Stila • Lip Shine in Rosey Shine • Lip Gloss

rated 3.9(10 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* forgetfuljones on 7/1/2008 9:56:00 PM more reviews by forgetfuljones

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Wow, I really like this! The texture is great. It's really thick and smooth, and it's very pigmented. It's a beautiful color. It makes my face look bright and glowing without being too over the top. The packaging is also great. I love the squeeze tube with the little brush applicator. It's also a major plus that you can click this to lock at the bottom. I never have to worry about it oozing out into my purse. Unfortunately, I think this has been discontinued because I don't see it on Stila's webiste anywhere. It figures. I always discover stuff when it's too late!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TheGypsyChicks on 11/24/2007 5:27:00 PM more reviews by TheGypsyChicks

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Love the packaging and the texture. It's a medium rose with some hints of brown to tone it down and silvery shimmer, if you pack it on it can be semi-metallic...pretty.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* s70princess on 4/23/2007 3:31:00 PM more reviews by s70princess

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I agree with the previous reviewer that Rosey Shine is not the same shade as the old Rose Shine ... Rosey is definitely pinkier in shade and thicker in texture. This is the first time I am trying the new packaged version of lip shine and I must say that I am loving it so much more than the old version!! On my NC25-30 complexion, I found the old Rose Shine a bit too taupey and muddy on me at times, but this new Rosey Shine is much better for me ... the extra pinkiness with silvery shimmer is the exact shade I was looking for to compliment my complexion. I find this new texture more like a cream lipstick than a gloss though, so I use only a very sheer coat to avoid it looking too metallic ... it definitely isn't as glossy or liquidy as the old lip shines ... but that happens to suit me really well also because I found the old texture to be a bit too oily and this one sits much better on my lips. I really love the new lip shine formula and packaging!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ThreeLeaves on 3/24/2007 9:36:00 PM more reviews by ThreeLeaves

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I loved the old Stila rose shine, but hated the metal tube packaging, so when I saw the new design (plastic tube with a brush tip), I thought they had finally listened to all the complaints. It's not the same color -- it's a lighter, pinker, frostier color than the old rose shine, and the texture is dryer and thicker. Over the years I've noticed a lot of inconsistency among the Stila products. Some are wonderful, others are so-so, and a couple have been major disappointments (their foundations). It's not a bad color, and works on my cool-toned complexion, but I already have many similar colors.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 pink_stilettos on 3/5/2007 10:43:00 PM more reviews by pink_stilettos

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

The only thing I like about Stila Lip Shine is the cute packaging tube. Other than that - the color especially - isn't like what I expected. Looks kinda silverish on me. It's hideous!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 luyuan on 1/25/2007 9:42:00 AM more reviews by luyuan

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this product when it was still packaged as a squeeze tube similar to MAC paints. This was the worst packaging *ever* of any product I have ever purchased. The lipgloss would squirt out of the tube every time the cap was taken off resulting in a horrible mess around the opening and inevitably all over makeup bags and purses. Although the new packaging looks better, I also hate the packaging of Stila Lip Glazes and the Lip Shines have been switched to be more like that so I won't be purchasing the new product either. The texture is average (a tad tacky but with some lasting power to make up for it) with medium pigmentation. The color is actually very odd and not rosey at all to my eyes. It is a very cool color with purple/silver undertones. Definitely only suitable for ladies with cool complexions. Not sure if the color in the new packaging is different from the old color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lucky7597 on 1/25/2006 7:29:00 PM more reviews by lucky7597

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I had read about this lip shine here and decided to give it a shot. Well am I happy I did~! This color is GORGEOUS!!!!!!!!!! It's not too pink, not too frosty, there's no horrendous odor, the applicator is very simple to use and I like the fact that it turns to open and close. The color looks like a beautiful frosted pink but with some bronzy/silver tones to it. Very beautiful! It also lasted on me about 3 hours! For a gloss that's pretty great! I would try out the others too in the future!!! Even though the price is a little steep I would probably pay it because these are worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* drexalia on 1/16/2006 7:08:00 PM more reviews by drexalia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I re-discovered this today and loved it so much I had to review it.
1. The applicator is great. You can close it on and off and it has a lid so no worries about leaking. I love brush applicators and it's easy to squeeze out just the right amount.
2. I'm a stila b/c (30watts) or mac nc25. On me, this looks like a medium warm rose /pink. It's thicker than a lipglaze and it stays on way longer than a lipglaze or polish. It is more metallic looking than a glaze or polish or an it gloss. Not goopey, not too frosty (I don't usually like frosty colors-makes my lips look too big).
3. Looks great alone, or over lipstick. I like to use the lip shines over lipstick to give depth and shine.

Great product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MerelyGod on 12/2/2005 2:17:00 PM more reviews by MerelyGod

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

This is so much better than I expected! I got this as a GWP and wasn't sure if I'd like it, but it's really great. The color descriptions below are right on. It's a gorgeous pink with bronze shimmer. It's not the longest lasting gloss, but I really like the texture (and I don't mind having to reapply lipgloss). I can't wait to try more colors.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MegE on 8/26/2005 9:58:00 PM more reviews by MegE

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

'Rosey' is not the same as 'Rose' in the old, metal tube packaging, which is good as I didn't like the platinum tones of Rose against my LLL skintone. Rosey is a pigmented, gorgeous, shimmery/slightly frosty, medium-toned, rich rose with some bronze/silver tones. Very complex and unique being neither cool nor warm, but more neutral in tone. Kinda like a *much* pinker/rosier and a bit cooler-toned Chanel Unity/MAC Viva Glam V l/g, yet without the brown tones of those two. It has that type of complexity. I think this will be a very popular shade as it will look stunning on all skintones and coloring!



My overall opinion of these glosses: I went to the Stila counter thinking I wanted Posey and Violet--unfortunately, both are super sheer, with Posey being a bright pink and Violet a, uh, violet tone. Reminded me of Clinique Superbalms in degree of tint. Very disapointed that they weren't one of the pigmented shades.Packaging: I love the new packaging and I discovered something interesting about it...when I bought Orchid I immedietly had to put it on and I squeezed and squeezed, but nothing came out. I then looked on the tube and you have to turn the top to open it (it said it on the tube). You can then close it when done, so you don't have to worry about if the tube gets squeezed in your purse, it won't oooze out next time you use it. Great feature!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Stila products

More Lip Gloss products