harmful UV rays, but it smells absolutely amazing! It reminds me of Fruity Pebbles. If you were to smell this sunblock, you wouldn't think that this would be a sunblock.

The only cons about this product: that it's kind of hard to apply, you have to work it in. And the other thing i don't like is that it's kind of greasy and shiny.

Definitely will be repurchasing though.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Yogal28 on 4/23/2013 9:10:00 AM more reviews by Yogal28

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this due to good review here and on some other review site. I got the for babies sensitive SPF50 and i was disappointed. It was extremely greasy. Only when i blot it with my tissue the shine is taken off but i don't know if i am also taking the sunscreen off my face. Very disheartening that my search for a good sunscreen didn't stop here. Because as i lived in a very humid place and i don't like to go out with a shine on my face. Other than that, it's fragrance free, doesn't cause whitening on my face and doesn't cause any reaction although i do have an acne after 1 day of using it.

I find that when you reapply it later, it causes flakes and it doesn't stay on well, as after eating my meal, i was washing my mouth when i notice the area, just beside my mouth where i had applied my sunscreen, it was being washed off. Biore sunscreen didn't do that for me and it stay well but it cause a whitening cast on my face. Guess i had to made do with that since that is more matte for the weather here and didn't cause any acne for me. Won't repurchase anymore.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chiquitabanana101 on 12/10/2012 1:08:00 PM more reviews by chiquitabanana101

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

good stuff! goes on like moisturizer and doesn't seem to cause breakouts. much less greasy feeling than most other spf 50 products and for such a great price! i was concerned about the lack of visible expiration date too, so i emailed the company and this is what they replied:

Our sun protection products are tested to be effective for up to three years. We do not recommend using the product after the expiration date.
"There is a code stamped on every bottle that represents the date it was made (usually located on the bottom of the bottle). This code is two letters followed by five numbers.
The letters help us to identify what the product. The first two numbers are the year it was made and the next three numbers are the day of the year it was made. Here is an example:
NQ-11-046
How to read the code: The NQ tells us it is the Kids SPF50 Sunblock Lotion. The 11 means it was made in 2011 and the 046 is the day of the year it was made. The 46th day of the year would fall in February. Therefore, this product does not expire until February of 2014."

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 kcsunshine1 on 6/24/2012 12:24:00 AM more reviews by kcsunshine1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I should have known. I didn't purchase this for a long time because Ocean Potion doesnt put expiration dates on any of their bottles. I finally gave in because of the glowing reviews and guess what? It didnt work and I got BURNED. I bought this 2 weeks ago, put it on 90 minutes before going out in the sun and, after one hour of being out, my chest is RED RED RED. Its as if I didnt have anything on at all. I would have been better served by my Olay Complete SPF 15. Its not the highest coverage, but at least I wouldnt have a bad burn to contend with. I'm calling the company to complain. Obviously I dont want them to send me any more products, but they need to start putting expiration dates on their bottles!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* thebobcat64 on 5/23/2012 3:33:00 AM more reviews by thebobcat64

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This is a good SPF for your body. It has a strong scent, kind of like an orange popsicle and is pretty cheap.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Miaoudeminou on 11/6/2011 11:57:00 AM more reviews by Miaoudeminou

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

For a lotion sunscreen this is my favorite. This stuff lasts, smells good, and I don't burn (I don't have fair enough skin where I have to worry a lot though). I do prefer the spray-ons but this is my second favorite.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Anners26 on 8/15/2011 3:41:00 PM more reviews by Anners26

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

BEST sunscreen on the market. I used this exclusively on a recent trip to Hawaii where I was in the sun for hours and hours and my skin stayed burn-free. It goes on like a creamy lotion, smells like an orange creamsicle and made my skin baby soft. Love, love, love!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jadie6t on 7/27/2011 3:36:00 AM more reviews by jadie6t

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

I bought a small bottle of this after the promoter lady was pushing me to get one..and I'm glad she did! I personally love the scent despite others having negative reaction for the smell. I'm not the kinda person that will use sunblock daily and I only put this on my body when I'm on vacation or swimming or going to be under the sun for long period.

I like the way this SB is not drying like my sunplay spf130 that will make my skin cakey with white cast after few hrs of application. I don't get sunburn and my skin remained smooth and moisturised with a glow from using this. Its perfect as a body sunblock but don't think its for facial as its tad too oily..price wise its cheaper than sunplay (sunplay pricetag is much pricier at 30gm compared to this 50gm bottle!) Definitely repurchasing!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Ocean Potion products

More Sunscreen products