Chanel • Perfect Colour Face Self-Tanner SPF 8 • Self Tanners

rated 4.3(60 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 hanmu on 4/16/2014 6:06:00 AM more reviews by hanmu

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Disappointingly, this didn't do much for my complexion except give it a slightly orange hue. Perhaps I should have bought the darker shade of 'Bronze' for better results, but with my too-light-for-mac-foundation skin tone I didn't want to risk looking like an Oompa Loompa and opted for the safer sounding 'Golden'. However, despite the lacklustre results, I will say that my skin tolerated this product surprisingly well. I usually break out in acne or a painful rash if I so much as glance at a new face lotion, but despite the strong fragrance and sunscreen component my complexion stayed clear after a week of using this and I only experienced a slight stinging sensation around the eye area. Unfortunately I don't have the kind of money that allows me to go out and buy a different shade for experimentation so I'll have to accept that this wasn't for me and move on. I'll definitely by trying Chanel's other skincare products in the future, though!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Daniela1977 on 4/10/2013 5:56:00 AM more reviews by Daniela1977

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I don't know if is me but this turned my face orange !! Even my 10 years old ask me why my face is orange :( . I have the Bronze colour and I m normally light to medium skin. I apply ones and was nearly no colour. Next day I apply second time and my skin turned not that dark but very orange !! So I regret spending 29Ģ for this when I can buy nearly 3 tubes of XEN TAN that is really the best on the market and have better looking self tan :-(

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 irinapolla on 5/20/2012 3:35:00 AM more reviews by irinapolla

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is my HG self tan for the face. All the other products I've tried leave an uneven, blotchy & streaky finish, which I've had to cover up with foundation. Not this one. The result is a light, natural-looking glow. The lotion also smells nice (a bit like caramel?), which means you can wear it during the day. It's Chanel, so the price is a bit steep, but I bought this from the airport, so it wasn't too bad. I have it in bronze, and I'm not going to even try any other self tans, because this baby does the job so well!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mutschi on 4/25/2012 6:19:00 PM more reviews by Mutschi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

best self tanner for face I've ever used! everything, yes everything I've tried before made me look orange and fake. I have very fair skin with red birthmarks and a few broken capillaries in it and I have tried to find the perfect selftanner for many years. I use the chanel one in "bronze" since "golden" is a bit too yellow for me. "bronze" really gives me the color I'd get if I would bake on the beach all day (I don't, I wear ss every day since I want to prevent wrinkles and sunspots).
it smells nice, no obvious self tanner smell, nice texture, fool-proof to apply, no streaks, doesn't clog me, perfect.
I do like to put moisturizer around my eyes, eyebrows and hairline first.
I will try the avene self tanner as well since I got it as a present yesterday, I heard many good things about that one as well and will review it soon. but I doubt that it could be better than this one. good stuff.
UPDATE: avene turns orange on me. but: I've been to sicily, we only had 2 sunny days and I wore lrp sunscreen 30 every day but still got a very blotchy tan...... used this bronzer after I got home and it evened it all out perfectly, my face looks healthy and glowing. please try this one.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 KCBrockman on 11/27/2011 1:33:00 AM more reviews by KCBrockman

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Was looking for a good face tanner and read some good reviews on this so decided to try it. Pretty pricey, but hey it's Chanel. Doesn't have too much of a crazy self tanner smell, just a hint. Works great, no complaints.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 katiew7305 on 11/26/2011 5:50:00 PM more reviews by katiew7305

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

So ive been trying out this tanner for a few days now & i will say it is not the wrost self tanner but for a $45 price tag for a small bottle for your face im not sure if its much better then the $10 stuff you can buy at your local grocery store.

I dont hate it it is better then a few others ive tried but will not buy again due the price , the small bottle of it you get , the colour & it does have that self tanner smell as well.
I bought the darker of the two shades and my skin tone is very fair so i thought i was taking a risk getting the darker might be to dark for my skin tone but totally opposite I didnt find it give much of a colour at all.

2.5 Star * *

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* franzvonstuck on 5/8/2011 11:54:00 AM more reviews by franzvonstuck

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

First of all, I need to use self-tanners because of my acne-prone skin. This may sound a little bit weird, but the sun makes my acne worse, not better. Itīs not because of some medical treatments, but a special, lighter form of acne. My dermatologist gave me the advice to stay away form the sun and if I wanted to go out, then only with a high spf. Otherwise, I break out and my pores tend to clog even more.The result of all this is, if I want to have a bronzed, sunkissed look, I have to use a self-tanner.
Unfortunately, my skin tends to look pale and grey, sometimes I have to deal with scars and darker spots because of the acne. Iīve got a neutral olive tone in my skin (NC20-25) and want to have that dewy, fresh and glowing look, that I adore so much.
Anyway, thatīs the reason Iīm searching for a good self-tanner and have tested a few.
But this one seems to be "the" self-tanner for me.
The pros are:
- Does not dry out my skin. I use it overnight and when I wake up, my skin looks good and not wrinkled.
- Doesnīt make me break out.
- Does not leave streaks on my face and is easily to apply, just like moisturizer.
- Does not have any orange or red tone in it. Even after "building up" a deeper tan, I never noticed any orange or red undertone. This was a huge problem with all the other self-tanners. After first use, the seemed to work, but as I tried to build up, they turned orange. I used the golden, not the bronze shade, because I thought, it might work better with my skin tone. And it did. Other reviewers said, that you could never "build" too much with his one and itīs true. Even after several uses, you donīt look like a "self-tanner-accident", but like you had a long, nice beach-holiday. But notice: I have fair to medium skin. If you have dark skin, you might be disappointed.
- Nice texture, like a light moisturizer.
- Gives your face a nice glow.
What I personally didnīt consider as a plus:
-The smell. I know, for lots of people, itīs a big plus. It smells like a sweet cake and nothing like the typical self-tanner. But it is to sweet for my taste, as I like more clean and soapy scents.
- The spf. Again, a big plus for other people and useless for me, because I only use it overnight.
I tried it only because of the good reviews it received and found out:This is my hg!! Highly recommended.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 geovani on 1/24/2011 5:52:00 AM more reviews by geovani

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

i am a sunless tan EXPERT(and belive me.....i have tried allmost EVERYONE OUT THERE!!!)
i allways loved this self tanner WAAAAAY more then any other one (and i tried sooooooo many high end and some drugstore ones)
this gives A VERY GOOD COLOR!!!!
(the reason i gave it four stars insted of five is that ITS NOT PERFECT!!!
it DOESNT turn into a perfect "brown tan"(but its very close to a bronzed tan with allmont none of any orange tones).
i use it in the "bronze" color only and its beautiful and has a subtle glowy tan (BUT KEEP IN MIND THAT IT TURNS INTO A VERY VERY SUBTLE COLOR,SO DONT EXPECT ANY "DRAMATIC" CHANGE!)
i hate that its a bit small for the price (50 ml in each bottlle)
but what the hell i love this
i use it twice to 3 times a week at night and it keeps me happy and taned (you can use it every day if you want).
i use this for the past 3 years and i reccomend it to anyone.
i know this product was disscontinued in 2009,but they started making it again about 8 months ago so its still here yayyyy.
i know that chanel only sells this in europe and canada for now but i can get this online so im sooooo happy
this gives you a subtle honey tan (nooooo orange at all!!!)
and the smell,oooooooh my god the smell is like vanilla and honey
i really LIKE THAT!
the only cons are that.....
1.the color dosent last more then about 2 days
2.the color somtimes "sits" on my nose and it looks like i have blackheads :-(
3.its a very subtle color
TIP: you can get it in chanel boutique's in europe or canada or order it from online from the place i order it (if you want to know where you can order it just send me a message)
and i promise you guys that its the best self tanner i tried(to this date)
bye :-)
sarai from israel:-)
UPDATE,NOV 2011:
ok i still think this is a GREAT tanner color and scent wise(but not perfect)
and i found a self tanner that soooo many raved about and i can say that its PERFECT!
i started using the "EXTENDED VACATION MOROCCAN MINERAL SHIMMERING SANDS FACIAL TANNER" and it is.........AMAZING!!!!!
A-M-A-Z-N-G BROWN TAN! and color stays about 5 days and no "blackhead look" on the nose!!!
look it up on amazon for its amazing reviews:)
i soooo wanted to try it but NO ONE shipped it int'l(and i live in israel) but finally i found an online store that shippes it internationally with soooo CHEAP DELIVERY!(i think its like 8$ for shipping)
so if you live outside the u.s or canada and cant find a store that shippes it(its imposible to fine one! lol) then send me a message and ill help :)
sarai.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 marieke87 on 10/22/2010 8:41:00 AM more reviews by marieke87

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

I really really like this product. When the summer started, a couple of months ago, I decided to purchase a product for my face, because I'm so pale. The girl in the store told me this was the best product for the face. I bought it and haven't had any regrets about it. I was advised to get the darkest one (bronze) even though I'm really very pale! I was told the golden one hardly gives any color, so I wouldn't recommend that one. If you buy this, go for bronze. I can wear this easily and it doesn't look fake at all. It gives you that healthy and sunkissed look, but no way you'll look orange with this. I bought this in Europe and paid about 30 euros for it. That's a bit pricey, but you only need a little amount of product every time you use it. So it lasts very long!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 alkylien81 on 10/17/2010 8:25:00 AM more reviews by alkylien81

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I HAVE IT in bronze....the darker shade and it is amazing......the color is not that dark so i usually apply two coats in one day to achieve a beautiful tanned look thats lasts a long time....amazing

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Chanel products

More Self Tanners products